We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff and good food, vegetarian and non standard recipies” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chilli Vanilla

Chilli Vanilla
Ranked #1 of 555 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mediterranean and Healthy foods, reasonable prices and ambient atmosphere.Home Made Cakes and gluten free díshes.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff and good food, vegetarian and non standard recipies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a vey nice dinner here, a welcome variety on the standard Malay food. Many options for vegetarians but meat and fish options as well. Fresh tortilla wraps were good. Portions are smallish and not that cheap. They offer great cakes for desert. Location is very Asian, on a busy street: al fresco with traffic jams....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcandMarijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    163
    51
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Small portion size”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had the set lunch for 16 RM. the food tasted good but the portion size was really small and it hardly satisfied our hunger.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johny_daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Safe option for coeliac (gluten free)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Traveling in another country can be hard when you are coeliac but this restaurant was just what I needed. Through some research before I left Australia I found a comment about gluten free at this restaurant it was a distance from our accommodation but after a few failed attempts at other restaurants I went on a mission to find this little restaurant.
The menu's actually state what items are gluten free and the chefs are very well informed on what was suitable, there was a wide variety of meals available at reasonable prices. I had no problems with the food at this restaurant and I am quite sensitive coeliac
The staff, food and all round experience is well worth a visit to this location. We had brunch & dinner on a few occasions, highly recommend to anyone visiting KK

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cykadelick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent service and delicious chocolate cake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The food was ok, the hungarian gulash and tortillas with duck, if you Are tired of chinese food, this is a good place for a good variation. The service was very efficient, smiley and helpful...I give 10 for so good service and you must try the Devil chocolate cake, a dream just come true. Best chocolate cake I've ever tasted so far nam nam :-)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bonita0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a daily offer of ribs and it was delicious. The chocolate cake was special as well, mainly served with ice cream. Cosy restaurant. Price level is Ok for western dishes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AStenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilli Vanilla also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Chilli Vanilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing