We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleeping quality is a nightmare...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
KK Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #57 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Klang Bah Kut Teh
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Sleeping quality is a nightmare...”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Location of the hotel is great... Everything was within walking distance and Starbucks Coffee right opposite of the hotel which is our place to hang out during night time... Stayed 2 nights in this hotel but the sleeping quality is just terrible... Check in on my first night and was told that all the rooms are fully booked and we're given the keys to the room at ground floor and my 2 other friends at upper floor... Actually, we had enquire for a room with window but due to our late check in around 8pm, no choice even after we argued with the staff there... It's ok, we're promised a room at upper floor for the second night so just take the only room at the ground floor... Bad mistake!!! First, no hot water for shower... Wife keep on nagging as the water is too cold so no choice again, complain to the staff and it took a while before the maintenance staff go and check on their machine... Of course you will need to stand at the counter in order to make sure the staff do their job before my wife nags me again... 20 minutes waiting, the hot shower is working and the staff told me that I will need to turn on the tap for 10 minutes because the hot water need time to flows from the top of the building.... What!!??! 10 minutes of water just washed away to the hole because need time to wait for the hot shower... Second, no sound proof at the ground floor because I can hear the staff talking so loud at the counter among each other... Not to mention door banging because the housekeeping room is located just beside our room... Second night was much better as we got the room at second floor and everything works very well until we hear staff singing songs while doing housekeeping at the opposite room... *speechless*... If you're renting a car, be prepare to pay for parking fees from 0800-2200hrs on weekdays and until 2300hrs on weekends... First 3 hours RM5, subsequent hours RM2/hour...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank calvin_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
8
11
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The family and I ( 2 adults, 3 kids) just spent 2 nights at the KK Waterfront.
The staff was okay. As it is a new hotel, they're obviously still working on some of the finer points of running a hotel.
The state of the place however definitely needs improvement. There were loose wires dangling from ceilings in the corridors, dirty linens and towels just heaped on the floor next to the lifts, and our rooms walls were covered in what looked like plaster residue. It certainly wasn't finished to a reasonable standard. It seems with a small amount of work, they could really elevate the place. Shame.
I've stayed in (far) worse and much better, hence, the average grade.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dpparenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

those of u wanting to come to KK, can totally forget about staying in KK Waterfront hotel! We checked in 3 nights ago, hubby booked the room from booking.com, upon check-in we asked the front desk staff if we can get the promo price of RM100 per night instead of paying RM158 (we were just trying our luck!) to our surprised, the man at the counter said yes! He collected RM300 (room charges) + RM100 (deposit) from us, happy... Off we went to our room. 1st - our room has no hot water! These 3 days we have been using ice cold water to shower morning/night! 2nd - there's only 1 pillow per guest, additional pillow cost RM10 per pc per night, we ordered anyway, but the pillows only arrived on the last night of our stay! 3nd - just upon check out, a woman named Fiona at the front counter told us that we MUST pay for the booking.com rate as this is a mistake made by her colleague! I told her no, hotel management should always honor their words! Not that we can't afford to pay RM158 per night, but your staff who representing the hotel has promised us the promo price! And more the staff took our money and issued us an official receipt of the payment! Then she got agitated and called the staff on the phone in front of us, scolding the staff in loud voice for his mistake and saying loudly that we are unwilling to pay up, and that she will deduce the salary of the staff no matter what! (I am seriously pissed by this!!), then I told the other lady at the counter, if they can speed up our check out, just keep all these lecturing ur staff matter internal!!! Then this Fiona told me off said this is not a place to argue! And asked my husband to asked me to keep quiet!!!!!! I scolded her back of cos! What kind of attitude and customer is this?? She really think that there's only one hotel in KK!!! Please, u r at hotel line, service is your number one weapon to win customers... If your staff is not trained for good service, please do not put them at front counter to do nothing but insulting customers!!! I would like to know if the hotel management will take this matter seriously and really look into it or not???

Room Tip: If you are someone who need more pillow to sleep, make sure you get it upon check in, otherwise they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ti_Cheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

For 100 ringgit / night I was fully willing to look past the place's imperfections that some other reviewers have noted. I found this hotel when I walked out of the full Meridien and part of the reason I liked it was that it was a pleasant surprise; inexpensive, clean and right on the waterfront, and directly across from a major coffee chain. They don't serve food at the hotel by the way, but it is a 3 minute walk from the wet market and a bunch of restaurants. Also, I believe all rooms are two twin beds, but if you're just passing through or on a short trip, this is a good find.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACD_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

A new hotel which is barely 2 months old. Location is great. Located just beside warisan square and opposite waterfront. Waking distance to central market.

We had a deluxe room which is very spacious and the room is very clean. The rooms look exactly like the pictures on the website. Staffs are friendly though not very fluent in English. Took awhile to register new guests.

Nothing to complain for the price we paid which is 100rm. However believe that's the promotional price. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bass141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2012

A pity,the hotel opened at a good location tried to make it nice but missed the final cleaning painting marks everywhere, walls dirty from last workers fingerprints - why ???
Enough staff is there sometimes sleeping at the reception -- but room cleaning need a reminder at 5 pm, disappointing but not hopeless... Rooms shall look expensive but details missed out no lamp over the low hanging small mirrow ... The architect was not often traveling and not a woman :) the price for the promotion is ok but the wished normal price is too high.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fish99ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
4.9 mi away
Celyn City Hotel
Celyn City Hotel
#51 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
#37 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hii-5 Hotel
Hii-5 Hotel
#69 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
4.9 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
4.6 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#31 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KK Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KK Waterfront Hotel

Property: KK Waterfront Hotel
Address: Jalan Puri Warisan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — KK Waterfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your KK Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KK Waterfront Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing