We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach, so-so snorkeling”
Review of Mamutik Island

Mamutik Island
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Nice beach, so-so snorkeling”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Good 1/2 day jaunt from KK.
Nice beach, fresh water showers. Poor corals and disappointingly few fish species with high turbidity and poor visibility the sunny day I was there. Sapi was better.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kendd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    266
    150
    51
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small and crowded”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Maybe it was because there was a national holiday this week and everyone had taken the rest of the week off... But I certainly hadn't expected the "least developed" of the islands outside KK to be quite so crowded. I went on a Friday and the beach was packed with large groups of Chinese tourists.

This could be such a nice place: the beach is beautiful, but spoiled by rubbish (nappies, plastic bags, bottles, even broken glass). There is a narrow strip of white sand at the waterfront but it's best to wear sandals/flip-flops as there are also a lot of sharp rocks, shells, pine needles, bits of wood.

With limits on visitor numbers and a stronger focus on cleanliness, Mamutik would be lovely.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank anglabarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mamutik”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is our third visit to KK, we visited Mamutik twice on our first but were only able to make one trip this time (we did Gaya and Sapi on our first trip). We love this island, the snorkeling in the area adjacent to the jetty is by far the best. The coral is degraded, much by the historic use of destructive fishing methods in the past (blasting and poison) which has much depleted the large corals. It will take decades to repair and it is not helped by people standing on the corals. This said, the fish in this area are plentiful, varied and beautiful. Clown fish (the alpha male comes straight up at you, but turns away when you point at him!), parrot fish - happily eating their favourite meal, coral, Angel fish and many more I don't know the names of. Some were small and coloured electric blue. Great incentive for underwater video camera for next trip! We had a picnic box from the hotel along with sun-lounges and staff who monitored our belongings as we explored. Very much recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place for a picnic”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I went snorkelling on both Manukan and Mamutik Islands. For a novice snorkeller both locations are excellent. They provided picturesque coral outcrops with abundant and diverse fish populations. My only problem was a sunburnt back from about 5 hours in the water. Both islands provided great facilities for family outings.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bake50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice spot for a day trip”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a trip out to Mamutik during our stay in KK.
The island was quite busy when we visited (large tour party) but the beach was spotlessly clean, and there were decent facilities on the island- toilets/changing rooms and also outdoor showers to wash the salt off. There is also a cafe, but we had brought our own food so can't comment on that.

We enjoyed the snorkelling. The coral near the shore is completely dead thanks to many tourists standing all over it in their blatant disregard for nature and the environment. Fortunately that type seem to mostly flounder about near the shore so if you go a bit further out nearer to the cordon of the swimming area, especially where it gets a bit deeper, the snorkelling is pretty good. There are some pretty corals and loads of fish. We found nemo in no time....lots and lots of nemos! Also saw puffer fish, angel fish, bat fish and many many more.

The beach is clean, the water is crystal clear, and the tour party seemed to stay clustered in one spot so if you go further down the beach you'll have plenty of space to spread out and relax.

I left my camera back at the hostel back in KK as I didn't know if there would be anywhere safe to leave it while we were in the sea but I regretted leaving it. There was a very safe atmosphere on the island and there were people leaving far posher cameras than mine lying about all over the place!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank gillydaydream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamutik Island also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Mamutik Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing