We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Seafood Restaurant”

Gayang Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 572 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Average Seafood Restaurant”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I agree with some reviews stating that this is just another ordinary Seafood Restaurant. A bit expensive but still cheaper if you compared to another similar Restaurant outside Sabah. Quality of food acceptable, but service a bit slow as the workers are just too busy or make themselves busy, pretending not to see you when you are actually trying to get their attention. I came here solely because of the food. I give this Restaurant - 3 1/2 Star out of 5 mainly because of the food. Their competitor, Salut Seafood Restaurant is not far from this place. Come here if you love seafood but be patient especially with their workers, sometimes they are just too annoying.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thecuriostraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    103
    47
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The ambient is not so good for entertaining friends or clients. The shortage of staff causes ordering and deliveries of food a big hassle. Quality of Food is just average

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny Chuah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cheap and nice seafoood”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had dinner at this restaurant. There was a large crowd in the restaurant. The service was fast, the food taste delicious and the price was really reasonable. A plate of buttered prawn for 4 people only cost RM20. We had 7 dishes with rice and drinks amounted to RM160, that we considered very cheap compared to the restaurant in KL.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Horrible Food, Exorbitant Prices”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The food was horrible and took more than 40 mins to be served and the miserable fish (sea grouper) costs RM 105 for 700grammes? Very poor service and many large flies in the restaurant. Better go to Port View KK for a more satisfying culinary experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
2 reviews
“The most bad seafood restaurant i ever went”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Went here on 4/1/14....no menu in the restaurant...the staff started scolding me n my wife when we ask for the menu...keep pushing us to choose the food as we still wondering what to choose...a lot of people eating here so we sat all the way at the back..once seated...there's a peanut on the table that we thought is free but turn to be not...we wait for the food for at least 1 hour and the waiter gave us the wrong food...we were very angry that time..when our food finally arrive, we didn't expect the food was that lousy...my grandmother can cook better than this...i know that night there's a lot of people but the quality of food need to be preserved....finally when we want to pay...we need to wait at least 30 minute to get the resit...i'm not the only angry customer that time...i will not b coming to this restaurant again...

Helpful?
Thank altravelogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gayang Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Gayang Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing