We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and good value, recommended for the budget conscious”
Review of The Klagan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Klagan Hotel
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very well located, sandwiched between shopping malls, the Filipino Handicraft Market, the waterfront facing the famous snorkelling and scubadiving Tunku Abdul Rahman islands, close proximity to the ferry jetty to go over to the islands, the wet Market , the Sunday Gaya Street Market, the Ocean Seafood Restaurant, Portview Seafood Restaurant and many more. Only complaint is the hotel management does not do quality checks on the work of its cleaners. Slip shod work, moldy Walls in the bathroom, tables not wiped and bathroom table tops not well cleaned. One notable positive is the modern room, good sized and free wifi (although rather weak and unstable). Overall, I recommend this hotel for its value for money with not many shortcomings.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloriachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for The Klagan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 325 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Booked the hotel tru a travel agency from matta fair 2012. Extremely satisfied with the service,the room and the location.
Took twin room sharing and the room was spacious!love d lazy chair in front of the tv.
The location is also good as it is walking distance to Philipines market and also waterfront.
The dining hall is at the top floor and while having breakfast,u have d view of tunku abd rahman park..it was amazing n breathtaking..
Definitely recommended this hotel to all ;)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Moved here from a five-star hotel nearby to save some money for shopping. Turned out to be a masterstroke! This hotel is CLEAN. The staff are HELPFUL and FRIENDLY. There are even SMILES around the hotel even when the check-in counters are filled to capacity.
Oh, mind you any hotel in KK will be congested during check-in on Friday afternoons, unless its really bad and nobody wants to stay there. This hotel is no exception, my room was not ready until tea-time but why complain when KK's best offerings are just across the road? Or you can just go next door grab a book from Times and chillout at the coffee place or the cake place!
Or just sit and watch the girls walk by......*trance*
at least while the wife was at the ladies.
The rooms are clean and everything is pretty new and all working perfectly, tea and coffee as standard, PRAYER RUG for muslims (a nice touch). The showers are AMAZINGLY good compared to most other hotels in the area.
Parking is FREE for hotel guests parking at the multi-level car park. Try park on Level 3 where the guard posts are.
The rooms are not very different from one another except for the view. Then again, for some people the view is everything so some of you might want to fork out the extra fifty for a deluxe room with a nice view of KK waterfront and the accompanying sunset.
Child friendly hotel with pretty good selection of tv channels and clear reception throughout my stay.

Room Tip: The rooms with seaview (deluxe?) have dvd players, in case you decide to shop for some bargain dvd a...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbuFaahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We move from the small live in a box hotel call cetital express to this hotel... Way way better the view the service the surrounding is so good..great shopping area feel so bless in this hotel.. TQ ANNIE OF THE FRONT DESK FOR THE GOOD INFO... N GOOD SERVICE

SURE WILL BE BACK
SITI

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We move from the small live in a box hotel call cetital express to this hotel... Way way better the view the service the surrounding is so good..great shopping area feel so bless in this hotel.. TQ ANNIE OF THE FRONT DESK FOR THE GOOD INFO... N GOOD SERVICE

SURE WILL BE BACK
SITI

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

After being turned off by Le Meridien due to its non consistency, we decided to stay at The Klagan Hotel, which we booked earlier. To our surprise, the room was big and we our view was the side of Le Meridien and the Waterfront! We were happy. The courteous staff, the view and the price just deleted the fact that it doesnt have a swimming pool or a gym. And WiFi was freee! And fast!

Anyways, our stay at The Klagan Hotel was comfortable, the airconditioning could get as cold as 12 degrees celcius and the water temperature was just right!

If you are visiting KK for a shopping trip, then this would not be an ideal place as the best malls are located at 1borneo and Suria Sabah. Not the Centrepoint.

But if you are just looking to relax and have a good time or catch the famour KK Waterfront Sunset, then this is the place for you.

Overall, it is good and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BonnieClyde448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here for 2 weeks and enjoyed every moment I spent in the hotel. The staffs were friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and comfortable and the location is great. There's a convenience store just next to it and lots of eating places around the hotel. Starbucks is just around the corner :) Filipino market and the Gaya street is within walking distance. The only complain I have is that it doesn't have a cafe yet, so breakfast will have to be taken outside. Well, McDonalds is just opposite the road anyways.

Room Tip: The room with partial sea view are quite far from the elevators. If you don't mind walking, reco...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erein_Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,470 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Hotel

Address: Ground Floor, Block D - Warisan Square | Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $49 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Klagan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE KLAGAN HOTEL, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah is strategically located in the heartland of city-centre encompasses 208-fully refurbished guests rooms will be an ideal choice for your next holiday or business destination. With just a mere 10-minute drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and walking distance to the shopping arcades, KK Waterfront Esplanade and the Filipino Market, we at The Klagan Hotel welcomes you with the Sabahan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Klagan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Klagan Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing