We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if I could give zero I would”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“if I could give zero I would”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I could write pages about my stay at this hotel and the problems I had there and how they should do this and that. DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR and HEED MY WARNING stay away from this hotel
Location terrible next to motorway and shanty town
Staff terrible
No idea how to treat people
Price is cheap but not worth it
Crowded
Stay away stay away

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank herthaberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear herthaberlin,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

First and foremost, we would like to apologise for the discomfort that you have endured during your stay here at the hotel. The undesirable attitude of staff is indeed not a practice here at the hotel and we apologise deeply that this unfortunate event occurred during your trip here.

Due to the hotel's peak season, we are currently running on full house and we do apologise should other guests made you feel uneasy and perturbed. The squatter houses are one of the serious matters that we are currently taking action on. Again, we apologise for this inopportune sight.

Rest assured that we have taken note of your comments and will address this issue to the management and respective departments.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    189
    133
    30
    22
See reviews for
107
107
37
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
362 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is unsuitable for business travellers, although it would be marginally acceptable for an overnight stay on sort of an "Any port in a storm" basis.

Although very new - apparently constructed in 2012 - the property is poorly maintained, with dirty hallways, intermittent and unreliable internet (only Wi-Fi in some rooms, only Ethernet in others), and generally low standards of housekeeping in the rooms.

This hotel caters primarily to the lower end of the package tour business from Mainland China. I estimate that over 60% of the guests in the hotel during my stay were Mainland Chinese families visiting KK on package tours.

Food and beverage service is marginal. The dining room is understaffed at breakfast, and it is common to find that all the unoccupied tables are filthy, strewn with dishes from prior visitors, not yet cleaned up and made ready for the next guest. The food itself is unappealing.

The hotel is close to downtown, but you have to walk across two major expressways to get to the downtown area - no fun in the hot weather. The better alternative is to take a taxi for $5 each way.

As stated in the title of my review, this property is unsuitable for a business traveller who needs a clean, quiet place to work, with reliable internet service. It would be marginally acceptable for a one-night stay.

Room Tip: Find a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear solotravellerCanada,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

First, allow me to apologize sincerely for all the inconveniences you had during your stay. We take a great deal of pride in the service provided at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences and it is obvious from your comments that you received a poor representation of our services. I have reviewed your comments with the respective department head and he has advised me that the appropriate actions have been taken to avoid these issues.

If your travel ever brings you back to Kota Kinabalu then please contact me as it will be a great opportunity for the team to provide you a memorable experience that we promise and I am sure it will definitely erase any negative bad memories of your first stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Quezon City
Level Contributor
80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The room has an unusual layout with a (useless) kitchen area. TV channels were quite limited.
There was wifi in the room but Internet access went down once too often.

The common areas of the hotel is a riot in the morning because of all those tour groups, specially the breakfast buffet. But the hotel gets really quiet for the rest of the day.

The hotel is not near any commercial area but not too far from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear valmun,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We will take serious note of your feedback and discuss this matter with my team to ensure we rectify the points you have highlighted.

We hope to see you again in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

First the good thing: the room was very nice, clean, good facilities, nice bathroom and shower. The concierge was very nice and helpful.

The bad:

1. Very crowded with huge groups of tourists - Most of the hotel guests seem to be large Asian (Chinese and Korean) tour groups. The lobby is typically packed with people sitting around waiting for the next tour bus, or just arriving or departing to the airport. Because of this, checking in or out is a nightmare, it can easily take an hour. Meanwhile there's the typical chaos - kids running around screaming, people taking up all the seats, shouting, etc. Not very relaxing. The free buffet breakfast is also kind of a scramble for food competing with all the other guests.

2. Not enough staff - The staff is completely unprepared for the number of guests. I cannot understand, since this is a large hotel with many guests, why there are only 2 or 3 people behind the reception counter at any time. They simply do not have enough staff to deal with the number of guests.

3. Location is not great - The hotel is located across a river from the downtown area. It's maybe only 1-2 kilometers from the center of town, but not walkable at all. If you want to walk, you have to walk along a busy highway, cross a bridge, and cross several busy streets with no crosswalks. There are no restaurants, convenience stores, or shopping areas near the hotel (in fact in front of the hotel there's a kind of slum area that I wouldn't want to walk through at night). So basically, if you need to go into town, you need to take a taxi (15 MYR) or the free shuttle bus (which only leaves every hour from about 10am to 4pm).

4. Staff is not well trained in some ways - I tried to change USD to Ringgit and the staff simply didn't know how to do it. I waited for 20 minutes (I was in a hurry because my tour bus was leaving) and finally gave up and asked for my money back. This was just total incompetence -- they had to change the paper in the printer, walk back into the office to photocopy my passport, go to another computer to do god knows what -- and still couldn't complete the transaction. This is not the standard of service you expect in this kind of hotel.

Summary: The room itself is pretty nice but the lobby area is chaotic and staff are overwhelmed and undertrained.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear bbkansas,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

Feedback is always greatly appreciated and helps us to constantly strive for excellence.
Please do accept our sincere apologies for not being able to live up to your expectations and thank you for taking the time to individually detailing them.

The shortfalls which you had highlighted were addressed with those concerned associates and they were made aware of your disappointment and dissatisfaction and every possible effort will be made to resolve the issues.

I assure you our intent is to continue to enhance and build upon the reputation of Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu.

We will truly value your continued and engaged patronage of Ming Garden and we look forward to welcoming you back. See you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pencoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights on a tour of Malaysia.
Hotel has a range of facilities
food is good and a choice of restaurants at reasonable prices.
two small bar areas and an enclosed bar with music
the hotel is used by tour groups for arranged tours and can appear to be quite hectic at times, but the tour groups are kept separate and do not use the hotel facilities.
found the staff to be helpful and polite.
taxi to centre of town is approx. 15MR about £3.50
hotel is located in a non descript area and is not easy to locate the entrance on your first arrival if you are driving.
taxi from airport is approx. 35MR
for convenience to tour surrounding area we found this hotel to be well placed.
would stay again if in this region

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Stephen T,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are delighted to read your review regarding your stay with us, it gives us great pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with generally positive reviews for our services. Your comments are greatly appreciated especially your compliments regarding our facilities and services. It is a pleasure to share them to our entire team particularly to our front of the house staff.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon. See you! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Ming Garden was completely disappointing. Whilst some of the staff were helpful and willing to help you when needed, the biggest disappointment was the cleanliness of the rooms and the daily house keeping or lack of. My fiancé and I repeatedly had to call the reception over the time we stayed there to get our room re serviced as the basic amenities were not even replenished. I.e toilet paper, fresh towels nor were the floors vacuumed, tables wiped down or the bathroom floor tiles cleaned..... This hotel is NOT worth the money that they are asking, it's completely out off the way and you need to catch their shuttle service or taxi into town (when they decide its operating) and not by the scheduled times they advertised on the reception notice board!. Lastly on the room review we only had hot water in our shower 2 days out of 5!!!!!!!..

Now to the F&B department... If anyone is still going to book this hotel and not acknowledge my review I would STRONGLY suggest you book a room with Club lounge facilities as the breakfast buffet was like a mass feeding frenzy of seagulls with 200+ people pushing their way through to get some food onto their plates before its all gone. We made the mistake once and the remaining mornings we ventured upstairs to their club lounge were it was completely civilised.

I hope this review will help you make your decision when booking a hotel in Kota Kinabalu, I would strongly suggest booking a hotel in the middle of the town were Its more convenient in amongst the action or better yet Stay on the islands just off KK, we spent most of our time out on the reefs and once we were out there we both really regretted our decision.

I hope someone in Mings hotel reads these reviews as this hotel has potential but they need to get the basics right in operating and servicing the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Tony B,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

On behalf of our entire team, please accept our sincere apologies on the discomfort and inconvenience that you have stomached during your stay here. We are sorry to learn that your experience did not live up to your expectations this time. We value all your comments and I have shared them to the relevant departments. Rest assured that all these points will be reviewed for improvement and that will include re-training and service audit, where necessary to ensure such experience will not recur in future.

If your travel ever brings you back to Kota Kinabalu then please contact me as it will be a great opportunity for the team to provide you a memorable experience that we promise and I am sure it will definitely erase any negative bad memories of your first stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

Kindest regards,
Shauntay Dawn Chong
Asst Marcom Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

It Is situated quite a distance from town area. However, there is a free shuttle service and taxis available if you need one to get to the airport in the early hours. Rooms are spacious with comfy bed and large sitting area. The bathroom is complete with amenities like toothbrush, shampoo etc. Good view of the pool downstairs. The staff is polite and helpfull. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 646Jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear 646Jacqueline,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are delighted to read your review regarding your stay with us, it gives us great pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with generally positive reviews for our services.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon. See you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#17 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Property: Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Address: Lorong Mangga | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing