We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Klagan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$227
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$110
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$385
$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
$105
$61
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
$98
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sixty3(Kota Kinabalu)
$131
$79
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
$53
$41
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
$100
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Eden54(Kota Kinabalu)(Great Value!)
$36
$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveler rating
71
201
68
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
201
68
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop cafewarisan squarewalking distanceshopping mallfilipino marketspacious roomtop floorseafoodcentre pointnice view of the seahotel is locatedrain showermoney changerairport taxismall citybreakfast buffetborneo hypermall
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 361 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Location is superb and really a good choice to stay . Room is clean with good amenities . Wifi connection in the room is pretty fast . Just a short stroll to the waterfront for seafood . Highly recommendable due to its location and cleanliness of the room .

Stayed: March 2014
Thank odie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two nights. great place to stay if you want to explore kk city. Rooms spacious and clean-atrium. Nice food for breakfast. Check in and check out very smooth and quick. will stay in this hotel again. next will choose ocean view..must be even better.

Room Tip: ocean view must be even nicer and better. atrium is ok too--we are in 10th floor..better but slight noise -can hear people dragging chairs from restaurant at 11th floor
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRSZZ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Had a 2 nights stay in Klagan Hotel. It is part of the Waris Square Building. If you are driving, park inside the building as it is complimented, room was spacious, clean and cozy. Love the rain shower. The breakfast was awesome with quite a variety. Love the view of the rooftop. Walking distance filipino market, seafood restaurant, night bazaar and Sunday Market .

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank YiWern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

In general Kota Kinabalu is not an interesting city and we have only 2 stopovers during our Sabah holidays. I think The Klagan hotel was a good choice. Clean and spacious rooms. Comfortable beds. Very good buffet breakfast. Good location: Waterfront, seafood restaurants, Filipino market just few steps away. Quiet placew. Just air conditioner a little bit noisy. Quite a lot of shopping malls around. Much better places for souvenirs than handicraft market - lower prices, better choice. No problem to find a taxi. On the first morning we left the hotel very early for our excursions and we got packet breakfast. I have never had hot packed breakfast in my life. Noodles with chicken, cakes and fruits! Normally you get some bread, yogurt, jam and butter.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are smaller (but big enough) and windows overlook the atrium. Not much of the view, but not windowless as well.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RimaVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I spent 4 nights at this hotel for my trip to climb up Mt. Kinabalu in early March 2014 with 4 friends.

General impression: Centrally located, 15-min from the airport, nice concierge staff with a welcome drink served during check-in.

Pros: Clean and tidy, comfortable bed, sea-view, a great variety of food for breakfast (RM30 for an extra head if needed), many massage and souvenir shops within 10-15 walk distance

Cons: Very slow cable and wifi connection (cant access FB at night), only one set of toothbrush for 2 people, need to walk up one level (no lift) to 11/F for breakfast

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zenki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews