We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfection.”
Review of Hotel Sixty3

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sixty3
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Almost Perfection.”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Located in the middle of Kota Kinabalu (KK), opposite Sabah Tourism Board. Within 30 minutes drive from KK International Airport, by taxi cost RM30.00. This hotel has no car parks for guests where have to park at limited council car parks along the streets in front and at the back of the hotel. Apart from taxi, did not see any public transport around this hotel.

The entrance / lobby gives you a bright welcome. Simple decorations but intriguing with photographs of the old KK. In fact, if you walk along all corridors of the 5 levels of this hotel, there are photographs of old KK hanging on the walls along the corridors and I did spend sometime looking at them.

Clean and spacious are two words that came to my mind when I saw my room on the 5th. floor. Mind you, this is a non smoking hotel. We stayed in a family room (with 2 king size beds) as my son tagged along for this trip. I like the toilet as it is spacious and has rain shower. The beds (mattresses) are the soft type and the pillows too, not my liking but no complain at all. Plenty of pilliows (about 4 on the bed with one extra in the closet). There is a safe, size of a laptop. It is good as you can keep your laptop or ipad in it. Wifi is a bit weak on the 5th. floor but what the use of it when on holidays. The TV in the room is of those smart TV (with paid movies and games), however the one in my room cannot receive local or satellite TV. Upon checking, did call for maintenance (came within 2 minutes) but not able to solve the problem. No much complaint as not going to sit in to watch TV. Neither have swimming pool nor a gym in this hotel. Bottled drinking water in the room are complimentary and there is a built in travelling electric socket, how thoughtful of them.

No breakfast provided. However, there is bakery / deli on the left side of this hotel. The variety of choices of breads and food are not bad.There is also convienence store adjacent to this bakery. The Suria Sabah (a shopping center) and Jesselton Point (where you can take boats to the islands) are within 5 and 10 mintues walk away (turn left and walk that direction) and there are plenty of restaurants and banks situated around this hotel. On Sundays morning, there is a tamu (open market) at Jalan Gaya, about 1 minute walk (turn right and walk that direction) from this hotel.

Not situated at KK waterfront (back of this hotel), hence can't see the sunrise and sunset over KK. Anyway, it is about 5-10 minutes walk to KK Waterfront.

My only compliant is that there was a stain (about 6 inches long, dark brown) on the white bedsheet. Hope the housekeeping staffs would be more attentive.

Absolutely, I wll be back here.

Room Tip: Request for higher floor as there are times the frontage road (Gaya Road) can be pretty busy with ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clchin96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Sabrina A, Manager at Hotel Sixty3, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear clchin96,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. We're glad that you appreciate and enjoyed the photographs plus all the other details mentioned in your review. We regret the stain found on your linen and will take greater care and attention into these aspects. We hope you've had a wonderful time in KK and welcome you to stay with us again on the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    271
    46
    11
    4
See reviews for
200
217
41
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

It was a reasonable sized room. We had 2 rooms, one a family room. When we entered the room, we could smell stale smoke, of which I complained. They managed to de-odourise the room. There was a good size walk-in shower room. It is centrally located in the town area and is therefore within easy reach of most of the local restaurants and shops. The tourist board is located across the road. Considering the price, it is a good hotel to stay in. It would have been better if they have a pool to swim in

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0uC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations. Totally.

With its price - my cousins and I were expecting of a mid-range accommodation and location - but to our surprise - the accommodation and location were far beyond our expectations.

- hotel is centrally located - right on the Central Business District of KK - meaning, its busy in the day - in a nice way - and most importantly its very serene during night time. You can totally rest in silence. we loved the idea that we were surrounded with banks, banks and lots and lots of banks :)
- although the hotel does not offer a cafe or a restaurant service there's a nice cafe and bakery just right at the hotel's doorstep and the old town white coffee is just right across our hotel. Bella an italian restaurant is just right around the corner, among others.
- Suria Sabah Mall is just a 2 minute walk. And we love it. Super short walk to a very nice mall is love :)
- And most of all, there is a 24 hour friendly neighborhood convenience store on the same building of the hotel. WE LOVE THAT CONVENIENCE STORE!!!!

- Our hotel room was excellent. Huge, huge room! around 50sq meters. Imagine our delight when we saw our room - there were 4 of us in the room yet there's still so much space left. Lovely interior and the floor to ceiling window is a plus.
- Bathroom is also huge and spacious.
- Hotel is relatively new so the interiors are still very clean, including the carpets.
- and the TV! goodness! we were so amazed that we could do internet on the TV!
- WiFi is free - available basically on the entire hotel.
- And was always delighted that my name was always on the tv with a greeting. it makes you feel very welcome :)

The staff of the hotel were most helpful. The taxi that they call for us are equally helpful as well. I would strongly suggest that you ask the hotel staff to arrange a taxicab for you. They know who to call best.

I wish though that the foreign exchange service of the hotel be available at all times - this was the only downside of our stay.

But overall, the hotel in general was excellent. I will surely recommend this hotel (although I am not fond of recommending) as I know that this hotel will surely not let me or you down.

This may only be a 3 star business hotel but the location and accommodation is at par with a 4 star.

5 stars and 2 thumbs up for value of money.

We are truly happy with this hotel. We are truly happy with our vacation in KK!

Thank you, Hotel Sixty3 and Thank you, KK!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelissP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

I always stay at either Eden54 or LeMeridian everytime i visit KK. But since Eden54 was fully booked & i didn't want to spend so much for a room (at Meridian), i decided to try Sixty3.

Booked their standard room for 4 nights (online promo rate at RM140), which is a cozy just-nice sized room with an awfully comfy King size bed. The toilet is spacious and the rain shower is superb; consistent hot water & water pressure.
We were given a room change on the 2nd day cause our TV kept on losing signal. Changed us to a family room which was HUGE & had 2 big beds (not sure of the size though). Room & bedsheets were clean & the carpeted floor had no dirty marks or spots on them.

Location is great, Gaya Sunday market is right behind. Sabah Tourism building is right in front. Jesselton Point, Suria Sabah, the Waterfront, are all walking distance. Lots of eating parlors around; bakeries, kopitiam, Little Italy that serves tasty affordable dishes!

The hotel is a non-smoking hotel so smoking is a no-no. Rooms were always kept clean & the housekeeping staff were always so friendly, helpful & efficient. The corridors are brightly lit & the open space in the middle makes it feel 'sunny'.. They have an elevator, which was great cause we just came down from climbing Gunung Kinabalu. Definitely didn't wanna be taking them stairs..
The only downside is the parking. It's a real pain cause there's so limited parking spaces & they don't have their own.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xanaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Bharu
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

After months of planning, we decided to choose Hotel Sixty3 for our 6 days stay in KK. We were so glad that we chose this hotel. It's everything we hoped for and more. I strongly recommend the hotel to anyone going to KK. We booked the deluxe room with a king sized bed (RM170 per night) and it was lovely. I'll summarize the likes and dislikes here:
Likes - Big spacious room, big spacious bathroom with rain shower which is super cool, cosy comfortable bed, big flat screen iTV which is super cool too.. (the TV displayed welcome greeting with your name on it), nice view (we got the tourism board building n signal hill view) the hallway was brightly lit and had pictures of KK town spread out like in a gallery, you can basically know much of KK since the old days just from the pics. The location was superb because it's in the middle of town and you can walk everywhere! a big mall is just 2mins walk and on sunday, the famous Gaya street market is just outside the hotel building! The service was excellent (room was cleaned thoroughly, coffee/tea making replaced, toiletries updated, receptionists were friendly.. and cute =p ), the hotel also had luggage keeping service if you check out but still have time before your flight (which is such a relief). actually I can go on and on because I so adore this hotel. but you get the picture. It's totally worth the dime u spent.
Dislikes - actually none but maybe you would have some trouble parking your vehicle. and there's no swimming pool. they also dont serve breakfast as there was no restaurant but there were plenty of eateries nearby.
Overall, we definitely enjoyed our stay in Hotel Sixty3. If they keep up, I have no doubt it wil be the best hotel in KK. Wish them the best of luck! =)

Room Tip: try to ask for signal hill view =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AiNGEL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Conveniently located in city centre yet not noisy at all. Huge clean room with huge bed. This hotel is a great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAddictWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Lovely hotel. Spacious room. Clean. Great bed and pillows. Nice bathroom with hot water. Lovely service. Great location. We will come back again in future. The only problem is not so easy to get a car park.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the road. Not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozou-Kozou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,417 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,075 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sixty3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sixty3

Property: Hotel Sixty3
Address: 63 Jalan Gaya | 0 KM, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sixty3 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sixty3 is a truly centrally located hotel in Kota Kinabalu city.It sits on the quaint, bustling, yet charming street of Jalan Gaya (formerly known as Bond Street during colonial times), with the State’s tourist information office right opposite the hotel. The street is flourishing with a myriad of restaurants, bistros and cafes, burgeoning with everything from lifestyle malls (Suria Sabah Mall, Wisma Merdeka) to local side-stalls, and being the city’s business high street, it is surrounded by financial institutions. Also famous for its colourful and vibrant Sunday market, it is evident that Jalan Gaya captures perfectly the essence of life in Kota Kinabalu and at Hotel Sixty3; all of this are just pulses away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sixty3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sixty3 Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing