We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A visit March 2013.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A visit March 2013.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

At risk of sounding conceited I am a very experienced traveller. I stayed at this hotel for only 5 days before leaving as scheduled on 21st March . Without doubt this hotel despite its size has to be congratulated on it's management. In all my travels I have never experienced such a consistent high level of help and courtesy from every member of staff that always accompanied with a smile. Even Thailand would struggle to match the helpful attitude of the staff.

Room Tip: personal chopice but ground floor allows esay access to facilities. Sea view an obvious advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Opench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,015
    1,021
    327
    111
    77
See reviews for
1,219
1,344
87
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here for a week in March. The hotel was faultless. We had perfect weather, and enjoyed using the pool every day. The rooms were clean, with modern amenities. Comfy bed and a very decent sized bathroom. There were clocks in the room! (I hate the fact that a lot of hotels don't have a clock.)

We enjoyed the buffet breakfast every day and wow, what an amazing selection. The staff were always so friendly and happy to accommodate us. Three egg stations, so unlike other places I have stayed, I never had to wait too long for my omelette.

The sunset bar was a trip advisor top 10. It's not hard to see why! The view of the sunset was spectacular, although you need to get there early as the chairs get snapped up quickly. The 'happy hour' at the sunset bar does not include cocktails, only beer and wine wich is a bit dissapointing.

There is nothing in walking distance from the hotel. No 7/11 nearby but there is a hotel shop that sells water, soft drink, snacks, beer, suncream etc. the prices are higher than you would pay at the city supermarkets but a taxi to the city can cost you RM20 each way so it cancels it out.

We used the shuttle bus to the sister shangri la hotel Rasa. There was an initial confusion as we were originally under the impression it was a free shuttle. Also, we had to book seats on the shuttle 2 days in advance as the bus was full (but then the bus was half empty!) the bus was old and not a pleasant journey. It took over an hour and a half each way, and the bus rattled and wheezed its way along. We were literally bouncing out of our seats. Also the bus stopped at several shops on the way...we didn't even know we could do this!!

All in all, there was not much for us to do in Kota Kinabalu but we had no reason to leave the resort. It was such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royalflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We visited to celebrate my wife's birthday. Club Room with Ocean view, spectacular views and very quiet. Having advised of the celebration, we entered our room to find Birthday wishes written in red rose petals on the bed, and a bath full of flowers and petals. Gorgeous.
Club staff are fabulous and provides a good chance to meet other travelers, evening drinks becomes a cocktail party.
Peppino provided a great meal and superb atmosphere, topped by the staff serenading Fiona with a special birthday song.
We like Shangri-La, the personal attention and welcoming attitude cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Club Room with Ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank downhomePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

As soon as we arrived, we both felt wonderfully relaxed, the lobby area was very classy and check-in delat with swiftly. Room was lovely, but the mountain wasn't, more tree view. Having seen the ocean view, we upgraded, had to be done. No question. Although having a 10% service charge applied to upgrade is stupid beyond words. No idea?
We had booked on a room only basis, as the breakfast/eve meal would have put £100 a day onto the price. I cannot eat £25 worth of food at breakfast, and didn't want buffet food evey night. The food was, as expected, great, The American breakfast, ordered to the room at 58 RM was more than enough for two, saving 150 RM a day! We tried 3 restaurants, all good. Tatu being the best, with the most varied menu.
A must is a 5 minute trip from the marina for snorkelling, do NOT have the island's buffet/bbq. Utter rip-off at 80 RM for slop that isnt worth 30. There is a cafe, offering better food at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Seaview, no question. If not available in Kinabalu wing, floor 5 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davem001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

It pains me to write this review as I am a long standing fan of Shangri La and in fact stayed at the one in Kuala Lumpur for 2 nights prior to arriving at this one. I’ve tried to be fair and given it an average rating as it’s not a poor hotel – just not a 5 star . Check in was smooth, reception lady, Rujilan, was lovely. She asked if we were on honeymoon or celebrating a special occasion and we said it was a delayed anniversary treat. She told us that we would receive a surprise the next day (in fact we received a ‘surprise’ that very night!). While filling in our details we were given freezing cold flannels and a cool drink. We were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a Kinabulu club room but declined as we didn’t really plan to eat at the hotel. We were led to our room on 2 floor (1st floor UK)
Room looked very dated, very old carpet and tired looking furniture and instead of a mountain view had a view of tennis court and tree trunks. There was a pair of dirty socks someone had left behind under the counter, the shower filled up with water as you showered, the balcony way filthy. It was shocking for a SL property. We called reception to double check the room was the right one. We said we had booked a mountain view room and they assured us it was indeed the correct room. I didn’t unpack my bags that night as I knew I couldn’t spend 7 nights here. I was so upset I didn’t sleep a wink. The next morning when we met our rep from Kuoni we explained the problem. They moved us to what was basically a replica of the same room on the 5th floor (minus the socks and dirty balcony). Although the view was lovely I can’t describe our disappointment, especially as we had just come from the SL hotel in KL (see my review for that hotel). Parts of the room was dusty. Wardrobes smelt of not having been opened and some of the furniture had huge chips. Mini bar fridge was left empty for you to purchase your own stuff for – great for me as I don’t really use mini bars (there’s a supermarket a short taxi ride away). The hotel provides complimentary water and ice. Walls seemed really thin (I could hear person next door having a shower), people walking along the corridors outside the room and the banging of some kind of furniture early every morning – never figured out exactly where it came from. There’s complimentary wi-fi but it kept cutting out on all our devises so had to keep switching off and switching back on.
Enough about the 3 star quality rooms. Swimming pool was wonderful and I’m not generally a fan of pools. There’s the kid’s section which leads around to the adult side. There are 3 water slides which hubby and I used unashamedly. We also played the water fight game when there were no kids using it. The beach on the other hand is not swimmable and the water to both sides is filthy – filled with empty wrappers etc (see photos). The health suite was also nice. Men and women are separate and there are 2 individual Jacuzzi baths. There’s an activity schedule – bird watching, games, cocktail making, etc. I really enjoyed the water aerobics and Paul, the instructor was great and made the classes lots of fun. Ate at the buffet restaurant one night – lots of choice but nothing outstanding. If you come out of the hotel, turn right and walk for about 7-8 mins there’s food stalls selling really delicious food (including lots of fresh fish) very cheaply. The sunset bar has a breath taking view.
Staff at the hotel are really helpful, friendly and professional. We had our bed decorated with rose petals and had some yummy chocolate cake brought to our room as a surprise one afternoon. It's a shame that there is no shuttle bus into KK. Taxis from the hotel to KK cost 50 MYR but if you walk outside the hotel and hail one from the road, it'll cost 10 or 15 MYR All in all the hotel itself is nice but the rooms really need updating. If I had to I would stay here again but not at the price we paid.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a room on the 3rd floor or above if you've booked a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Godsgloriousworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for three nights in February. The service at check in was flawless, everyone was very attentive and we were checked in very quickly. Our room was on the 5th floor - it was a Mountain View room, and we did have a nice view of the mountains. The room had a small balcony too. The resort itself is lovely - lots of food choices, a large pool and in very nice surroundings.

Our room included a breakfast buffet - this is very busy, but we never had to wait for a table, and the food was always being topped up so we never had to wait. The choice was amazing! We also ate in the same restaurant for lunch and dinner - there are buffet options but the a la carte menu is cheaper and the portions are more than enough. Room service is similarly priced and also very good portions and very good service.

The pool is large, with different areas for different people (a kids pool, a little water park, an infinity pool etc). There are lots of sun loungers, but the ones in the shade do get taken quickly. We went to the pool one morning around 9am and there were lots of towels on loungers but very few people on the loungers or in the pool...

The Sunset bar is advertised as being a great place to see the sunset. It is, but be warned - lots of people go there so if you are lucky enough to get a table / sofa then there will be people all around you. The pavement area to the left of the bar actually has better views and you don’t have to buy a drink!

Speaking of which, we left the sunset bar and rushed back to our room because my boyfriend was not feeling well - half an hour later and it was obvious he had got food poisoning. Not something you expect in this kind of hotel. It was an even bigger shock given that we had been in Asia for 3 weeks already, eating local food with no problems at all. The staff tried to help - sending up energy drinks and replacing the next days breakfast buffet with room service breakfast. But, to prove where the food poisoning had come from (we hadn’t left the resort all day), the hotel required that we pay for a doctor to visit. No offers of refunds / discounts were made.

Check out was very slow - check out time is 12pm and although the queues do not look very long, but each person seems to take a long time to check out - having to pay for extras, disputing amounts etc.

We got a taxi from the hotel to the airport - unfortunately it seems to be a fixed fare of 30 RM even though the journey takes less than 5 minutes.

We booked this rather than the Rasa Ria as it looked closer to the town. It’s not walking distance though, we would have had to get a taxi or the hotel shuttle. Overall, this is a nice hotel, but we were let down by a bad experience with food and drink.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkySwear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed from March 1st 2013 for 5 nights in this hotel. We had a club room (9417) on the top floor where the views of the sea, gardens and sunset were fabulous. I would imagine even the garden view rooms would have good views from the top floor as this hotel has panoramic views all round.

A couple of days before arriving we had emailed the hotel to ask if they could arrange to get us booked on the North Borneo Railway and after checking in we asked if they had managed to secure us two tickets. Many thanks to the member of staff who had read the email, rang the railway station direct and managed to get us a cancellation. A wonderful day out, highly recommended.

Having the club room allows you access the club lounge serving tea/coffee all day and from 6.30-8.30p.m wine, spirits, beer and soft drinks are served. Buffet style food is also available and not just nibbles, you can have 3 courses here, the food is superb. On reading 737wendy's review about the chaotic breakfast in the main room, we avoided this by having breakfast in the club lounge where it was tranquil and sitting out on the terrace is a peaceful way to start the day.

We didn't have a problem getting sunbeds (no cushions, a bit uncomfortable) preferring to be in the gardens than round the pool where there may have been a problem getting a sunbed as the hotel was extremely busy the weekend we arrived. The grounds are extensive and very well kept with the Sunset bar on the peninsular and Coco Joe's right on the sea front.

We took the hotel mini bus to the sister hotel Rasa Ria to visit the Orangutan sanctuary (also recommended) and did notice when walking around their grounds that their sunbeds had cushions.

We had been considering a hotel in the centre of Kota Kinabalu but on visiting the town one afternoon, we were both pleased we had selected this hotel about 10-12 minutes outside the town.

We didn't think you could find anything to grumble about in this hotel and would certainly return to it.

Room Tip: If funds allow pay for a club room with all it's benefits
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsMac349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.6 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
11.8 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing