We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For families, not for lovers (new ones, at least!)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

For our purposes, a family resort holiday, this hotel fit the bill. If you are looking for a couples romantic break, stay away and go to Rasa Ria instead.

The hotel has new and old wings. the old wing is a bit crummy. We had a suite, which was enormous. The quality of the room, cleanliness and service were all impeccable. The place can get a bit noisy, but that's part of all the fun and atmosphere of being in a childrens' haven.

The entertainment for children of all ages is wonderfully plentiful, and is the main reason for coming to this resort. Slides, water cannons, a small beach and a large toddler play-area to keep the kids occupied. The food is pretty good as well, as is the clubhouse, which is a quiet haven for adults and serves light buffet snacks.

Food choices are not bad, though the buffet restaurant can get very busy and chaotic with screaming children and messy buffet containers picked through by families. The chinese restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stinkaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,442 - 1,448 of 3,805 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have just returned from, a fantastic 10 day stay in the Shangri La's Tangjung Aru Resort. The staff at the hotel made a our trip, we can not thank them enough. We will return.The sunset at the Sunset Bar is something not to be missed. A very beautiful place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Great see view, nice beach, food is OK. Might be very crowded at public holidays. try to get a quiet room/suite. Check out the local market 15 minutes down the road. great cheap food there. Call a metered taxi (pick up at "welcome sign"). Kids Club is really great. Cocktails are ok, sunsets are great.

Room Tip: Try to get an good see view. The ones that go to the gulf club are more quite but have half see view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank ArboreaTreefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here after our climb up Mt Kinabalu for some luxury. It was wonderful. The bed was the biggest I have ever seen so was the spread for breakfast. This was our first stay at a shangri-la and was very impressed. We arrived a little early for checking and we're taken to a lounge to wait which was very comfortable. My partner also said that the burger he had for room service was the best he had ever eaten.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1flora888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is the first time we stayed at a Shangri La hotel, and while I'm not generally a big fan of large hotels, I have to say that I am very pleased that we did stay here as it surpassed expectations. The whole ambience of the place, from the music to the decor made you feel you were somewhere exotic and special. As you would expect, the whole hotel was clean and litter free, check in was fast and smooth, as was check out. We had two interconnecting rooms for our family of 5, which were very spacious, no need for any children to share beds. We had booked club rooms, which turned out to be well worth it as the complimentary evening drinks and canapés in the club lounge actually provided an ideal evening meal as there was plenty of choice for every picky eater in the family, including vegetarians. Each evening a different selection of canapés was provided. We ate here for four evenings which was fine. There was a good range of both savoury and sweet food. The unlimited soft and alcoholic drinks were also great...my husband and I enjoyed our evenings in the lounge after the children went to bed. (After 6.30pm it is adults only, which was a much quieter, peaceful time!)
We ate lunch at the Cool Joe outdoor bar and grill once, which we enjoyed. The children loved the ice cream bar too. There is plenty of other places at the resort that you can eat.
The pools were clean, albeit very busy, especially earlier in the week when there were a lot of Chinese tourists there as it was the Chinese New Year holiday. We did not have to reserve chairs early though, we always found somewhere go sit. Waiters bring cold water, cool flannels and fruit to you occasionally.
All the staff we encountered were extremely helpful and friendly. This includes the club room, the maids, the concierge, the travel desk.
The only criticisms are very small ones: the club room was at full capacity during peak breakfast time and the staff found it difficult to cope, eg they would forget to bring your coffee. This was no problem as we knew where everything was and made it ourselves. I had poached eggs every morning which were usually skillfully cooked to perfection, but during peak time they were totally over cooked. The butter was kept in ice therefore unspreadable. Some of the individual mini jars of preserve had been opened and replaced on the tables, I had to search to find a new unopened portion of marmalade. These are very minor niggles though and did not detract from the overall attentiveness of the staff.
I had planned a full itinery for my family for our 4 day stay here, but in fact they enjoyed the hotel facilities so much that we ended up staying at the resort with a day trip to the Rasa Ria sister hotel ( which actually looked even better and more spacious, and fewer Chinese), we spent 2 afternoons island hopping, and a morning doing various water sports, all booked through the Star Marina, who were again extremely helpful.
There were lots of other activities available, yoga, children's activities, the gym and spa, which we didn't use.
The resort shop was reasonably priced, with a selection of souvenirs and snack food.
The beach was small, and the water ok but not brilliant, we only swam there once, preferring the pool.
In summary, a little busy whilst we were there, very helpful and well trained staff, excellent facilities. A very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Jacqueline E, thank you for staying with us during one of our busiest seasons of the year. Glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that we managed to exceed your expectations. Your comments with regards to our breakfast service are well noted. Please accept our sincere apologies for breakfast as it is the busiest hour of the day and we will certainly strive for further improvement. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience in near future!
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

A great hotel, very relaxing with a wide array of facilities.

I feel the food could be improved as there are no choices of Malaysian or local food.

Maybe avoid peak times like Chimese New year as it's very busy.

Recommend the club lounge experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

DearShane, thank you for staying with us and your comments are well noted. We will continue to work for improvements to obtain authenticity on our local cuisine and will include more local fare in our menus in future. Thank you for your recommendations and we hope to see you again!
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I must start out by saying we had a great time! This was a kids driven holiday for us and the pool, water park and kids club is absolutely ideal. Shade, all different water depths, and the water slides are absolutely brilliant. We spent all day, everyday by the pool and everyone loved it.

Beyond that, the food and service really needs improving. The food in general is quite poor and getting anything is not easy. Coco joes is the best option for eating, but you need to know what to order - this will take a couple of days to figure out. service wise, there are pockets of excellence, but in general service is all over the shop. This resort really needs an intensive training makeover. However, I knew all this before I got here, so i was really prepared for the worst and expected much of this to happen. The rooms were better than I expected. I would probably suggest staying in the tanjung wing.

The hotel on the balance of everything is a 6.5/10. But as I say, despite the many mishaps, the pool and waterpark area was so much fun it overshadowed everything else, and we had a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MDJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear MDJ2, thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. I am very happy to know that you and your family had a great time at the resort and enjoyed our infinity pool and water play area. Your comments on our food quality and service at the restaurants are well noted and have been shared with our Food and Beverage team for improvement. We thank you once again for staying with us and look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,183 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,503 reviews
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $203 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing