We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood with very reasonable price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welcome Seafood Restaurant

Welcome Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 555 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great seafood with very reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

better go there at around 7pm, as many seafood will be sold out after 8pm.
food is good (and many choices), price is very very reasonable !!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JackSkellingtonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    344
    149
    36
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Restaurant without a menu!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I came here on the basis of the good reviews here and I was very disappointed. The building where the restaurant is seems to call itself Star City. I went to Double Sky the previous evening and had a far better meal there. As pointed out by another reviewer there is an air conditioned area for those who want to avoid the heat or cigarette smoke. The seafood selection was very small and maybe because I did not find the larger seafood selection area. I wanted to order some non-seafood dishes and requested a menu, the waitress seemed somewhat perplexed and surprised, and after she consulted another waitress, she told me they do not have a menu!!
Although the seafood was fresh, they tasted somewhat bland. Food arrived very quickly but unfortunately all four dished arrived at the same time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fatfeimao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I came to this Welcome Seafood Restaurant 大茄來海鮮餐廳 at Aisa City. The Seafood is fresh with varieties. In regards to the pricing, I am not sure as our host foot the bill. However, I have visited another of her other outlet at Penampang and notice that the seafood is cheap. Both restaurant cook good food. Service are average and no complain. For those sweet tooth, you must have their coconut pudding to round off the dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gohaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great selection of fresh seafood in a place frequented by locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Kota Kinabalu is renowned for its seafood and the number of restaurants in the city abound. It's important to select the places where locals go to as the amount of MSG and prices are lower. I was introduced to Welcome by the hotel assistant manager as it was within walking distance of our hotel. First thing to note - there are three selection stations for seafood. Certainly go to the largest one although you are free to select from more than one station. Secondly - you have a choice of air-con or non air-con. The choice is yours.

Things to try: Mantis Shrimp - like a giant shrimp with a mantis like head. Geoduck clams - a miniature version of the ones produced on the west coast of the USA but nice and tender. Live Soft shell crabs - fried with salted egg yolk. Similar to lobster.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gnyrret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cheap ~”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Been ask to try out this restaurant from some friends...overall you have to go early if not u will havet o wait...overall seafood was good and cheap but dont ask for their sotong coz is hard to chew on.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aliencess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welcome Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Welcome Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing