We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay room. Bad management”
Review of The Klagan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Klagan Hotel
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Okay room. Bad management”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I booked this hotel via Agoda.com. When I arrived at the hotel I noticed that the walk-in rate was USD 0.80 (80 cents) more than what I paid and included breakfast. My booking on Agoda did not include breakfast. When I pointed this out the manager and requested that he give me breakfast, he tried to give me a lecture about commissions to Agoda. I stopped him and told him that guests who feel ripped off will be unhappy guests as I was.

Also, it turns out that the hotel is extremely overpriced for the quality of the hotel. You can get the international chain, Le Meridian, next door (with pool, gym, sauna, etc) for just a bit more or similar quality hotels for much less in Kota Kinabalu.

I recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    181
    63
    14
    2
See reviews for
56
87
20
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2013

we really love this place! Stayed at 8th floor, we shared the same view (waterfront/city) with le meridian guests!!after considering lots of reviews, we chose to stay at the hotel for 2 nights.The room that we had are sizable, very clean & ideal for this leg of vacation. There r iron& ironing board, wifi and chiller in both our rooms.The front desk staff was very kind and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast @ 11th floor with fantastic view of the sea. Location is superb for walking along the waterfront /markets and to dozens of restaurants. I don't know how they accomplish such a wonderful hotel with an affordable price!!! A Great hotel I can say!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nurfazilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Klagan is currently being renovated and may have had a name change. The hotel is very central, surrounded by shopping centres, restaurants and a short walk to the waterfront restaurants. The room was clean and well maintained with a good sized bathroom and a limited cable TV selection. on the down side the hotel has no balconies and limited views from the rooms also no swimming pool.
On the upside the hotel was a comfortable and inexpensive place to stay. I would recommend the hotel on the price of the rooms, if you want better pay for 5 star.

Room Tip: Try and get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrenandjodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hubby and I stayed 3 nights on the 10th floor of this newly refurbished hotel and had a comfortable and refreshing stay. Enjoyed to bed, shower and wifi. Even though cable had a limited selection of channels, it was well chosen - even had Disney channel for the kids. Would not hesitate to bring the kids here next trip.

Even though the room we were in had a nice modern look, the carpet looked old with stains and though the bathroom was clearly refurbished it looked like it was a rushed job. Nevertheless this did not stop us from a good stay especially when the room rates here are highly competitive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gyyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Centrally located where you can walk to most attraction in town. Across the road is a shopping mall (Centre Point) and many restuarants around the area including the Hua Hing Seafood Restuarant and local Filipino market. The room is very spacious with large shower. It has thick curtains and can block out the strong morning sun. You will need that if your sleeping in! It is clean and i like the lighting in the room and bathroom. The only thing I
wish they do is to hang up a picture or painting or two or something on the wall. The room haven't got that much of a homely feeling infact it is abit dull. Other than that its great value. Oh, i didn't think too much of the breakfast which they charge 24 ringgit. I looks kinda boring (i never try it just had a look). I always venture out in the morning to look for local fare.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owleyes2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Good location, within walking distance to the markets, waterfront, eateries, malls. Room was pretty spacious for hotel of its class. Neat and clean too. Staffs were very accomodative. For the price and service, it's a bargain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynd_anwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very well located, sandwiched between shopping malls, the Filipino Handicraft Market, the waterfront facing the famous snorkelling and scubadiving Tunku Abdul Rahman islands, close proximity to the ferry jetty to go over to the islands, the wet Market , the Sunday Gaya Street Market, the Ocean Seafood Restaurant, Portview Seafood Restaurant and many more. Only complaint is the hotel management does not do quality checks on the work of its cleaners. Slip shod work, moldy Walls in the bathroom, tables not wiped and bathroom table tops not well cleaned. One notable positive is the modern room, good sized and free wifi (although rather weak and unstable). Overall, I recommend this hotel for its value for money with not many shortcomings.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloriachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Hotel

Property: The Klagan Hotel
Address: Ground Floor, Block D - Warisan Square | Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Klagan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE KLAGAN HOTEL, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah is strategically located in the heartland of city-centre encompasses 208-fully refurbished guests rooms will be an ideal choice for your next holiday or business destination. With just a mere 10-minute drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and walking distance to the shopping arcades, KK Waterfront Esplanade and the Filipino Market, we at The Klagan Hotel welcomes you with the Sabahan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Klagan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Klagan Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing