We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious food”
Review of Wishbone Art Cafe - CLOSED

Wishbone Art Cafe
Cuisines: Malaysian
Restaurant details
klang selangor
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“delicious food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was walking on the street finding my way as i was lost (first time in KK)....finally i decided to ask a guy who was chatting with his friend. He was so kind and directed me the way and before i could say thanks..he asked me "had your lunch" and i replied "no". He said "you should try Wishbone...the food is delicious and the price is reasonable". Finally i thanked him and decide to give a try. I stayed in Gaya street for a week and i have tried their Hainansene chicken rice, fried noodle with sambal, fruit rojak and banana fritters with gula melaka ice cream. The rojak and banana fritters are my favourites..i actually went to restaurant every day because i was addicted to the fruit rojak:). It is a nice place and the employees are very friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thina15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The food is delicious and reasonably priced. You can even choose your portion! They have a good concept there and though food choice is slightly limited, it's still great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KKgirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“famous chicken rice of Wishbone, cheap & tasty...”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Whenever I was in Kota Kinabalu, I would visit the Wishbone Cafe at Jesselton Hotel and ordered the signature dish Hainanese chicken rice as it was considered by many to be the best in town. Some years ago, to my disappointment, Wishbone disappeared and was replaced by Bella Italia, an Italian restaurant serving mainly pizzas and pastas. However, on request they will produce an Asian menu with 3-4 of their then popular dishes such as the chicken rice and chicken curry, but these were found to be inferior to that of Wishbone.

On a recent visit in 2011, I re-discovered Wishbone while walking along Gaya Street. It is now an open-air-coffee-shop type restaurant with simple stools and tables. This place is owned and operated by 3 people (included the chef) previously with Wishbone Jesselton. The service ranges from poor to average due to slow service and missing order. I was not disappointed, as its chicken rice was still the best in KK, its fried kway teow was very tasty with 'wok hei'. Forget about the service, forget about trying other dishes, just go for its chicken rice and fried kway teow. I re-visited in Feb 2012 and ordered the same 2 dishes and there were simply cheap and tasty...

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MacLik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west australia perth
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“PERFECTION”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I was amazed that this restaurant has not been mentioned before, especially since it is on Gaya street right in the middle of the Sunday markets. We first visited on a busy Saturday night and place our orders and sat and waited, we were about to walk out the service was that slow but when the food arrived we tucked in. It turns out that there is only one chef and that each order is cooked from scratch and boy does it taste like it. About ten years ago in Malaysia i had Chau Kuey Teow and although it is a simple noodle dish i have ordered it all over Australia and all i ever get served is a bowl of glug, not here though i was in heaven. Each ingredient in the dish was pure magic, the chicken had the smokey taste of the wok and just melted in the mouth along with the noodles that could not have been cooked better and with the freshly fried egg this was perfection. A simple meal but the best food experience i have had in a long time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank staynaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wishbone Art Cafe also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing