We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,049)
Filter reviews
4,049 results
Traveler rating
2,281
1,151
384
133
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,281
1,151
384
133
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskinabalu wingsunset barkinabalu clubcafe tatucoco joeschi spastar marinawater slidesborneo loungehorizon clubsister hotelpitch and puttkids clubinfinity poolclub roomlife guardsour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
1,451 - 1,456 of 4,049 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here in Tanjung aru, we travelled here for our honeymoon having already stayed earlier in our trip in the shangri la in kl which was incredible! Our initial impression of the hotel was very underwhelming and checkin was very flawed. Staff were rude, tried telling us we didn't have breakfast despite us having already paid for it, did not show us to our room and left us for 20 mins wandering around trying to find it. The room itself was quite tired and the aircon very weak. Thankfully it gets better from here. After complaining we moved rooms. We had a lovely sea view ( wish they had offered us this in the first place because at that point we would have paid for it and they would have made themselves some money) it's general order was much better and cleaner than the first room but I still felt the rooms were a little tired. Breakfast was good but could get very busy at times. And food in the other resturaunts was good. We did feel that it was very good value for money too. Service could be a little hit and miss, sometimes you could be virtually ignored and have to make your presence known but other times and certain members of staff were faultless, their was just no consistency. The pool was great, we would chose to sit by the adults section I was pleased that pool rules were Inforced by the lifeguards and this section really was adults only. Lovely and quiet! The beach is just as the pictures showed! Small but perfectly formed, not great for swimming in the sea because the sand was vey sludgy but lovely none the less. We used the star marina and hired a jet ski, loads of fun on the rough South China Sea and great value for money! Would also highly recommend using them to get the boats to visit the nearby islands. We went to mamutik and sapi, again great value and lovely snorkling, staff here were incredibly helpful!
Food outside the hotel was minimal, we went into Kota Kinabalu on Saturday evening for the night market but was far smaller than expected.
There were no real restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, we didn't feel this was a problem because we felt the hotel restaurants we great value for money. The Chinese was incredibly cheap and the Italian was slightly more expensive but wonderful food. All in all we did have a wonderful stay here and thoroughly enjoyed the holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharine2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Shangri-La Tanjung Aru for 5 nights, after originally planning yo stay at its sister hotel, the Rasa Ria. We were under the impression tour companies do not do pick-ups from that area, but seems we were wrong. We received a free room upgrade (already seaview), and were not disappointed. Great view, and a large, comfortable, extremely clean room. Hotel staff were very, very helpful (guest relations were happy to complete our online Air Asia check-in for us). As a football fan, it was great to see the hotel showing all games live on the big screen, even at 3am. Would've liked to have seen a free shuttle into the township when a taxi ride is RM30 ($10 or so). Would stay again!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

First time here and my two year old definitely love the water park. Staff are truly friendly and the spa is very good too. The only complain is the food, which they really do not make an afford about. I would love to see more local authentic food to be served here. They also have all the restaurants serving same food which is really not up to Shangri la's standard. I am now sitting in the restaurant which they claim to have barbecue at night, but end up to be the same menu as in the afternoon .. I am a golden circle jade member so a bit sad the see a Shangri la that does not live to the chains reputation.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Maxposhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Very close to the airport. Taxi cost RM30 from airport counter. less than 10 mins from airport.

Stayed 3 nights at the Kinabalu Wing.

Booked on Expedia, but when we reached the recep, we were offered an upgrade to Club room on the 7th floor for 150RM per night, which we thought was quite worth it cos of club floor privileges.

Room was nice and big, with lots of space and we had an amazing view of the blue sea. Very clean. Bathroom was really roomy too. The balcony was nice, although watch out for mozzies. (Hotel room provides electric mozzie eradicators though, so that was thoughtful)

Club floor is quieter at breakfast, and very pleasant. We had a very pleasant dinner there as well on the last night. Staff is wonderful, very approachable and friendly and always asking us to try different parts of the buffet spread.

Dinner at Tatu's was really impressive at RM95++, we thought it was good value for what you get. It's a bit crowded but I was there for the food. If you have a sweet tooth like me, you'll be really happy with the dessert section. Pink macaroons with choc filling. yum. (amongst other things like the chocolate fountain). Bring a relatively empty stomach. (which is hard to do in this hotel.)

MUST try Dim Sum at the Shang Palace. One of the best I've tried and really good value for money too.

This was a holiday with friends, but seems to be an ideal place for kids. (Many activities for free which I didn't try out)

For a luxurious and relaxing sea experience, try the Raja Laut Sunset Cruise. (ask the Star Marina Staff in advance though.)

Spa is lovely too. If you can afford it, go for it!

All in all, a lovely and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for the 7th floor. Stayed at Kinabalu Wing, away from pool area. but all around quite quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss_N37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Just finished five days trip. We have stayed here four nights. The staffs are friendly, but some of them should be trained more. The beach and pool are also small. The scene is good. We have tried most of the restaurant and bar. The food is very nice.if you want to watch the sun set, pls go to sun set bar early to find a seat. It's always full.
At last, the package of the water sports are reasonable and the trainers and staffs are willing to serve and teach. It's a place for relax and refresh.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Shadowso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews