We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“great pool”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great all round hotel for doing very little. Hotel isn't really in walking distance to amenities such as a supermarket (you can catch a taxi for about MYR 30 each way) but if you want to do nothing but sit by or in the pool, this is a good place to do that! You can book a trip to Rasa Ria to see the Orang Utans but please be aware to book well in advance or you will miss out. This is something that the hotel would be wise to advise people before they arrive. Great pool area which included water slides & water park which is fun for all ages.
Not many cheap food options at the hotel (unless you walk down the beach to the hawkers), but breakfast was included & there was everything you could dream of as far as breakfast foods.
Good sunsets & a nice way to spend a few days.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borneo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,107
    1,071
    341
    120
    81
See reviews for
1,298
1,402
92
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

we stayed in a sea facing Club room, and enjoyed the benefits of the Club services - fast check-in, Club room breakfast and evening drinks/cocktails with snacks (much more than snacks!)
Highly recommend the sunset bar (for the sunsets) speed boat to the Islands for swimming and snorkelling .."
we went to the Raisa Ria to see the fantastic Orangutans, and enjoyed trips to see Proboscis monkeys along the Kliase river, and the 'colonial opulence' of the North Borneo steam railway (loved the 'tiffin lunch') .

Our Club room on the 6th floor was ideal, with brilliant views of the resort. recommend the Spa for massage and 5 star treatment. Club staff were great, attentive and polite and helpful, sad to be home now in cold wet England

Room Tip: recommend the Club rooms..... you won't need to eat out much with the choice of snacks, don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0b1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We had the Easter weekend here. The setting here is wonderful with highlights being the pool with a seperated adult section (no screaming, splashing kids).
The restaurants were really good. The Chinese restaurant service was fantastic and food excellent.
We both had spa treatments at Chi Spa and Eileen commented that it was the best massage she had ever had (and that's saying something).
The only downer was the poor service at poolside when ordering food or drinks at the pool. Drinks would often take as long as 45 minutes.
The rooms were big and comfortable and bedding excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Shangri La Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dave27095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We came to Kota Kinabalu for a family holiday (my wife and four children - below 12 years old). After a couple of days staying in town, I decided to bring the family to chill out to this hotel. The rooms were almost full except for the suite. With small children, I needed connecting rooms - but with almost no option, I took the Executive Suite.

To our surprise when we checked in, they upgraded us to Deluxe Suite! And honestly, I think it was a bargain! The suite is very big, and it could fit in two extra beds. The balcony is simply amazing with sofa etc that you can enjoy the sunset or take an afternoon nap.

We had a great time at the Club Lounge and the kids help themselves to the munching spreads provided by the hotel (one of the perks of booking the Suite).

Rooms for improvement? The rubber floor mat-thingy at the water slide/play area need to be repaired. Other than that - the place is great for time out with the family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McD8003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was the best hotel we saw in KK for location as the ones in the city centre did not appeal at all.

Our kids loved the range of slides and enjoyed an hour in the complimentary child care room.

Drinks were reasonably priced. Shame the room fridges didn't really work as us Aussie like our drinks cold. Otherwise rooms were great.

Huge buffet and I think kids eat free at the buffet when parents order the buffet - I could be wrong. Our kids loved the dessert bar with ice cream, lollies and the chocolate fountain - back home to detox now.

Joseph the sous chef was amazing. When he found out I had coeliac disease and needed gluten free meals he especially cooked meals not on the menu for me and would personally meet me to go through what I wanted and would check that every meal was to my satisfaction. Those meals were lovely and it was great knowing that the meals indeed were gluten free. If you need gluten free meals advise the hotel at your arrival and Joseph will meet you to go through your meal plan during your stay. They also have GF bread and muffins at the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliei068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Lost a Samsung S3 on the Beach or Swimming Pool area and reported to Duty Manager around 6.30pm. Unexpectedly, the hotel staff called me around 11pm and told me that they have found my S3! Only a world class hotel's staff and management have this kind of right attitude, trusted that if lost in somewhere else, we might not be able to get it back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyyep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Resort is not far from airport and main shopping and market strip, a taxi is around 30 ringits.
We stayed at the Tanjung seaview room, there was always plenty of water , fresh towels and linen and toiletries, room was always clean and very spacious. and could watch the fantastic sunsets from our balcony. Buffet breakfast was very good, as was the cafes and bar. Our grandchildren enjoyed the kids club, pools and water slides were a definate feature for them. If you get a chance, go and take a massage, its out of this world.
The staff, on all levels were very sensitve and attendative to all our needs, Thank you Shangri-La Tanjung Aru for our brilliant stay.
Carmen and Harry

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,443 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,346 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing