We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but a bit shabby.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zara's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were meant to stay here for several days but we left early due to a power blackout. The hotel, despite claiming it was quite new, was not built vey well and the bathroom sink leaked everywhere and the whole place looked rather shabby. During the power blackout we tried the emergency stairs only to find the door was locked at the bottom. Very unsafe! The breakfast was cold and greasy unfortunately. We decided to find another hotel and luckily they gave us a refund.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrijiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaraBH, Manager at Zara's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are somewhat surprised to see the unflattering review from this particular person after our kind gesture of giving a full refund for charitable purposes.

Regarding her comment about the hotel being unsafe, it is completely erroneous as Belinda guided the group to the incorrect door despite the clearly mark signs in the hotel and was explained to her by the hotel staff thereafter. The power outage was citywide and quite common for Kota Kinabalu. In this regard, the hotel is fully equipped with a backup generator set which powers the entire hotel. During this time the generator was in the midst of powering up while Belinda was proceeding to an incorrect door. Therefore, there is very little reason for the group to look for another hotel.

As it relates to breakfast, we provided a scheduled hot buffet breakfast as requested specific to this group, which they were late coming down to. As the hotel was full at the time, the staff reiterated to Belinda that the breakfast would be served at the agreed specified time in an area reserved for their group.

Perhaps Belinda was a bit embarrassed as she initially tried to short pay us for the stay and was hoping that we would have overlooked it. Again, despite this, we provided a full refund even though the hotel extended every available resource to ensure this group had a pleasant stay, at an inexpensive price in consideration they are traveling on a budget. We initially took on this group (Australian Boys Choir) as a part of our charitable work.

Yours truly,
Patricia Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 103 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay with many walking distance restaurants serving local delicacies, seafood and a convenient store that opens 24 hours. You don't have to worry about food. The hotel is serving basic but healthy breakfast and value for money. All staffs are friendly and helpful. We were impressed by the service we received throughout our stay. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9,189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at zara hotel for 1 night on 13 May 2013. We found the room was clean,comfortable.the room was quite large eventhough you add the extra mattress. Our room facing the view of water village and quite. It's suitable for relax after visit many places in kk city. Location near city and tg aru beach,many restaurant nearby and have lots of parking space. Overall we really enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alya1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Zara's Boutique Hotel.My friend recommended the hotel and we were very pleased and would stay there again. It was close to the restaurant and airport.Rooms were clean and tidy.Very nice and helpful staff. It's good value for your money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee_Schv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed for 1 night which I glad that my friends and I only stayed for 1 night as the bathroom is awful and view from room was not nice.
We highly anticipated the stay but was disappointed.
Please do not expect view of Sutera Harbour, any yatch or even sea, which is far away.
Overall, the room was OK with air-cond and TV, but the bathroom was a real 'nightmare' for us or rather was a bad experience for us. So far, the worst bathroom that we ever encounter from all the hotels that we stayed before.
Even though the toilet was big enough but the setting was bad not to mention low water pressure. Unpleasant bath and after bath as the floor was all wet and slightly flooded with the bath water due to the drain hole setting and there is no proper partition/blocking between the bath cubicle and the whole toilet to prevent the bath water from flowing in the whole toilet. Even the shower curtain was useless.
Please remember to put the floor/feet towel outside the toilet instead of inside the toilet as the towel tend to get soaked. Request for replacement floor towel and drying of the toilet floor was unattended and we have to request the second time, however, we cancel the request to dry the toilet floor as it was late night when we are back to the hotel later that night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaraT329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Zara Hotel for the last week of February. We found the room was clean and comfortable, its just that the room are quite large for us. Internet is available at the hotel lobby and there are excellent eating places nearby. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and we'll be back again on this coming September.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DTBK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

first trip to kk and stayed here for three days. the reception area is fine, the staff are smart, but the rest of the hotel and the customer service is lacking. perhaps we expect to much, we were not even shown to our room, given the number and off you go. then when we got there the safe would not work, there was no fridge and the toilet would not flush and had not been flushed since the previous occupant. we were moved rooms but the whole of the hotel apart from reception was very plain and not attractive. on the last day we were given a complementary breakfast at the place next door. i wish they had not of bothered as it was awful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CONWAY177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Megah D'Aru Hotel
Megah D'Aru Hotel
#38 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
55 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#31 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Asiana Hotel
Asiana Hotel
#48 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#71 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
146 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel No 5
Hotel No 5
#23 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
32 reviews
7.6 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#79 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zara's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zara's Boutique Hotel

Address: Harbour City Jalan Kinabalu | Jalan Pantai Baru, Sembulan,, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $36 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zara's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zara's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zara's Boutique Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing