We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Trip”
Review of Stay Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stay Inn Hotel
Ranked #54 of 79 Kota Kinabalu B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Time Trip”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

It was almost around 1am when I got in the hotel luckily I was able to book my stay ahead of time thru agoda. I didn't have any problem about late check-in. The room I got was double deluxe and as far as my 5-days stay, everything is in place and almost clean (my coins fell off and rolled under the bed and that's where I get to see what's under.. it seems like it's never been cleaned). I also have a huge issue with the hot/cold shower since it was really hard trying to set it to the temp I'd wanted to but other than that, everything is good. The hotel is just few walks away at the mall and convenient stores and the receptionist are very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
4
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Serian, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

not suitable for families with young children.
Walk up steep stairs. To reach floor...3 flights of steps!! No help from service staff.
Family room on 3rdfloor.! Just imagine kids lugging luggage up n down.
Aircond leaking badly n bathroom clogged!
Extra blanket /towel/ pillow all extra charges....
Tv sucks! Blurr.

Wish i could get a refund from Agoda! Lousiest budget hotel I ve been in.

Room Tip: None. Suitable for fit young peeps who can get fitter going up n down d stairs. Very narrow family r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuti2malaysia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paris, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

First I asked to see a single room.TV wasnt working and very small room no windows.Back to the lobby they said they will transfer me to another room.Checked in in the second room TV is working room is bigger and have windows but no tug no soap dirty bathroom and no hot water.
I asked them to fix the water heater.They tried but they couldnt.They said they will do it the next day.
Went out for dinner.Was raining a lot.Came back.Water was dripping from the floor right on my bed.Went to the lobby they didnt even look surprised and transfered me to a room on the floor below.TV was working water heater too but it was noisy and the aircon wasnt working well.
I wonder if they ever check their rooms and there is one room where everything is working well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryanmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Not comfortable to stay here. Room/corridor dirty, bathroom smelly. Wifi connection only work at lobby. Some room condition does not own bathroom, we have use public bathroom outside corridor. Better don't stay here. As peak session, it's not cheap at all.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Man C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

7cm foam mattresses, mouldy pillows, no carpet (painted concrete) on floors. Somehow missed the reviews and booked online, and our room wasn't ready. We dropped our stuff off and came back to cigarette holes and mysterious stains on our sheets. Such a dodgy establishment.

Told the proprietor we did not want to stay and he said he would charge our credit card anyway.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mds55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Look at those picture and you will agree why I say this is terrible!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank weiqiao77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hii-5 Hotel
Hii-5 Hotel
#69 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
High Street Inn
High Street Inn
#60 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel & Hostel
Victoria Hotel & Hostel
#6 of 79 in Kota Kinabalu
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jesselton Cabin
Jesselton Cabin
#22 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Legent
Hotel Legent
#56 of 79 in Kota Kinabalu
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Viva Hotel
La Viva Hotel
#48 of 79 in Kota Kinabalu
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Inn Hotel

Property: Stay Inn Hotel
Address: Lot 19 Block C, SEDCO Complex, Kota Kinabalu 88300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stay Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Stay Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Inn Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing