We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
$141
$138
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
$109
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)(Great Value!)
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sixty3(Kota Kinabalu)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (4,048)
Filter reviews
4,048 results
Traveler rating
2,280
1,151
384
133
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,280
1,151
384
133
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskinabalu wingsunset barkinabalu clubcafe tatucoco joeschi spastar marinawater slidesborneo loungehorizon clubsister hotelpitch and puttkids clubinfinity poolclub roomlife guardsour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
1,429 - 1,434 of 4,048 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We (2 adults, 2 kids age 8) stayed for 5 days. We really needed this break as we just had a moving out of house after the back. Just have to say we couldn't have chosen any better! What great service we experienced! The staff is very friendly and the room (facing the seaside) was just perfect! Big space, perfect clean and nice! Enjoyed the balcony where we could sit and listen to the waves..... So relaxing.
They look after you very well in the hotel! There are so many "small" but in fact "big" things they care about. You get always plenty of drinking water provided in your room (they do even a refill in the evening), they offer water drinking stations allover the swimmingpool area, you can get free sunblokker if you need. It is a great place for kids - different water slides (all watched with saftey guards), great waterplay area for kids, water-balloon shooting station (kids loved it), great pools (one part only for adults - think this is a good idea for people not having kids and wanting to relax as well - for kids there are really so many other pools left), water playing things like water ball etc. for kids, soccer field (VERY important for boys!!!), table tennis, outdoor chess, great kids club, great offer for adults like health club, thai-chi in the morning, aqua-gym in the afternoon........
Food: Just great! Sometimes a bit bussy in the Tatu-Restaurant. But you still can REALLY enjoy your food and it is always such a big choice of food and GOOD food!!!!
We went one day on a snorkel trip. Was great!!!!! Kids and adults just loved it!!!! Great island, great beach.
We were watching the soccer world cup games in "real time" as well - was just a great atmosphere!!!!
We had a very relaxing and a great time in the Tanjung Aru Resort and we highly recommend it for families with or without kids. Staff is very, very nice, helpful and friendly. We will miss all this !!!!! Thanks so much to the entire team!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Moositraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Visited with my family for summer break. Very child friendly. Excellent if you have young children.
The sunset bar is great. As the name suggest it is a wonderful place to have a cold beer and watch the sunset. Staff are friendly and helpful. Enjoyable destination resort. No need to visit city.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Wongluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were at Shangri-la Tanjung Aru resort for a wedding. Few of our friends were looking for STAR Marina to board a private chartered boat. Went to the main reception to ask for directions, but was told twice that there is NO STAR Marina in the hotel!! They we roaming around the hotel for 1 hour looking for the right place! How could the receptionist not know where the STAR Marina is? Cost us lots of delay. Otherwise the wedding was beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pplee38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear pplee38, thank you so much for your feedback on our staff and their understanding of our services available here at the resort. This is a very serious matter and I have taken a personal approach to making sure all our staff are familiar with our products and services. We value your comment in helping us to improve our ourselves and serve you better. Once again thank you and do visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at the Shangri La Tanjung Aru for 6 nights recently during our trip to KK. For our family of 5, 2 adults, 3 kids (17, 14 and 8), we had 2 interconnecting Kinabalu Club seaview room. We decided to pay extra for club as we understand that the breakfast restaurant can be quite a circus in the morning and you'll need to wait in line for a table during peak times.

Our rooms:
The view from our rooms were great. The club rooms are on level 6 and 7 and this gave obstructed view of the sea if you booked a seaview room. The room deco on the other hand was ordinary and nothing luxurious. Room and bathroom were spacious as you'd expect of a Shangrila. The Kinabalu wing is further from the main reception where most of the restaurants are. The main reception areas is the Tanjung wing. At the Kinabalu wing, there is the gym and Shang palace the Chinese restaurant. The walk from the Kinabalu wing to the main lobby and pool is not far. About 2 mins, at most 3. We were glad we chose the Kinabalu wing because it was definitely more peaceful and pleasant. The Kinabalu wing has both club and non-club rooms. Tanjung Wing has non-club rooms only.

Kinabalu club lounge:
The lounge serves breakfast, a simple tea and snack at 2pm, family happy hour from 4.30-6.30 pm and adult happy hour from 6.30- 8.30pm. Non-alcoholic drinks are served throughout the day. The food they serve during the happy hours are of good variety and quality and substantial enough to make a simple dinner. We did that on 2 nights when we were too lazy and tired after a day of activities to go out. We were glad we were just a few doors from the lounge. It was super convenient and not noisy at all! On the other nights, we go to the lounge for dessert and drinks after our dinner. As kids under 16 cannot go to the lounge during adult happy hours, we normally get them some dessert of cakes or fruits to take to the room if they so desire.

DH was keen to try breakfast at the Tatu restaurant after 2 days of breakfast at the club lounge and it was quite a harried experience. We never went back there again for breakfast and had all our remaining breakfasts at the club lounge which was definitely more peaceful and pleasant albeit less variety, but that was not an issue with us.

Restaurants:
One breakfast at Tatu restaurant was harried. We had lunch there one day. They have a noodles/ pasta lunch buffet daily. Price was reasonable but as we weren't keen on pasta or noodles that day, we ordered ala carte. Among us we had fish and chips, gado gado (a local salad with peanut sauce) and beef rending (a spicy coconut based beef stew). Food taste and price was acceptable.

A simple snack of pizza at coco joes by the pool was nothing to shout about on another occasion. There is a nice cream bar by the pool which was great for an afternoon snack or swim break.

Our favorite restaurant was Shang Palace, the Chinese restaurant. Food was good and price very reasonable. We had dinner there twice and paid RM220 and RM280 for each of the dinner for 5 of us.

Recreation:
The pool areas was fun for the kids. There are 4 slides, in addition to the usual family pool and adult pool. There is also a water war zone. You get 4 free buckets of water filled balloons for your water war per room per day. Additional buckets can be bought at RM5 per bucket if I recall correctly.. It was pretty fun.

There is hardly a beach at this hotel. So if you want a nice beach go to the Shangri la rasa Ria instead. We picked Tanjung Aru as we were going for snorkeling and other activities and Tanjung Aru is more convenient. Rasa Ria is much further away.

Spa:
DH and I has a Chi Balance massage each. As usual the Chi spa did not disappoint. It was absolutely relaxing!

All in all we had a pleasant stay at this hotel. Definitely a hotel for family, much less for couples.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank DNLs_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We decided to have a long weekend in Kota Kinabalu. It's only a two hour flight from Singapore and then a 10 minute taxi ride to the resort. We splashed out a little and booked a suite in the Kota Kinabalu Wing. Unspoilt sea views from our suite was the first thing that greeted us, then we took in the well appointed suite. Everything you could need or want.we did use two of the eateries on site and I will review those separately. I also used the spa and this was a wonderful experience. Everything is bootable on site, we used a jet ski and this ca be arranged from reception.

We loved this place, the room, the service and the food made this without doubt one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in!

Room Tip: Go for the club rooms, the club lunge serves breakfast and drinks all day. This was included in our booking. In the evening from 6:30pm to 11pm you can enjoy food and selected drinks.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Messtin112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews