We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here beginning of May. Excellent facilities for families, selection of pools and slides. The STAR Marina is well run, and though more expensive than Jesselton Point, worth the extra. The main dining room serves excellent meals from their menu. The only negative was the noise in this large area. The lack of supervision by the many parents, mainly because of phone use during meal time, appeared to be the main problem. As the week went on it did get quieter. Otherwise we had a vey enjoyable stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GGAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,069
    1,048
    335
    115
    79
See reviews for
1,256
1,381
90
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Spacious room. Excellent facilities. I love their food, they provided a lot of options for breakfast. I had pizza by pool side, it was awesome! Must go to the bar for a drink, watching the sunset and sipping cocktail, it was one of the best moment in kk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiccoY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I don't normally write reviews but I felt compelled to for this hotel. Their STAR lounge was a thoughtful complimentary service for guests to rest if they arrived too early to check-in or to freshen up and even take a shower if they had to catch a late flight after check-out! The staff throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful. When a female friend needed something from their store which wasn't yet open, they made the effort of bringing what she needed to her. But what made me feel they had gone out of their way to provide the utmost best service was when their front office manager Wett Bian made the exception of allowing us to use their fine dining restaurant for afternoon high tea even though there was a dress code and I was in my sandals and shorts. I would definitely recommend this hotel to those not on a budget and want the ultimate luxury experience in Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liew727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Staying here currently,have only good things to say about this place.great staff ,very clean hotel fantastic rooms and gardens.love the pools,so glad we chose this hotel.dont stay in kk stay here instead it's relaxing clean and beautiful .taxi to kk is only 30 mr

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gooood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the Tanjung Aru for 3 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon. We arrived in the evening and were immediately offered cooled towels and a cold drink. Our travel agent had booked us a room only, not including breakfast which we had admittedly not realised in the run up to our wedding. The check in staff immediately noticed this and offered us a room upgrade to a suite, including breakfast and access to the Club Lounge for a very modest price and could not have been more helpful.

As it was our honeymoon, they gave us a half bottle of champagne in the room, which we thought was a lovely gesture. The room was clean and huge, with free flowing l'Occitane products and mineral water.

The quality, quantity and variety of the breakfast was excellent. We can't really comment on the quality of the restaurants as we made full use of the complimentary buffet style food and drink in the club lounge! We did have lunch by the pool (again, excellent). My husband used the gym on a few occasions and was extremely impressed by the facilities.

On the morning we left, our pick up was at 5.30 am, before breakfast was served and the staff arranged for us to have a take away breakfast which was very welcome at that early hour.

This was a fantastic place to relax after the extremely hectic run up to our wedding. We would highly recommend it as a first stop to anyone landing in KK.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Spacious room, excellent view to sunset, full of water facilities including infinite pool, water aerobics, spa, sunset bar, water fun facilities, water sports such as banana boat, jet sli, etc. Variety of food in buffet breakfast, good room service, high speed internet, etc.

Downside is they do not offer shuttle service to town center and it takes RM30 for each taxi ride.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psyclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

we stayed there for a few nights and found the stay enjoyable. the room is clean and good with free wifi as well as balcony. the restaurants in the hotel are decent- even the buffet. the pool is alright. the hotel carries speed boat services out to five islands in the national park. i truly have no complaints at all.

however i do think that this hotel is more suitable for families or friends, but not for honeymoon or couples looking for a romantic getaway.

p.s. i didnt go on june 2012, i went before that. but thats the earliest date option available.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lima k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,391 reviews
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,035 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,315 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing