We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”
Review of Hotel Sixty3

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sixty3
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have stayed in Hotel Sixty3 during April 2013 for 2 nights; this is my first time to stay in this hotel. There are 24 hours convenience store, bakery shop and restaurant under the hotel; Sabah Tourism Promotion Center is facing it.

Rates quoted are exclusive of breakfast, but there is no problem at all. Famous “Kedai Kopi Fook Yuen” is just opposite to the hotel, and “Old Town White Coffee” is next to it, there are various choices for the breakfast.

Hotel Sixty3 is located at Jalan Gaya, the location is great, there are a lot of good restaurants near by the hotels, and they offer delicious food in reasonable price. Supermarket (next to Horizon Hotel) and Wisma Merdeka (opposite to Little Italy) is only few minutes’ walk from the hotel; I have got money exchanged in that shopping centre. Well-known tourist spots are within walking distance, e.g. it takes about 15 minutes’ walk to Center Point.

The staffs are very friendly and helpful. There is complimentary in-room WIFI, but the received signal in the room is very slow and weak. However, there is no problem in the hotel lobby, the signal is very strong, and so I used the WIFI service in the lobby during my stay.

If I must say something I dislike, then it is the air-conditioning; it was so “windy”, no matter how I adjusted, it just kept blowing to my head while I was on the bed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BunnyPig1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 729 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights with my son (aged 22). The hotel is located within walking distance of the waterfront, in the central city area. The room we were in was large, very comfortable and well appointed with a big, beautifully finished bathroom. The hotel has wi-fi, but we found that on the fifth floor the wi-fi access wasn't terrific. What was terrific were the beds, two queen size examples in our room that were wonderfully comfortable. The hotel had no restaurant, which wasn't as much of a problem as it might otherwise have been since there are hundreds of sensational places to eat within five minutes walk. I would have no problem at all staying here again

Room Tip: Our room on the Jalan Gaya side overlooked the old Sabah Tourism Board building and Lookout Hill, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestAussie_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location with excellent rooms. Clean, new and comfortable. Everything about this hotel is just perfect. Just the breakfast was a bit disappointed as you need to walk across the street for the breakfast. Other than that, everything is just perfect. The family room is huge enough to accommodate 4 person. No reason for me to say no to this hotel. I will stay again for my next visit to KK..

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beanicholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAmbrose, General Manager at Hotel Sixty3, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Luxbear,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Sixty3 for your recent stay!

We appreciate your comment on the hotel features especially the atrium lobby and
we're delighted to know that the convenience in location had served you a
comfortable stay.

We truly appreciate the time spent on writing us a review and we look forward to the pleasure
of serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Room is big and clean. Location in Gaya Street is perfect as its close to the port to islands which is 5 mins walking distance and close to the bus stop to KK National Park which is 10 mins walking distance. Besides, u could see lot of restaurant in Gaya Street or u could go to the food court at Suria Sabah. There are many of choice and the sea view is just perfect. Overall, value added than my expectation. Will stay there for my next trip to KK again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 0630LimJoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

It offers free breakfasts for two if you booked earlier. We stayed at Family deluxe room. The room was spacious. Our check in was almost immediate. It has the wifi in each room but the signal is weak and can't access to internet most of the time. however, the room was very clean. Add a bonus, our room was smoke-free. we had a very comfortable stay during our trip to sabah. the location of the hotel is strategic-at Gaya Street, walking distance to some of the shopping malls like Suria Sabah. besides, you can also find a lot of cafes and restaurants along the Gaya street. Cons - If you are self-drive, you hardly find a parking space nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAmbrose, General Manager at Hotel Sixty3, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Briyde,

Thank you for choosing us for your trip in KK recently and for taking
time to write a review.

We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful trip in Sabah and enjoyed
your stay at Sixty3. Our sincere apologies in the fault of the complimentary WIFI.
We are currently in the midst of upgrading this facility to serve our guests better.
A new and improved WIFI service should be ready in a month time. Parking lots are not provided by the hotel but we recommend driving guest to park at the nearby Wisma Jubilee,
right across the hotel.

We look forward to welcome you and family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights . Hotel sixty3 located at Gaya Street which full of delicious food. It's just located at Sunday Market, it's just minute walk to the shopping mall and the restaurants such as Old Town and Little Italy, and also 15 min walk to the public pier. And walkable distance to all sights.
The room is big and clean, the staff is kind and helpful.
The only weakness was the Wifi not strong enough in room.

Room Tip: Deluxe Family room is extra comfortable with bargaining price Which can accomodate 2-4 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinterWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

An excellent location for all travellers. Very good value with clean spacious roooms. We stayed for seven nights spread over a fortnight leaving our luggage while we travelled elsewhere. The staff could not have been more helpful and courteous in providing a service equal to any 5 star hotel..Would highly recommend

Room Tip: Any room at the front overlooking the Information Office and viewpoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ajh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAmbrose, General Manager at Hotel Sixty3, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hello ajh30,

Thank you for taking time to review us! We are very pleased that you've had a wonderful stay and have enjoyed Kota Kinabalu. Your positive comments will keep us striving to be better. We hope to have the chance to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sixty3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sixty3

Address: 63 Jalan Gaya | 0 Km, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $56 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sixty3 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sixty3 is a truly centrally located hotel in Kota Kinabalu city.It sits on the quaint, bustling, yet charming street of Jalan Gaya (formerly known as Bond Street during colonial times), with the State’s tourist information office right opposite the hotel. The street is flourishing with a myriad of restaurants, bistros and cafes, burgeoning with everything from lifestyle malls (Suria Sabah Mall, Wisma Merdeka) to local side-stalls, and being the city’s business high street, it is surrounded by financial institutions. Also famous for its colourful and vibrant Sunday market, it is evident that Jalan Gaya captures perfectly the essence of life in Kota Kinabalu and at Hotel Sixty3; all of this are just pulses away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sixty3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sixty3 Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing