We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical Sabah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical Sabah”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a magic one week stay at the resort. The service was exellent and all the employees, including the gardeners were so helpful and friendly. The food was to die for, what a breakfast. The room was clean and roomy and only one towel had a brown stain, so what. We did not use the spa.
We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay at theTanjung Aru wing. Book a room overlooking the China Sea but away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,040
    1,041
    333
    113
    77
See reviews for
1,242
1,361
89
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (779)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellent resort and our room was big, clean with sea view. Breakfast was great and good service. Location was good 10 minutes drive from city center and very closed to AirAsia Airport and Tanjung Aru Beach Food Court.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The rooms are big with nice amenities, probably due for a makeover, if you have kids its a good place, just adults....not so much. Had room service and while the food looked nice it was lacking in taste.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paradisicalmostly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear paradisicalmostly, we have noted your feedback on the quality of food and have since shared this with the team for improvement. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the foreseeable future.
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide, australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Maybe the Tanjung Aru wing rooms are upgraded - our seaview room in the Kinabalu wing could certainly have done with some upgrading - tired carpet, bathroom showing signs of age. I had hoped for more. Bad start when in order to get into the room proper, we had to step over a bucket, outside our bathroom which was collecting water dripping from the air con unit. So we were left to contact maintenance- perhaps the job of whoever recognised the need for a bucket!!
Then there was a problem with the sofa bed which wasnt satisfactorily resolved for 24hours after one very uncomfortable nights sleep by my son. Dont settle for the pathetic sofa bed - they have
proper trundle beds with decent mattresses - we just had to be persistant.
And yes everything is ridiculously expensive. The cabana at Coco Joes was a nice setting for a meal - but too expensive to do more than once - and the steak was cold which was very disappointing at that price! We found one very good, one good restaurant in KK so there are alternatives.
And i agree with others that breakfast at hotel is adequate but not as good as Traders in KL.
I wouldnt go back during Christmas New Year by choice - we were a family of young adults and we would have appreciated more space away from the young children. It is a very small part of the main pool which is dedicated to adults only.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelplanner057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear travelplanner057, thank you for staying with us. I am sorry to learn of your disappointing stay experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor Shangri-La experience you received. We will certainly strive for further improvement! Kindly email me directly at craig.powell@shangri-la.com if you would like to discuss in detail regarding your stay. Thank you again for staying with us and I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were here for part of our honeymoon and had a great time. There's so many things to do and the resort runs great daily activities to keep you or your kids (if you brought them) occupied. The resort also manages a marina that runs boats out to the smaller islands for snorkelling so there was no real need to go into town. We also took up the offer to visit the sister hotel in Rasa Ria to see the Orang-utans in their first stage of rehabilitation which was AMAZING! Every staff member was friendly and the buffet breakfast was great too. Just be prepared for a bill at the end of your stay!! I will be back to the resort for sure

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKLT2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a great resort hotel with lots to do for the kids. It feels incredibly safe too with pool lifeguards and organised activities for children. Also a mini-water-park area and shallow pool means lots of safe water play right down to very young children.

There are a good range of dining options available too (ice-cream bar, sunset cocktail area, pool-side bar, chinese and italian restaurants as well as the main restaurant). There is a buffet option at the main restaurant which, given the range of food available, is truly waistline busting!

There is a small beach at the hotel but its wirhtwhile taking the boat to one of the nearby islands (trips are 20-30 minutes) where you can spend all day with food and drink plus snorkelling equipment available.

Besides this the service and accommodation quality are up to Asian luxury hotel standards: very good especially for the price when compared to Europe. We booked a suite which was truly huge with 2 large bedrooms, a large living/dining area and 3 bathrooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We also read the reviews and were a little worried ,we needn't of been everything here is great very friendly for such a large resort everyone knows your name and even presented my husband a birthday cake in our room,our two kids 6 and 7 years love it here great kids club loads for the kids to do even visiting the little island by speed boat and snorkelling the hire of mask snorkel and fins is cheaper on the island than here on the resort,breakfast is great everything you can think off but we also explored outside for dinner which is much much cheaper than the hotel ,we are visiting the sister hotel to see the orang-utans as we will not make it to sepilok so I will review that at the weekend the only one problem here is the reserving of sun beds by 8am and you don't see a soul on them till 10 am on wards apart from that lovely place

Room Tip: Chose a sea view amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viviane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing