We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Night market for simple food lovers”

Night Market, Kota Kinabalu
Attraction details
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Night market for simple food lovers”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This place is always crowded with tourists who love to eat the local food or seafood. But the place is dirty without proper rubbish disposal, poor drainage system and smelly. The food served tasted terrible and they charged high prices to tourists.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sainfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    154
    93
    26
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“shopping”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

a lot of repetition on all the stalls but we were able to get a good few momento's to bring home, haggle of the price and of course the more you buy on 1 stall the cheaper it all becomes. it is very tight inside and extremely hot so dont plan on spending more than an hour inside.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiSmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A Vibrant Night Market”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

A great place to see all the fresh produce and a huge selection of seafood and the locals are friendly. Plenty of dining options around too if you enjoy eating like the locals do. A great way to spend a few hours

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Seafood everywhere!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

These night markets are a hive of activity. I enjoyed walking through the wet area where all the locals are selling their catch of the day. There's all sorts & the prices are great. We bought 2 lots of green prawns on separate occasions for approx $8AUD per kilo & had a cook up in our apartment, they were delicious. There's also fruit & veg to buy as well as eggs and all sorts of sweets & savouries. We also ate there one evening & had them cook some very large prawns for us, they were ok we actually had better in KL. There's also some other stalls attached to the same area where you can buy the usual souvenirs but all the stall holders pretty much had all the same. It's well worth a visit here for some food especially the cobs of corn - yummo!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
354 reviews
220 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“KK night market”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Typical local market. But with plenty of variety local food which are very cheap. We just bought fruits and some novelties since it was all crowded during our visit and finding a seat was quite difficult.

But still we enjoy cheap fruits.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shan_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Night Market, Kota Kinabalu also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Night Market, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing