We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zara's Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$274
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$110
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$385
$316
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
$105
$61
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
$47
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
$98
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sixty3(Kota Kinabalu)
$131
$79
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
$100
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Eden54(Kota Kinabalu)(Great Value!)
$36
$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
36
31
27
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
31
27
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvenient storecomfy bedshopping mallsuite roomcomplimentary breakfastrooms are spaciouslovely hotelnice staybasic amenitieskk townwalking distanceclose to the airportstrategic locationbusiness tripempoweringeaterieskota
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 110 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The family room is very large and spacious. However there is only one air cond and this results in quite warm temperature in room. Each guest room is only provided with one key so it is quite troublesome. There is a 7 eleven store open 24 hours just next door so it is very convenient. There will soon be another shopping mall just beside and will be a good location. Free parking and buffet breakfast at a restaurant next door.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wengSDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Never in my life to find a lizard in a hotel room, but this time, ive found one here! Decided to stay here cos it's near to harbour city. I was a bit disappointed when i saw the room, it's different from the pictures. I think this hotel is lack of maintenance. I dont know if they have a cafe for breakfast cos my room was not w breakfast and i didnt see any cafe or restaurant for breakfast either. Staffs are good and helpful it's just the hotel itself is not well maintained. Good thing is there are few eateries nearby on the same block and 10min drive to airport.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Cinta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaraBH, Front Office Manager at Zara's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2016

Dear Cinta T,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Zara's Boutique hotel and for your feedback concerning your stay here.

We are truly sorry to hear about your experience with our hotel. However, the hotel had since improved in various aspects!

First, we have upgraded our maintenance with more staffs and technicians on call. The current housekeeping staffs are also well trained and are dedicated to provide better, more innovative services. Besides, each rooms are now provided with 2 breakfast coupons upon checking in which they can enjoy at the cafe next door from 7am to 10am.

Any further inquiries, please do not hesitate to email us at zarasboutiquehotel@yahoo.com.my

Kind regards,
Nurashikin Y

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel. Clean and nice. Loads of parking area available. Some eateries as well. But a distance from Central KK. Not near shopping malls. But you can drive there easily. The hotel has good number of woman to ensure your stay is pleasant. Good professional staff.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank lauknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is a very nice and pleasant boutique hotel just a little away from the main town of Kota Kinabalu. It is located at the corner of 2 blocks of shop lots called Harbor City so it is close to amenities like restaurants and a 7-11.

Their front desk staff were very helpful and considerate. My wife and I took a very early flight to KK and arrived at the hotel at 9am. Despite the fact that their normal check-in time is 2pm they allowed us to check-in early when they saw that my wife was quite tired.

Room was clean and a good size and everything was in good working condition. The bathroom was a bit bare though but still very acceptable.

Breakfast was provided but they underestimated the morning crowd and the servings were empty. They had to scramble to get us our breakfast. Nothing spectacular just simple fried noodles, eggs, bread, sausages, etc.

Breakfast aside I definitely will go stay again as it is a nice and pleasant hotel with good service.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the back of the hotel. The front faces the main road so can be quite noisy in the mornings.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ng_reggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I booked a mountain view room. The air-conditioning was adequate and the room was clean. The bathroom was enormous with a tiny shower stall. The bathroom sink water went straight onto the floor - reception sent someone to fix it the next day. It still leaked but not as bad and the plug didn’t work. Room lamp looked nice but also didn’t work.

The in-room safe box is not large enough to fit a laptop, but fine to fit an e-reader and anything smaller.

This hotel is a MYR 15 taxi ride from the city centre. Walking isn’t an option. And you will want to go to the city centre because there’s nothing at Harbour City apart from a 7/11 and a handful of restaurants with very little variety.

The hotel buffet breakfast was held at a restaurant right next door called D’Patio. There was white bread and four hot food trays that had gone cold. Processed sausage, scrambled egg, a noodle dish and a rice noodle dish. It was all cold and congealed and you would be better off catching a cab to the centre and eating from one of the market stalls. Honestly, don’t bother with the breakfast.

I was very happy with the staff in the hotel, they were pleased to help and tried to fix the room and internet problems. But a worker is only as good as his tools and the hotel is under need of some serious maintenance and TLC to match what they advertise. The breakfast could be much better with little effort. I won’t stay here again, there are more fairly priced hotels in the city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room - the roadside rooms are very noisy.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews