We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Nothing I can say would adequately explain how wonderful our experience of staying at STAR is. Everything is top class.
We love this resort. That is why we keep returning.
We are greeted with "welcome home" and we are made to feel like it is our second home.
Congratulations and thank you to management and all staff for being the best.
We'll be back.
The only thing we find concerning is the people who can't swim but insist on going into the deep pool. The provision of life jackets is aesthetically unpleasant and they don't prevent mishaps. We saw two people almost drown during our stay.
Please!! If you can't swim -stay out of the deep pool.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesnmuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,414 - 1,420 of 3,774 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

We spent to weeks around Borneo, and flew home from Kota Kinabalu, so we decided to stay at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and relax for a few days before our trip back home. We did not have a reservation, since originally we were unsure of where to end our trip, and before staying here we had been in the jungle without internet and telephones. However, we decided to see if there would be any rooms available, and took a taxi from the airport to the resort. Unfortunately they were full for the first night, but they did have rooms available for the next day, so we made a booking.

We came back after noon on the next day, and were greeted by very friendly staff members. Upon check-in we were informed that we had been upgraded to the executive suite. Totally unexpected, but of course we were very, very delighted about this! The suite was huge, with a living room and dining area, bedroom and two bathrooms. There were fresh flowers in every room, a huge basket of fruits, different varieties of loose leaf tea, coffee table books etc. The bed was also huge, and super comfortable. We also had a big balcony with sun beds and a nice sea view.

The service was perfect at all times during our stay. Everybody greeted us with nice smiles, our room was very well looked after, and we had everything we needed at all times. I was also delighted to read about the green policies of the hotel (reusable water bottles, not changing sheets every day if so requested by placing a small card on the bed, biodegradable materials etc.) My only "complaint" would be that even though we hung up our towels the were replaced with new ones, which wouldn't have been necessary.

The hotel swimming pool area is also great, with an adults only section and an infinity pool. The spa is wonderful, situated on a small island, with private villas for the treatments, very professional staff and a relaxing environment. We had breakfast at Cafe TATU, where the variety is huge an of good quality. The only downside is that it gets a bit noisy with so many customers, but this wasn't a major concern.

All in all, a perfect ending to our holiday, and truly a five star experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kahki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have just left the Tanjung Aru with great sadness. We had a wonderful week of being pampered and looked after in the best hotel we have ever been to and we have travelled all over the world staying at many so called five star hotels. Special thanks must go to Paul in the pool area, who, through his enthusiasm and knowledge made our stay so special. We must also mention James on the Concierge Desk who was the font of knowledge on the local area.

If you you are contemplating going to Malaysia then these two people alone will make your stay perfect. Together, of course all the people who kept our room so beautifully.

If there were two less than perfect things then being given the bill at the Tatu without asking for it and before we had finished our meal was slightly annoying. The people on the next table hadn't even finished their main course before they were given their's! The second was the lady on Guest Relations who knew nothing about the hotel events. Such a shame as they were just great.

As already advised try to avoid going at Chinese New Year as they must be the rudest nation in the world and never stop playing on their phones, leaving the poor staff to control their children.

We are now at the Rasa Ria and if this hotel is half as good as the Tanjung Aru then we are in for a real treat!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and no matter how much noise there was in the corridors our room was always q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

From the moment we stepped foot onto Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort until the moment we left, we were provided the best customer service that can be given.
It is evident how much the Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort team cares about their guests by their superior service.
The hotel and the location is absolutely gorgeous, the service was excellent and we were very happy to stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Tibor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had a lovely stay in a beautiful room with a lovely view. It was great having an adults only area at the pool and the staff were excellent at maintaining this. We had our breakfasts in the Chinese restaurant as that was much quieter and more relaxed than the buffet restaurant. We ate in the buffet and could not fault the choice or quality of the food. If you went a bit later it was lovely and quiet and having the non smoking area outside was an excellent idea. We thoroughly enjoyed our seafood special at Coco Joes and the idea of bringing fruit round to those by the pool was delightful. Thank you.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Englishmenabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a must go kinda hotel, it has everything in place, even a green for those golf lover. Really enjoy my stay there, went for business trip with my other 2 excolleagues, rooms is excellent, they provide king size bed for me to sleep alone, bathroom, lounge view everything just so perfect..

1  Thank synovates
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Feel like most of the hotel staffs was more interest taking care of foreigner and less care about local. Was not given any welcome drinks compare to others and was asked to wait more than 1 hour at the lounge..

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Azmir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Azmir, thank you for your feedback. I am very concerned to learn of your comments on our staff service. On behalf of the resort, please accept our sincere apology for failing to provide you with a Shangri-La experience during your stay. Our employees have been Shangri-La trained to value all our guests and I have since addressed your comments to my team involved for improvement. Thank you and I look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,148 reviews
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,392 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,483 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $200 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing