We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of my mum's favourite restaurant for Lamb Shank”
Review of Kudos - CLOSED

Kudos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Kudos first opened its doors on 24th March 2014 in the main Central Business District of Kota Kinabalu at the iconic Jesselton Hotel where the casual dining restaurant has an airy, modern yet classic feel to it. Within our newly launched a la carte menu we proudly serve a selection of modern British food which incorporates French, Italian, Mediterranean and other European dishes complimented with ever-changing weekly specials. The wine list is cosmopolitan and has a modest selection of wines by the glass from a light Sauvignon Blanc to a robust Cabernet Sauvignon or Shiraz to satisfy the most discerning wine enthusiast. Our European Executive Chef and culinary team are committed to using, where possible, local sourced organic produce, premium meats and sustainable seafood. It is the perfect venue for a relaxing breakfast, a business lunch, a romantic candlelight dinner or a meeting place with family and friends. Reservations are recommended.
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“one of my mum's favourite restaurant for Lamb Shank”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Even though it was quite pricey but it was worth it and the service was excellent. The ambience was great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MakanMakan778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    78
    23
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paderborn, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A WARM AND FRIENDLY VISIT”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a warm friendly visit to the top rated restaurant in KK, We met with the owner who was proud of the place and so he should be. Kudos ticks all the boxes for us, great food with bags of flavour, accompanied by a good bottle of wine.

The service is very good as it only seats around 55 and it's well priced. My wife and I rate this place, we consider it a top end bistro. We strongly recommend attending, City Mall is not on the main hotels shuttle drop of routes for a reason as they know Kudos is No1 lol. Make that extra effort, its about 50MR return from most hotels in KK.

Dean and Gillian.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never Disappointing!! Still Gives Excellent Quality at a Great Price!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

As a regular customer of Kudos Bistro since 2011, I am thrilled to say that, after a year and a half of operating, whatever we order, we consistently get excellent quality food cooked to perfection - be it steaks, fish, soups or desserts!! This shows a great respect for food on the Chef's part, that quality is maintained. Nothing is worse than having a great meal the one time and absolute rubbish the next - I am sure many of us have had that experience!

We used to frequent 5-Star restaurants in Kota Kinabalu, in search for a GREAT steak, and at the prices charged, usually came out disappointed as to the quality of the meat or being served over-cooked steaks (worst sin ever!!). However, Kudos NEVER disappoints!! My family's favourites are the tenderloin - always perfectly cooked (Medium/Rare), Norwegian Salmon or Seabass, lasagne and the desserts are to die for! The Pizzas are also always a hit with the kids.

We will continue to frequent Kudos Bistro!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Elchonggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“At last some really wonderful Western Food!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Over the last three weeks my family and I have been visiting family in Thailand and then we went onto Malaysia for our annual holiday. This is where we were fortunate enough to come across Kudos - it was recommended by the Shangri-la hotel concierge who even arranged the reservation and taxi that evening.
The restaurant is about 20 minutes from the hotel and is located in a large shopping complex named Citymall.
Upon arrival we were greeted by the smiling waitress and then seated on the sofas which were very comfortable indeed. Then shortly afterwards we were given the a la carte menu and an introduction into the weekly specials - a total of about 10 to 12 dishes from memory, I was really spoilt for choice.
We asked for the popular dishes and then ordered the Homemade Pate, French Onion Soup, Mushroom Ravioli with Scallops and some Bruschetta for starters and then Salmon Pumpkin, Ribeye, Marcos Pizza and Spaghetti Gamberi for main course. Well, the food was cooked and presented to perfection especially my medium rare steak - delicious! We all really enjoyed our dinner. Thank you so much Kudos.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thefoodfanatic2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still the Best restaurant in Kota Kinabalu”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Flying visit, but fortunately managed to pop into Kudos for dinner. Busy for a weekday, but we managed to get a table.I wanted to try something new and the helpful waitress who remembered my menu choices from months ago (!) recommended the Pear Salad with feta cheese, walnuts and cranberries, followed by the Organic Seabass and finally the wicked Chocolate whiskey pot. Clean, fresh, lovely flavours from the salad and seabass. No messy mayonaise or heavy sauces to hide the taste of the natural ingredients perfectly prepared. As for the dessert which was really like a pot au chocolate, it was sublime.... Well done again Kudos. Thank you!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Coco85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kudos also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing