We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed with the service..especially Laundry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ranked #18 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed with the service..especially Laundry”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I went to the hotel and staying there on 16th - 19 Nov 2012.My 1st impression was "wow' with such a brand new hotel..even it is quite far from the city and the free shuttle service is offered only until 5 pm..yet i was not complaining at all. On my 2nd day, i couldnt enter my room because the card couldnt be accessed. The reception counter told me that i am supposed to check out on that day.i said " What theeee.."..because i had booked the room for 3 nights via calls.With tired face, i asked them to extend my staying period.I'm so dissapointed.And that nite too, i ordered a Wanton Soup Noodles with a cup of hot milo.And yet, the guest service sent me 2 types of noodles, 1 was Wanton soup Noodles, and the other 1 was Wanton Fried Noodles.Fortunately, they refund my money back coz the Wanton Fried Noodles was not in my order. AND, the last day incident was the most DISAPPOINTING ever when almost all my precious clothes were damaged by the Laundry Service.AND, the staffs admitted that it was their fault for being careless.Definitely, i claimed it as a total damage.The hotel had paid me out by cash due to laundry damage with total cost RM700.00.Based on my experiences, the hotel staffs are not well-trained and not very capable in delivering their services.Double check things will be the "none' things to do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMyPassi0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    189
    132
    30
    22
See reviews for
107
105
37
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel twice so far this year and I have to admit that the staff service is simply excellent. It is probably hard to find another hotel of similar standard to have such good service. I only tried the morning breakfast provided in the hotel, generally, the food was still at the acceptable level though lack variety. Hotel is still rather new, so it was a little quiet around, even the mini bar/club next to it at night was very empty. Overall, a very good hotel with contemporary design of rooms and great service!

Room Tip: Try to get the room which allows you to have the view of Kota Kinabalu coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager M, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Patrick T,

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us.

Watch out for more variety on the menus as we are preparing more selection of dishes in the near future. Thank you very much for your support and please do come back whenever you are in KK for a visit. :)

See you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

yes this hotel is new,cleaning and nice to stay but did anybody staying in this hotel try there food?i have try the food,but did anybody get any knowledge that all the food are in cool not in warm although they on the spot cook for u also cool when the time they send the food to your hand.yes they have waitress working but most of them just talking to each others most of the time.almost every night buffer food are same.No new food or special food they can cook.is that this hotel got chef?Room rate is good nut restaurant rate is very bad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilichin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

i'am first time in new hotel...Ming garden all the area is good,the food,room,sparks and the bosses i thing from 5star anything i very2 like in stay the new hotel....don't worry i came back again THANK YOU all the staff....

Room Tip: all the staff is very good service,because i see one person..i'cant remember the name?but i very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager M, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Monata,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are delighted to read your review regarding your stay with us, it gives us great pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with overall thumbs up for our services. Your feedback has been communicated to the entire hotel team and they are delighted to know that their hard work and efforts are appreciated. I believe this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!
See you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We attended the wedding function at Ming Garden recently and our first impression is what a nice new hotel in kk. But the disaster came in we are having the dinner at the ballroom..Just imagine, during last courses (Dessert) they didn't replace our dirty plate, no fork and the worst thing is there is no equipment for us to take the dessert which is in the middle of the table. We trying to get some attention from the waiter but seem that they doesn't bother. Frankly speaking, the food is ok but in terms of service, they need more training. After the dinner we are looking for smoking area INSIDE the hotel but the answer from the back of the house staffs in very disappointing.. "you can smoke outside of the lobby area". is it just because of we are local, they treated us like that? I'm hotelier as well but I never get instructions from my superior or management to look down to our guests no matter where they are come from. Return back to this hotel??? think twice.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Raynold76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed for a night at the Ming Garden and for a 4 star hotel expected better facilities. We had booked a superior room but on arrival these were smoking rooms only and the staff made a big fuss about changing us to a deluxe non-smoking room (we were not informed of the difference in room type on booking). The room was very dark with only a small window partially occluded by walls and the air con so even in the middle of the day the lights had to be kept on.

The pool is small and not heated, which meant in September it was freezing cold and certainly not a place to relax in. The pool area smelt of sewage and was windy which is probably why there were no guests here!

There is a good selection of items at the breakfast buffet however the hot foods (eggs, baked beans, noodles, pancakes) were all cold and whilst staff did offer to replace them, after 10minutes I gave up waiting.

The hotel is only a short walk (10mins) into town and there is a free shuttle bus which runs almost hourly until 5pm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kkanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Came to the grandballroom to attend a briefing. Whilst staff on the whole is friendly and helpful, the venue, even though newly opened feels old. The carpets didn't look very clean, chair covers were mostly stained, toilet's floor was wet, door knob of one toilet was missing and the squatting toilets looked out of place in the setup. Greeted by lots of rubbish (adjoining area) as you come in and out of the driveway.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jercyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager M, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear jercyng,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We would like to apologise for the discomfort that you have endured while attending a function here at the hotel. The restroom’s condition was indeed not a practice here at the hotel and we apologise deeply that this unfortunate event occurred during your trip here.

The rubbish and squatter houses are one of the serious matters that we are currently taking action on. Again, we apologise for this inopportune sight. We will definitely take note on your comments and use it a reference to upgrade the cleanliness and standards of a good hotel.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#16 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Property: Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Address: Lorong Mangga | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing