We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

People make the place. This is our third visit to STAR and once again it delivered the goods. From the warmth and calm nature of the people working there, the sunsets, the pools, the water sports and plenty of great food, where else would you rather be? My kids love the pool and the 'Cool Zone' (kids club), my wife enjoyed her massage at 'Chi'. Happy wife, happy life. My only issue was leaving this bliss and returning to the real world!! Love this resort and will be back again....

Room Tip: Go for a club room - or a suite if you have a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank thephantomgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,281 - 1,287 of 3,774 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

The staff were great but the general service was poor. Twice when I asked for a meal I was told it was off the menu. Some items at breakfast were cold in the tureens. Mould in the bathroom sink. Bedroom not made up sometimes till late evening and then it was only the bed made up. Ice machine missing from the hall. Looks like it has had a cheap make over. Very poor for the money. Check out took 1/2 hour as the clerk didn't seem to know what to do with the couple in front then disappeared on me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear Allan R, I am so sorry to hear of your disappointing stay experience. I have taken note of your comments and will personally see to this matter with the respective departments concerned for our further improvement. Do know that we provide ice machines along the hallways of our guest rooms. Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you to our resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed here with family (for 3 nights) and if you are still young at heart, you would absolutely love the waterslides, other water-features, pool and beach. This hotel is top-notch, excellent decor (fresh flowers decorate their lobby and room), lovely shady fragrant trees on their landscapes, fish pools, intricate traditional and ethnic designs adorn their passageways and most of the building structures; and their staff are polite and warm. I'd like to commend the staff at the restaurant pool areas as they have displayed warm and friendly smiles and hellos, and managed to handle situations well, despite the pressuring demands during school holidays and tiresome vacationers. Oh yes, the view at sunset is amazing. Just laze at the beach and sit back, relax and let nature take its cause. :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dyanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is a place to stay for at least 2 nights or it's such a waste given its great facilities, amazing service and wonderful views. Breakfast spread was amazing! I wish I had a larger stomach! Location is beautiful. A perfect holiday resort. Well kept and nicely landscaped. I could just go on and on. My only complain is the TV reception - not too clear; but that's just minor coz there are so many other reasons to be outdoors, or just chill in the room to read a book and laze in bed enjoying the silence apart from the waves outside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Alvin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We visit this hotel regularly. This hotel is excellent for family with young children. There is no extra charge for the kids club. The water slides are fun for the children. There are several life guards on duty at any one time. The breakfast is fairly standard so if you stay longer than 3 or 4 nights it can get a little boring.

Room Tip: A sea view room is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raffles85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stopped at the resort for 3 nights arriving about 10 pm after a long trip from Melbourne via Kuala Lumpur.
Check in through the Golden Circle desk was prompt and easy but I was a little disappointed when I had to find my own way to my room.
I chose a Kinabalu Mountain View Room. I prefer this wing as it is well away from the pool and restaurant area and therefore quiet. On a clear day, the morning view of Mt Kinabalu is spectacular.
Due to my short stay, i only ate in Cafe Ta Tu which has a choice of either al a carte or buffet.
In the evenings I ate a la carte. The breakfast buffet is diverse and the service from the stall is very good.
The staff around the beach area, at the Ice cream bar and Co Co Jo's are great. A few drinks at The sunset bar of an evening are worth the view.
It is unfortunate that it has a very small beach, but it has a marina with boat access to the offshore islands.
It is also not good that there is no shuttle to town even though the shuttle to Rasa Ria goes through town several times a day. You have to use a taxi.
Still a very good resort but I prefer Rasa Ria.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Great hotel, good facilities and small enough to feel like you're an individual. One of the best pools I've been to in the world (gotta love an adults only area). Food was superb, especially at the Shang Palace. Sunset view was superb and the seafood platter at coco-joes was sensational We stayed in a garden room and it was lovely

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,148 reviews
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,392 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,483 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $200 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing