We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big clean room, nearby eating and shopping places”
Review of The Klagan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Klagan Hotel
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The room is big and beautiful. The staff very friendly. Near to eating and shopping places. The toilet so big and clean. Wish to have cafe and outdoor swimming pool if possible. Will stay there again when coming to Kota Kinabalu .

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Kaklie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 335 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay in KK as a stopover. Everything is walking distance as oppose to staying at the 1borneo area. There's a mall in front of the hotel entrance, a7/11 around the corner, a cinema at the mall, the local markets n seefood galore literally two mins walk from where you wil be.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 75TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Initially we had booked the Promenade Service Apartment but was really TURN OFF by the yucky and dodgy hallways and room. So we were desperate to change to another hotel until we came across the Klagan Hotel. Upon reaching the reception, I was greeted by a smiling receptionist which made our check in very smooth in less than 5 minutes. Once we reach to our room, wow, the room are very spacious and clean, hallways to our room are brightly lit, our toilet are squeaky clean, nice big showers, and rooms are very comfortable. We were given the 8th floor and there wasn't any noise, it was such a comfortable stay. The parking was free, spacious and was guarded with lots of CCTV surveillance cameras, WiFi was free and the hotel is just a few steps from the Centrepoint Hotel and lots of shops nearby. Very convenient. Hotel staffs was all smiles and were very friendly even though we were attend by different receptionists. Rooms were daily clean. Lobby was nice, so relaxing. Stayed there for 2 nights and we were so happy to pay for such a nice, clean, safe and comfortable hotel. Will stay there again and will recommend to friends and relatives. To the Klagan Hotel management and staffs, please keep up with the good work. With this attitude and good service, business will also be good. Thanks for the nice hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smashing P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Great location – City area, all are within 1 – 5 minutes walking distance to shopping mall - Center Point, cinema, food, taxi stand, money changer, bank, massage, 7 eleven, bar, handcraft market (5 minutes) etc. 15minutes from airport by taxi (RM30/ taxi).

This hotel used to be Imperial International Hotel, we booked directly from their hotel official website http://www.theklagan.com which can be cheaper than agonda that I usually make my booking there. The response is fast and confirmation given within a day with your credit card number will be use to secure the booking, no payment need to be made if booking via email. We are 3 adults and book for a Family room for a night but they give us a sea view Deluxe room with an extra bed. We are fine with that arrangement since the room is still spacious after adding the extra bed.

Delux Bedroom – room size is a lot bigger than Myne Hotel and cititel express that I use to stay before, beds are clean, pillow are comfortable. The room is equipped with a flat screen tv with 14 channel, personal safe, kettle , mini fridge, coffee and tea, 2 complimentary drinks, cupboard with hanger, pen & paper, tissue paper, newspaper and iron & iron board. There is lift access to every floor from lobby. Most importantly they have free wifi access for hotel guest.

Bathroom – clean, water heater with power shower jet, Shampoo, Body wash, soaps, shower cap, sanity bag, hair dryer & toilet paper. Bath towel, hand towel are provided. The room look exactly like the photo show in the website.

Staff – friendly and helpful. Check-in and checkout are fast. A deposit is collected when you check in, balance will be refund when you check out.

We plan to go back to this hotel again in our next visit to Kota Kinabalu and definitely will recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: We have room 928 which have a clear sea view ^_^
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liawht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This used to be the Imperial International Hotel that currently took over by other company, I guess! After renovation, this is much much better than the previous one. Friendly staffs. Everything inside the room seems brand new, clean, comfortable and flawless. Brighter light than before. Fast speed of WiFi. Nevertheless, I stayed at 9th floor, and 10th floor (the top) seems like still being under construction or further renovation. So, no surprise to expecting some noise from the up floor starting from 8am, even on Saturday! Other than this, everything is fine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiKi_KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have stayed in KK twice before, once at the 5* Shangri La and another time at Eden 54, the backpacking hostel. Both great and at different ends of the spectrum. The Klagan is somewhere in between but offers fantastic value for money.
I'm not a fan of mid range hotels, I find them depressing. I would rather blow out or rough it. When we booked a room here therefore as part of a group of friends traveling, expectations were low.
I was very pleasantly suprised therefore by both the room and the fantastic location.
We supersized our booking and had a large room overlooking the harbourfront which for GBP50 or Sing$100 per night was excellent value. It was comnfortable and clean and just a stride from the pubs and restaurants.
Minor issues with this hotel include:
- no breakfast
- corridors haven't been brought up to the same standard as the rooms / lobby (doesn't really matter but you feel like you are in the set of the Shining once you leave your room!)
- no mini bar
but for the price we paid, there is very little to compain about.

Room Tip: Choose a harbour view room its worth the extra tenner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Project25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is one of the best value you can encounter. The hotel is perfectly located in front ot the waterfront. There are amenities all around it. It is modern, clean, with great decor and the deluxe rooms are spacious with great bathrooms and amazing landscape views of the bay. The staff was very nice. Everything was perfect .

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnFoster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#15 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Hotel

Address: Ground Floor, Block D - Warisan Square | Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $49 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Klagan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE KLAGAN HOTEL, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah is strategically located in the heartland of city-centre encompasses 208-fully refurbished guests rooms will be an ideal choice for your next holiday or business destination. With just a mere 10-minute drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and walking distance to the shopping arcades, KK Waterfront Esplanade and the Filipino Market, we at The Klagan Hotel welcomes you with the Sabahan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Klagan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Klagan Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing