We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and Worthy of a Visit”
Review of Borneo 1945 Museum Kopitiam - CLOSED

Borneo 1945 Museum Kopitiam
Cuisines: Malaysian
Restaurant details
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“History and Worthy of a Visit”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Neat little piece of history honoring the men and women who served the forces of good; most who made the ultimate sacrifice. Your sacrifice will be missing out on a great meal with great atmosphere and the nice folks who work there.. We enjoyed breakfast which included western style eggs (American Breakfast) for the kids, toast with coconut jam, local style chicken roasted in palm leaves (Pandan Chicken Rice), Teh Tarik and the White Coffee. Topped all off with an ANZAC Biscuit. Definitely worth a visit when you are in Kota Kinabalu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicTexans5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“'Kopi Botol' (bottled coffee) pit stop”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great place to relax with a 'Kopi Botol' which is chilled coffee in a green beer bottle. Plenty of seating inside as well as outside on picnic benches. The location of the shop is in a place known as Australia Place which is within walking distance of Gaya Street, restaurants and shopping. In the shop there are loads of clippings and photos depicting the history of the area (the Australian contingent set up camp in the area at the end of WWII). Did not try the food but there is an impressive menu with local and international delights to tickle a myriad of palates. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ares1370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bottled coffee is a must-try”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Had a few meetings in this place,there is a good choice of food with reasonably prices,some beer and drinks but my favourite drink is a bottled coffee bottled like a beer,this is the only coffee i can drink without milk because its really sweet and tasty.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vojtech000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Creative menu”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Food are good and it does have unique concept while I was enjoying time having snacks. Local coffee is a must when you visit a kopitiam in Borneo.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Makiko_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere on a rainy afternoon”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very nice place to relax and enjoy your coffee or teh tarik. I also tried their Pandan Chicken Rice. The chicken was very tasteful; the salty side dish that tastes like ginger made it extra special. I just don't know what happened to the rice, it was served hot but it was kind of hard. I spend 12 ringgit that afternoon and it was worth it. Overall, I was satisfied and yes, I will definitely come back to this place if ever I return to KK in the future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dlou82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borneo 1945 Museum Kopitiam also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing