We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room”
Review of Hotel Sixty3

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sixty3
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent room”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after our climb at Mt Kinabalu.
We were surprised by the spacious room it offered.
Wifi in the room is not accessible due to technical fault, but its accessible in the lobby.
Staffs was very helpful.
Location is central and easily accessible.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor (5th level) as the rooftop is transparent in the lobby so you can actually feel the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ah_Ting80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    269
    45
    10
    4
See reviews for
196
215
40
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Hotel Sixty3 is situated at 0KM of KK town. It has a very cozy street and this stretch of street shielded the hotel from the bustling of busy traffic. Very convenient as you may find many restaurants, bakery and convenient shop down stairs.
Suria KK is only 2 blocks away plus there are many banks in the surrounding area.
5 minutes walk to Jesselton Point.
Staff are friendly and customers feel very welcome here.
We had change of rooms during our 3 days stay as we wanted a cheaper room for the next 2 nights. Hotel staff were very helpful to put our bags in our new rooms when the room is ready while we go visit Lok Kawi Wildlife Park.
The rooms are very clean and have basic necessities for guests such as umbrellas and grocery bags.
The bathroom is big and floor is not slippery as oppose to some hotels.
It was a fun and comfortable stay.
Dealing with the hotel is very convenient. The atmosphere of the hotel makes us feel like we are in a peaceful place far away from town.
I would say the hotel portrays peace in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxdelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had originally planned to stay in Kota Kinabalu for one night and chose Hotel Sixty3 because it was a centrally located mid-range hotel that was easy to book online. Our plans changed and we ended up staying three nights in KK and we liked Hotel Sixty3 enough to extend our stay.

After an easy check-in, we discovered we had been upgraded to an Executive Deluxe room, which was clean, spacious and in good condition. It also had the strangest bath we'd ever seen! We were surprised to note that almost everything in the room, even the ironing board, were offered for sale!

Amazing black and white historic photos of Kota Kinabalu and Borneo adorn the walls in the public areas and rooms. These were available to buy as a book, which was unfortunately too heavy to consider buying. We would have liked to have bought copies of the photos in postcard form.

The service was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful in extending our stay and arranging an evening checkout. Free newspapers were a nice touch.

The Tourist Information Office across the road from the hotel was a waste of time. Instead we used the tour desk in the hotel's reception to arrange last minute tours .

Our only complaint is that the wifi was painfully slow throughout our four day stay.

We would happily stay here again if in Kota Kinabalu for 2-3 nights, however if staying longer we might consider other options with more character and better internet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quassia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Superb Location - 1 minute walk to Suria Sabah (new shopping mall with a food court and restaurants), next to Sunday Market, surrounded by cafes, coffee shops and next to Euro Bakery (hmmm I missed the custard bun).

Superb Family Room - modern, comfortable walking space even with 2 queen size bed and a single bed, very clean, comfortable bed, coffee making facilities, complimentary mineral water, big bathroom with rain shower head.

Superb Service - fast check-in and check-out, eager to provide directions, fast provision of extra bed though last minute request, free newspaper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAmbrose, General Manager at Hotel Sixty3, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear SingaporeFamily, Thank you! Terima Kasih! Kopivosian!

We are glad to know that you loved your room and have enjoyed everything about your stay. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

**I rate this hotel 4.5 stars**

I have visited Kota Kinabalu countless times and have stayed in the same pool of hotels: the Promenade Hotel, Le Meridien, Hyatt, Nexus Resort Karambunai and Jesselton Hotel. When Hotel Sixty3 entered the picture, I was very eager to try it out.

I stayed 2 nights at Hotel Sixty3 in a Family Deluxe room. The hotel is centrally located on the main street of Kota Kinabalu - Jalan Gaya - which is laden with both Western and Malaysian-style restaurants, cafés and banks. Adjacent to the hotel is a bakery, which is next to a 24-hour convenience store. Suria Sabah and Wisma Sabah (both shopping centres) are a 3 minute walk away with the local markets (Pasar Besar) about a 10-15 minute walk. The airport is an approximate 15-20 minute drive (which cost MYR30).

Honestly, upon entering the hotel, I was a bit disappointed by the lobby because it was small. Having said that, however, as soon as I took the lift to the levels above, I was impressed by the open layout and nice décor of the hotel corridors, which gave a sense of space and grandeur. The open layout meant that there were "views" of the 1st floor, which had comfortable and large lounge and waiting area.

My room was very spacious, clean, nicely appointed and looked down at the Sabah Tourism Building. There were 2 double beds, which were very comfortable. The bathroom was modern and the shower was large - the rain shower was a nice touch. Complimentary bottles of water and toiletries were provided daily. However, the room was slightly dim (as I find with rooms of most hotels) and the wifi Internet - although free - was extremely slow. It barely functioned on my phone and was virtually useless on my laptop. Instead, I used the fast Internet on the 2 Macs at the lobby.

The staff at the hotel were attentive and friendly. They were very accommodating to my needs - e.g. allowing me to pay for the room at check-out rather than their preferred payment time (i.e. at check-in). Also, on 2 separate occasions, within 3 minutes of my request for extra towels etc. by telephone from my room, staff were at my door with the towels - I was most impressed by this prompt service.

All in all, the hotel is excellent and of very good value. I would certainly consider staying at this hotel again the next time I return to Kota Kinabalu (which will be soon).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EugeneChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

In total we stayed up to 5 days in the hotel and had a very positive experience.. Its a modern, clean, and well located hotel. Close to big shopping malls & a stone throw from some great restaurants..

I was a bit disappointed by the speed of the internet, as at peak times it took 10mins to load one page

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OllioSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for two nights in February. The room was spacious, with a good size shower in the bathroom and lots of light. We looked over the road, but did not notice any problems with traffic noise. Be aware, they are doing work on the 6th floor, so there was some building noise during the day. This didn’t really affect us as we were out most of the time. The staff were very helpful - they held our bags for a couple of nights in between our stays. We only had a couple of issues. The first was that the cleaning wasn’t great in the bathroom. The second was that the wifi was temperamental. The third was when we were leaving - we booked a taxi through the hotel and were told it would be one price, but the taxi driver charged us a different price. Best to confirm with the driver before you set off. Overall very good value for money in a good location.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PinkySwear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,395 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,041 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sixty3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sixty3

Property: Hotel Sixty3
Address: 63 Jalan Gaya | 0 KM, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sixty3 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sixty3 is a truly centrally located hotel in Kota Kinabalu city.It sits on the quaint, bustling, yet charming street of Jalan Gaya (formerly known as Bond Street during colonial times), with the State’s tourist information office right opposite the hotel. The street is flourishing with a myriad of restaurants, bistros and cafes, burgeoning with everything from lifestyle malls (Suria Sabah Mall, Wisma Merdeka) to local side-stalls, and being the city’s business high street, it is surrounded by financial institutions. Also famous for its colourful and vibrant Sunday market, it is evident that Jalan Gaya captures perfectly the essence of life in Kota Kinabalu and at Hotel Sixty3; all of this are just pulses away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sixty3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sixty3 Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing