We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificant View, beach with value added services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Magnificant View, beach with value added services”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is my first time travelling to Sabah and this is one of the trip organize by my company. The trip took place from 3-5 April 2013. With 17 of us, I had a twin sharing room. It was incredible experience that I ever had. The price and the service being offered is well worth. The scenary of the beach with blue crystal clear was magnificant. It was an unforgettable experience that I ever had. The hotel was 10 minits away from the Air Asia airport.

We arrived at 12.30pm and the check in was smooth. The front desk was friendly and we had a smooth check in without waiting too long. The staff was friendly and very kind in a way that we feel pleasant. The hotel was full during weekdays suprisingly. Majority were foreign tourists.

The room were superb, we had seaview with incredible view. The room was clean, well decorated, cosy. The bathroom was awesome with more than complete. With extra towels, weight scale and everything that you need. The room inclusive of extra mattress, rob, iron & board and hair dryer.

We had lunch and dinner at Tatu Cafe. A wide range of food selection from western, locals, east and indian food were served. The dessert was awesome. I had the best bread pudding ever. The bread pudding was extremely delicious.

Overall the experience that we had was awesome and one of the best hotel that I recommended.

Room Tip: The room quite spacious. If you travel with 2 small kids it is sufficient to take a standard room. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kunangterbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,069
    1,048
    335
    115
    79
See reviews for
1,256
1,381
90
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel itself is lovely, clean and spacious. The food is amazing although overpriced for Malaysia. The spa looked amazing but the prices were absolutely ridiculous and we ended up finding a gorgeous place in the city for a fraction of the price. The resort is a little out of the town and you need to catch a taxi to go anywhere. The resort has a fixed price for taxis which is also overpriced.
The service from all staff was great and they were always very happy to help out.
The pool area was great but always full of noisy kids splashing around. For a 'spa resort' that focuses on relaxation, they really need an area that is for the adults only.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The check in staff were quite rude and abrupt which was a big turn off at the start of the stay. The decor/furnishings of the room is very outdated and well below the standards of similarly ranked Asian hotels. Considering the distance to the city/town centre, the hotel should provide a free shuttle service (particularly considering the room rates). Instead, the hotel is clearly profiting by organizing a taxi for customers at a "fixed price". If they really had customers interest at heart, they should be ensuring that the patrons are charged a fair price but this hotel is clearly money hungry. The beach that the hotel is on is polluted and not worth going to. The spa treatments are ridiculously overpriced (especially considering that it's in Malaysia, not Paris or New York). I will never return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbuggggggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day trip staying At this Shangri La property. We chose it primarily as it was the closest to the airport (other Shangri La was about 45 minutes away) and had more kids outdoor activities compared to the other Shangri La Resort in KK. This resort is lovely for kids up to 12. Toddlers get their own pool and water slides and the KIds Club is really well set up for toddlers. My kids 7 & 10 loved the Water Wars area and the 3 awesome slides. I thought the Kids Club could have done a bit more to provide for older age group though. The KC could have had a snooker or air hockey table or something like a teenagers retreat area. The room was great, although I would upgrade from a standard room for a bit more space. Food was generally good.Beach a bit small. Pool great.Seeing the other property for the Orangutans, I would choose this resort next time. It was larger, huge white sand beach and seemed slightly more serene and spacious.

Room Tip: I wouldnt recommend the Kinabalu side of the resort as we could hear the airport planes quite well.C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mklasek69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

It's been many years since our last trip but we were not at all disappointed. The resort has gone from strength to strength. We stayed a week with friends to recover after the excitement of the Hong Kong 7s. The resort is sited about 15 minutes from the airport (no noise) and has an idyllic.setting overlooking islands. We chose club rooms which are very clean and well maintained (although not opulent are a good size and have a sitting area and balcony). The resort was busy for Easter but we were very impressed that it did not feel crowded and the children's area means peace and quiet for adults. The club lounge staff were outstanding-friendly and incredibly helpful. Restaurants are fine but you can walk to local restaurants (down the road, not along the beach) for a change. There is a good activity programme -we enjoyed excellent yoga classes -and the spa is impressive (a 2 1/2 hour Herbal Harmony was fabulous). A trip on the steam railway and visiting the orang-utan babies completed a brilliant week. I think it is fairly flawless and recommend as a beach hotel after visiting any of the usual SE Asia cities

Room Tip: Club rooms are realyy worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stokietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We are currently here, over from the UK enjoying a 16 day stay. It's a lovely hotel, very family friendly with a safe welcoming children's club. The beach is small but the water is so warm and clear and the sun is so overwhelming you couldn't really just lie on the beach though there are sunbeds without cushions. The service is excellent and the staff so helpful & genuine I would hate to be critical of them.

The hotel is over run with expats and the Chinese leading to strange ( or a variety) food options at breakfast ( roast potatoes, noodles, dim sum, etc) and the main downside to the hotel is the food. We have only eaten here once and hop in a taxi to KK where the food is cheaper, better and more authentic. Even the touristy waterfront works out at half the price of eating at the hotel and you can stock up on cans and drinks for the fridge to save on the £2.50 charge for all cans.

I have had 2 massages - having them outside is half the price and we popped off to it's sister hotel for the day which is VAST and although it does enjoy better facilities (food bars/ a huge exposed white sandy beach) I found it charmless and un inviting. I also found the staff lack lustre in comparison. It might suit you if you are older since there were very few children and no Chinese.

If you want to explore and taste Bourneo, this is the hotel for you. I like it because it is small and safe and we can go to Kk easily but if you aren't bothered then maybe the Rasa would be better.

We visited the Orangutans and we struck lucky. We hung around a bit afterwards and the little Orangutans came down and sat on our knees and played with us. An awesome experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. We asked for an upgrade on arrival and got one for free. A lovely room ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minnieinrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Possibly one of the nicest holidays we've had. Everything about this hotel oozed quality, we upgraded to the Kinabalu Club room, for the same price as breakfast each day and took advantage of the excellent guest facilities it gave us. A room on higher floor, breakfast served to you, availability of tea coffee fruit juice and soft drinks during the day, and a tapas style buffet with free drinks in the evening. Room was spotless and all the staff we had dealings with were friendly and helpful. Drinks and food may cost a little more but are in line with a five star resort, plenty of food available in KK and local to hotel-special mention of Chili Chicken Masala in Padarna park for Nando's style food and Chilli Vanilla in KK for great value and tasty food.

Room Tip: try and get a room ending in 26 on the Kinabalu Mountain view as it has dual aspect view of mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerr1bloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,390 reviews
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,035 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,315 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing