We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed 9 nights in a club room and could not fault the service and the staff in the club were outstanding. Resort met all our needs and the daily entertainment in the lobby lounge (Johnny on piano) was fabulous. It was great to be able to choose between lounging or swimming at the poolside or beach front. The views from the room and other locations around the resort are spectacular. The food was average but acceptable.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AustraliaRoseanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,866 - 1,872 of 3,822 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We have a short stay 4 days there and found that this is the most brilliant and beautiful hotel at BKI. We lived at the groind floor and in front of the balcony. There is a large green grass next to the seaside. It is so comfortable that you can stay whole day there relaxing. The pool is amazing especially if you have kids coming with you. Food is normal in compare with town. Staff at there is nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony_294217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent 6 nights here after our rainforest expedition. It is really beautifully located and if you skip the pool with loads of people and go to the small beach instead, it is also rather peaceful.
Numerous restaurants with different kind of food and a SPA that is one of the best in the world and a breakfast containing everything you could possibly think of.
BUT -if it tastes, it costs..
The price level is generally very high and to be honest; the level of service in the restaurants isn't really all that perfect. People are very friendly but has for instance no knowledge about wine and gladly served a defect bottle and did not understand what the problem was and massacred a cork leaving us spitting pieces of it out.. The waiting time was also long sometimes. I wouldn't say anything about it if it was a local restaurant with prices in Malaysian level but...
I do recommend room-service balcony dining. Well worth the (rather low) price!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UllaBella018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Short stay for 4 days. what can i say....
staff - wonderfully helpful and tirelessly friendly....incredible patiences..
rooms - sigh...comfortably lavish
facilities - you just have to go there..you'll want to stay
service - fast, personal and efficient i'll give the place 5x5 stars....and no, I didn't get paid for saying all this...

Dubai..Melbourne..we're coming.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was our third stay here but the last time was several years ago so we saw some changes in Kota Kinabalu itself. We stayed in a seaview room in the Tanjung Wing which i would recommend. Our initial room wasnt high enough so we swapped for a 5th floor room and weren't disappointed. The room was very large and had a wonderful big bed which was comfy. Bathroom was nice and always had plenty of toiletries left for us. The only downside was i think the air conditioning could have been more effective. The hotel has tried to think of everything though and even had a mosi plug although we were only left a few tablet (we brought our own so that was ok). However while we were there we didnt see a single mosquito.

We ate at several places in the hotel including the Italian Peppinos which was lovely, Shang Palace which is Chinese Muslim food and this disappointed really and also Coco joes which we also enjoyed. This is why i find it odd that someone has said there wasnt any choice but TATU and Coco Joes. We also had a few drinks at the sunset bar by the ocean. This is expensive but has long happy hours where it is 2 for 1.
Breakfast was extremely busy but is served till 10.30am. The choice was amazing and the hotel have several egg stations for omlettes etc, fresh yoghurt and yoghurt ice cream and anything you could think of. They even served dim sum. Also no matter how busy it was we were always found a table.

As regards cleanliness i couldnt fault it. It was spotless. Someone mentioned cockroaches but we didnt see any although on some of the outside corridors we saw several dead beetles which are nasty but expected in the tropics and we only saw these outside and not in the rooms or public areas.

The swimming pool is amazing. It is huge and has lifeguards as does the beach area. The adult pool is strictly enforced by them so the kids kept to their own pools. There is a problem here with people reserving sunbeds but if you don't do it you will end up without one so you have to do the same. Beware though as some guests are not averse to removing your belongings as we found when we only left them to eat lunch.
The beach is clean and we swam in the sea and yes occasionally first thing in the morning after a windy night we saw litter but this was around the jetty area and not the swimming area.
The gym is very large and has all the latest high tech equipment plus steam rooms etc.

The hotel also do trips, we went by speedboat to Mamutuk for about £11 each. This is one of the little islands off the hotel where you can snorkel. You used to be able to visit several of the islands but now the hotel only do Mamutuk.

We did get taxis into Kota Kinabalu several times which the hotel arrange. They used to do a shuttle bus but now only do this to the sister hotel the Rasa Ria. The taxi is 30RM each way which is about £6. We also went to the waterfront area where there are restaurants and an irish pub. Food and drink are both expensive in Borneo.
There is a restaurant up the beach called Sri Tanjung which is seafood. I recommend this as the food was lovely and the owner even took us back to the hotel afterwards.

We really enjoyed our stay here and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Choose Tanjung Wing in a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel could and should be a top quality class act. It is in a fabulous location in a quiet peninsula right on the coast, and yet it is only a five minute taxi ride into Kota Kinabalu, which is a city with its own airport making it perfect for access to other parts of Borneo for day trips. It is also part of the large Shangri La chain, and has some excellent staff working in it. It also has some great children's facilities, so for young families it is probably ideal. But... for anyone expecting a calm quality environment in a jungly Borneo it does not hit the mark fully, which is a great shame.
On a positive note, the room we had for two weeks in the Kinabalu wing was excellent. It had oa great sea view from a nice private balcony, and it was clean and modern with free WiFi access of decent speed. My only reservation is that as we were in a room on an internal corner the room next.To ours on the other side of the lift was on an angle so from there balcony they could see into our room and see our bed in its entirety, there should have been a solid dividing wall not trellis.for privacy They delivered a free local newspaper each morning, and the room had a decent bathroom, good air con and a comfortable bed. )housekeeping was random with what they did and when The fridge in the room is empty on arrival and this was a positive as you are invited to use it for your own items of food or drink which you can buy from local supermarkets. or the shop on site which was poorly stocked and very expensive. The outside restaurant even when only 5 other guests on two tables on our first evening was poorly organised with drinks taking on one occasion 20 mins there were lots of serving staff but they did not appear to know how to split up the tables and cover them, with a system so 3 staff would cover one table and totally miss others who needed help.
In addition we had no problem finding a sunbed on any day, though to get one in the shade we had to drag them from around the pool to a nearby shady tree- still not a big problem. There were lifeguards around the pools which was good to see, and the gym which is in the Kinabalu wing is really impressive- we used this on the odd day when it was raining in the morning.
The food quality overall was great, but it was also really pricey, so we found some really nice alternatives within walking distance, and two great places in Kota Kinabalu called Chilli Vanilla and El Centro, both very relaxed cafe style with a great atmosphere and great food (see tripadvisor reviews).
So it all sounds great, but...... it could be so much better.
Your first experience of the hotel is nothing more than a blatant attempt to get you to upgrade. The initial reception staff are simply sales people, who I can only assume are on some serious commission scheme. In our case we were asked to upgrade to a club room for a further £750, which after some 10 minutes of checking it turned out was not available anyway. Then we were shown an alternative upgrade to a room in the Tanjung wing which was older and noisier which was going to cost £250 more. We refused this but we're then told we could "upgrade" for free! We still refused and stuck with our original room, but later we were offered the use of the club room facilities but without a club room for the full upgrade price. No thanks, and you really don't want all that hassle on arrival at a five star hotel.
The main problem this hotel has though is its breakfasts. We envisaged the usual quality selection of food (which there was), but not the amazing caucophany of noise and the chaos of the restaurant. It is appalling for a hotel of this size to only have one restaurant for breakfast, and despite the best efforts of the friendly staff there were days when they lost control and even advised us not to leave the table whilst it was cleared otherwise we may lose it! The lady who finds you a table, Rosina, needs a medal, as any table not occupied will be taken over. The management are clearly aware of the problem yet there was not a single day when a senior manager showed his face to see the chaos first hand. Instead we were, as an adult couple, greeted daily by an insane costumed man speaking to us as if we were kids. We did see the chef who looked shell shocked and usually vanished after a couple of minutes.
The sunbeds themselves are top quality rattan sunbeds but we counted only six on the entire premises with mattresses. Why? This meant they were high uncomfortable and left a rather nice pattern like a tennis racket on your back if your towel slipped.
The beach here is also hugely disappointing - small with sandflies, and the sea its self is murky and almost fish free, so no snorkelling here.
Outside the hotel if you are into fitness you can run along the main public beach for around 2 miles which is great, and at intervals along the way there are a few restaurants and a good food court for cheap local dining. Also there is a fantastic new running track open to everyone (called Perdana Park) with water coolers, and it is only a mile away. At night this has musical fountains " dancing" and there are a couple of nice restaurants here, particularly the "Secret Recipe".
You can get a taxi directly from the hotel to KK for 30RM but once there you can find many taxis to get you back for 20!
We booked some awesome trips to see the orangutans at Sarawak, to go white water rafting at Padas (see u tube footage) and also snorkel and dive in the nearby national park- all booked on line prior to arrival through "divedownbelow" - check out their website. They handled everything very well, and the trips are great value.
So overall a great place to come to, a good hotel, but one that could be so much better if the hotel management could fix their problems, which have been highlighted many times before by other reviewers.

Room Tip: The Mumbai wing is more modern and away from the noisy pool area. Get as high a room as you can for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Pros Staff very friendly. Gym excellent.swimming pool and children's play area excellent also
Cons Stayed Kota Kinabalu wing. Sea facing. Room somewhat tired. Mildew around shower.
Check in a nightmare.Service the.first week very hit and miss as they seemed unable to cope with numbers of people ( it was Chinese New Year ) First week breakfastsa "bun fight"",
Food ranged from excellent to mediocre. Unless you only drank in happy hour the price of a of a pint worked worked out to £11.
Would judge this hotel to be 4 star only.

Room Tip: Check all rooms before accepting.If you can afford it upgrade to " club" level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c_kerry778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.4 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,203 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,513 reviews
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $215 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing