We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Clean and Chic (3Cs)”
Review of Hotel Sixty3

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sixty3
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Convenient, Clean and Chic (3Cs)”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

The title is self-explanatory.

Although this hotel has minimal and basic facilities, I have already known that before before I booked because it is not a resort. It is not only clean but is has a strong rain shower that gives you a quick and refreshing bath and that was what I was looking for.

Highly recommended for visitors who is particular about immaculate cleanliness, likes spending time in town dining and shopping, or out on short trips.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dreamon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    268
    45
    10
    4
See reviews for
196
215
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and was very satisfied.
Room was spacious & clean.
Check-in & check-out were a brisk.
Friendly staff.
Perfect location (Jalan Gaya/Gaya Street area) & close to malls, banks, restaurants/eateries & access to public transportation (taxis & city buses).
Basically nothing major to complain about.
Definitely a value for money choice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_SimplyME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Sixty3 for 3 nights and the rooms were were big and clean, the location is great and the staff was very friendly. But there are 2 things that set this hotel back.

1) the check in process is slow. My partner and I got there early and returned 2 hrs after the time they told us to come back and our room was still not ready and we had to wait another 1 hr.
2) The concierge offered to call us a taxi to rasa ria (we later found out the govt rate that all taxis charge is 90rm to that location) but the concierge told us its 100rm. It may only be 10rm extra, but the hotel should not be charging a surplus.

So in conclusion, yes I think this is a good hotel, but don't arrive early and do not ask them to call you a taxi. Just walk out the door and cross the road and there's a line of taxis waiting which you don't have to pay a surcharge for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andeeeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Location of the hotel is in the center of the town where with just a short walk, you can reach shopping mall. Gaya street is also just next to the hotel, thus you can have a walk on Sunday morning. The hotel room is clean, big and comfortable. The stay really worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaTeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
台灣台北市
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Staffs are friendly and internet is available. Good location, near Suria Sabah shopping mall and local famous restaurants within a 5-min walk. Bath towel seems not very clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hTCM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

The rooms and bathrooms are modern, hotel is well situated. One of the better hotels in this price range. Cafés and shops near by. Would recommend if going to KK. Staff are friendly and internet is available

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Re B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriottsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here for three nights and was really satisfied with the location, staff and facilities.

Check in was quick and painless. The room was really large compared to the rooms of more modern hotels. The bathroom was just was spacious. The beds were a little too firm for my taste, but everything else in the room functioned well. The wifi provided by the hotel was not speedy, but was always on and available.

I love the location of this hotel. Step outside to the right and you have a multitude of great dining options. Just outside the hotel lobby is a nice bakery offering really great baked goods at a decent price. The Jesselton Marina is walking distance if you want to take an island trip to Sapi, Manukan or Mamuntik islands. Also within walking distance are fairly large shopping malls from the high end to moderate prices.

I would give this hotel 5 stars only if the bathroom was maintained a little better. There was some mold and mildew on the base of the shower door which shows lack of proper daily maintenance on the shower.

Overall, a nice hotel in an unbeatable location in Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balti_less
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,391 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,035 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sixty3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sixty3

Property: Hotel Sixty3
Address: 63 Jalan Gaya | 0 KM, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sixty3 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sixty3 is a truly centrally located hotel in Kota Kinabalu city.It sits on the quaint, bustling, yet charming street of Jalan Gaya (formerly known as Bond Street during colonial times), with the State’s tourist information office right opposite the hotel. The street is flourishing with a myriad of restaurants, bistros and cafes, burgeoning with everything from lifestyle malls (Suria Sabah Mall, Wisma Merdeka) to local side-stalls, and being the city’s business high street, it is surrounded by financial institutions. Also famous for its colourful and vibrant Sunday market, it is evident that Jalan Gaya captures perfectly the essence of life in Kota Kinabalu and at Hotel Sixty3; all of this are just pulses away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sixty3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sixty3 Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing