We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a hotel”
Review of The Klagan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Klagan Hotel
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value for a hotel”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Chose this hotel based on reviews on trip advisor and was not disappointed. The rooms are clean and spacious, hope that they can maintain this. It's a newly renovated space, so it'll be up to the management - the bathrooms are clean however the plastic shower curtain in my room was not sufficient and the bathroom floor flooded w water after every shower. My friend had a similar room but his bathroom had a sliding glass door that fell off its track. Unfortunately, these are issues with design and maintenance. The bed and pillows are very comfortable, as are the bed linens and towels provided. Wi-Fi worked without any issue throughout the hotel. The staff are pleasant. Location of hotel is excellent with food, shopping and entertainment literally at the doorstep. Overall a good experience, I would go back there for a no-frills comfortable clean safe stay.

Room Tip: We asked for a non-smoking room on the high floors, but since the rooms are spread across 8, 9, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DogbertBlackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    175
    62
    14
    2
See reviews for
56
86
19
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I've stayed here with my husband for 3 nights. Both of us had a pleasant stay. We stayed at a superior room on level 9. It's a very spacious room,with a view of South China Sea. The bed is big and comfortable. There's separate WC,basin and bath tub in the bathroom.
The buffet breakfast is served at the Wanyan Rooftop Cafe, where you can enjoy a fabulous seaview from the rooftop cafe while having the first meal of the day. There's variety food such as fried rice, fried noodles, varieties of fruits, salads, eggs, cakes, muffins, croissants, bread toast, ham, baked beans, fruit juices, milk, coffee and tea.
The hotel is located in the Warisan Square. You can mentioned to the taxi driver about the Warisan Square if they are not sure about the location of the Klagan Hotel. This hotel is very near to the Filipinos market, where you can get varieties of local souvenirs as well as the local tit bits, like kuih cincin. Some more you can also get lots of sea products, like seaweeds and scallops.
The cheap and nice seafood is 20 minutes away from the hotel. Take a walk towards Pasar Besar. The varieties of seafood stalls are just immediately after the Pasar Besar. Choose your favorite seafood and ask the seller to cook the way you want.
Because of this hotel is located in the Warisan Square, that's why it's very convenient, if you need to buy any personal cares. There's also a money changer located in the Warisan Square.
If you wish to go to Taman Tunku Abdul Rahman, you just need to walk to the harbor to purchase the boat ticket.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor (level 10) rooms, because the breakfast is served above the level 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine_lz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Good points:
Clean
Good location
Near to the shopping malls, handicraft markets - 5mins walking distance
Nice little touches: Ironing facilities, international adaptor, prayer mat
Spacious bedroom

Bad points:
Carpet smells slightly musty

Highly recommended. Well worth the money

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squiddy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Paying RM210 w/breakfast for superior room, the room is large and spacious. The lobby doesnt look appealing,however thats not a problem as long as the hotel room is comfortable.

Breakfast at the rooftop, breakfast choices is typical continental buffet.

Would recommend friends to stay at this hotel. For Kota Kinabalu standard,this hotel is considered good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

It's the first time I came back after they changed it from imperial international to the klagan, and i must say that i'm quite impressed. The rooms might be the same as before but it's still as comfortable & spacious. Of course the carpets might be a bit worn out but i dont mind it at all. The location is still a plus point as well (it's attached to warisan square & has centre point mall right in front of it). And an important note to all guest who're driving their own cars (cuz it drives me a bit crazy trying to find info on parking since the place is quite notorious for being busy most of the time); do rejoice since the current management lets you parked your car anywhere inside (not the outside parking) the warisan square building with no charges at all. All you need to do is take the ticket & get it stamped from the hotel's receptionist. Definitely another plus point for me :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amoichoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked a superior room at this hotel. I found this hotel worth staying. Positive points as below:
1. Check in and check out were fast and efficient. Staff were helpful.
2. Ample parking space as the hotel is attached to Warisan Square. Free if we get stamp from the front desk.
3. Bedroom is spacious, furnitures are new and modern. Clean and well maintained both bedroom and bathroom. King size bed.
4. Free wifi.
5.Walking distance to Pasar Philipines, Waterfront, Wet Market and we can even walked to Sunday Market.
6.Short drive to Jetty for Island hopping.

Our room booking didnt come with breakfast, so i cant comment on the food.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrerazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

we stayed here twice between april and may, rather happy with the first visit, but soured by the second. had a seaview deluxe room which was worth it for the view and we considered the room to be a good value first time around (very convenient location, decent size room, comfy bed, bathroom with bathtub, wifi worked without complaint). one drawback is that the windows should open but are permanently screwed shut. contrary to a previous review I didn't notice any smell of cigarette in the non smoking rooms we stayed (maybe a little bit in the hall, but not the rooms). free buffet breakfast was decent.

what soured the stay the second time around a week later was that as of may 2013 the management had increased room rates slightly (fair enough) and decided that 'free breakfast' only means that they need to give one buffet coupon per room, even if two people are staying in the room, so the second person has to pay. what annoying penny pinching!

Room Tip: the building is a square plan, with an inner courtyard. some rooms face this inner courtyard, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atlanticaccelerator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,182 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Hotel

Property: The Klagan Hotel
Address: Ground Floor, Block D - Warisan Square | Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Klagan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE KLAGAN HOTEL, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah is strategically located in the heartland of city-centre encompasses 208-fully refurbished guests rooms will be an ideal choice for your next holiday or business destination. With just a mere 10-minute drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and walking distance to the shopping arcades, KK Waterfront Esplanade and the Filipino Market, we at The Klagan Hotel welcomes you with the Sabahan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Klagan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Klagan Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing