We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern room, bit out from the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Our room was really nice, spacious, clean and modern. Buffet breakfast (included in our stay) was delicious and full of options. Friendly staff who were very helpful (although watch out for overpriced cabs from the hotel). The one issue was that its location was an awkward distance in that it was too hot to walk to the city centre but a very short cab ride to certain spots. There is a shuttle service available but it only goes every 2 hours which can be unhelpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Thank you for your feedback Josh,

In regards to your feedback on our location, we certainly understand that the surroundings of our hotel are important on the enhancement of your visit here.

To make your trip a better one should you visit us again in Kota Kinabalu, you may hop on to our newly upgraded feature the complimentary shuttle bus to the central shopping, entertainment and leisure areas such as; Centre Point, Wisma Merdeka, Suria Sabah and Jesselton Point (Waterfront) operating daily from 9:00am - 5:00pm (except 12:00nn). Maybe you can leave early in the morning at 9am and come back by the evening? Hope that helps in you moving around.

We are pleased to inform you that the hotel is located at the upcoming township of Kota Kinabalu - KK Times Square and Harbour City. We hope by the time you're back to spend the nights with us all these shopping avenues and prime business facilities are available for you.

We hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu with more shoplots and other shopping avenues opened at the hotel’s surrounding areas :)

Happy travels and see you around :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 454 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is a brand new hotel with so many staff, most of them don't have enough to do. Everyone insists on striking up a conversation with you even if you are just walking across the lobby. The hotel is well located about half way between the airport and downtown KK. There is an elaborate road system to get to the hotel and all vehicles have to do a complete tour of the building to get to the front door. They have a shuttle bus into town, which is useful but it does not come back at night. We stayed in 2 different rooms - one faced the front and was very noisy at night with no double glazing. The other faced the back and was much quieter, however the tiles were already coming off the wall in the bathroom.
The hotel seemed very popular with Chinese and Malaysian guests but they were not at all geared up to western tastes. The buffet in the restaurant was hopeless as everything seemed to be cold - even the fried eggs! On our last day we had breakfast in our room at 5.30 as we had to go to the airport and the waiter wheeled in a elaborate trolley with a full cooked breakfast - all stone cold.
There is a nice pool on the 4th floor but you have to be careful as the tiled floor is lethally slippery when wet. Wifi is only available in the lobby and restaurant not in the rooms.
We counted 7 people in reception and another 6 in the lobby but it still took an age to get your bill.

Room Tip: Noisy at the front but the view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Thank you for your feedback Tom,

In regards to your feedback on our location, we certainly understand that the surroundings of our hotel are important on the enhancement of your visit here. We are pleased to inform you that the hotel is located at the upcoming township of Kota Kinabalu - KK Times Square and Harbour City. We hope by the time you're back to spend the nights with us all these shopping avenues and prime business facilities are available to your heart's content.

Have forwarded the issue on your breakfast and billing issue and we will take action on it accordingly.

We hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu with more shoplots and other shopping avenues opened at the hotel’s surrounding areas :)

Happy travels and see you around :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

It's a new hotel, so expect everything to be new and spotless... the minimalist interior gives the sense of modernity.

The management- Although most of the staff is still new in the hotel industry, they are still helpful and friendly. Got a complimentary birthday cake too! Which is lovely and tasty cake!

Location- Not perfect because its away from the city center but its near to airport, either way you may opt for their free shuttle bus service but only to Suria Sabah shopping mall-Warisan Square shopping Mall-Jesselton Point.

Taxi fare - Fare to 1borneo is RM35, to Jesselton Point jetty is RM15

Breakfast - The breakfast is tasty, but not much choices.

Facilities- Spa and Massage is provided but you'll need cash. they wont accept credit card. Pool is quite big too'

Internet - No wifi, wifi only available at the lobby but which is quite weak.

Booked through Agoda, much cheaper from there.

Overall, the hotel is beautiful and the staff is wonderful and friendly!

Room Tip: Get a room with the sea view. Away from the clubs, if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FlabberKun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Thank you for your feedback FlabberKun,

We will address your pointed forms accordingly here :)

The management- We are glad you are happy with your birthday cake and are taken care of quite well. Regardless, we have brought the issues that we fall short accordingly to relevant departments including undergoing trainings from time to time for our staffs for the constant betterment of our service.

Location- To make your trip a better one should you visit us again in Kota Kinabalu, you may hop on to our newly added feature the complimentary shuttle bus to the central shopping, entertainment and leisure areas such as; Centre Point, Wisma Merdeka, Suria Sabah and Jesselton Point (Waterfront) operating daily from 9:00am - 5:00pm (except 12:00nn).

Taxi fare - Fare to 1borneo is RM35, to Jesselton Point jetty is RM15

Breakfast - There are new spreads introduced every now and then and we hope the spread will be great for you, your family and friends when you guys are staying in house.

Facilities - Besides cash, we also offer Room Charge. You may utilise the spa's variety of treatments and you may opt to charge it to your room accordingly.

Internet - Feel free to let us know should you need to use the internet the next time you're around as the internet cables are available upon request. You can request from us and we will send it over to you accordingly.

We hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu with more shoplots and other shopping avenues opened at the hotel’s surrounding areas :)

Happy travels and see you around again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

It's a new hotel by KK township. Everything is so cozy, with new furniture, layout and smells good too. But a deluxe room is not that spacious and bath is a bit gloomy with insufficient lighting. Staffs are friendly and very helpful though few of them still not that familiar with the hotel and its services but that can be improved, I suppose. The kitchen serves straight to your room 24 hours with great choices of food even in the middle of night. Breakfast was great, with varieties of local foods and nice ambiance of the restaurant. Shuttle bus/van is provided but you have to follow the schedule. Yet, is quite easy to get cabs from the hotel. It is just 5-10 minutes away from the KKIA and quite convenient if you got a flight to catch. It's a single standing building in its own place by the sea, that's it's not that convenient if you wish to find any nearby shop by foot. But the township is just 5 minutes away and cost you about MYR15 one way and MYR30 from the hotel to KKIA.

Room Tip: Any level is good as long as you can face the sea from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KikiKokoCiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Thank you for your feedback KikiKokoCiKi,

We are pleased to inform you that the hotel is located at the upcoming township of Kota Kinabalu. It is also located 10 minutes’ drive from the Kota Kinabalu International Airport and 5 minutes’ drive/ 10 -15 minutes’ walk from the shopping and commercial district.

We have brought these issues up accordingly to relevant departments respectively including undergoing trainings from time to time for our staffs for the constant betterment of our service.

We hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu with more shoplots and other shopping avenues opened at the hotel’s surrounding areas :)

Happy travels :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

stayed here for one night on 7th jan 2012.

booking - i did it via agoda. sabry who attended to me was informative and helpful too.
hotel location - very accessible and easy to locate
room location - overlook kampung air and sabah square. not the best view but we don't mind this since we are hardly in the room
pool - ok with staff overlooking the users

we love the room, swimming pool, breakfast, the whole hotel deco and the parking. staffs were generous with smiles and love to greet the guests. i am travelling in a family of 6. surprisingly, extra pillows and duvets were not charged! all facilities were new and extra nice. the deco was lovely too. breakfast - pastries and roti jala, must try!

slightly pricey but totally recommended! :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nurulh275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Thank you for your feedback nurulh275,

We're happy you enjoyed your stay and are also glad that you were very well taken care of by our staffs so accommodatingly. We will inform this to the relevant departments.

We hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu with more shoplots and other shopping avenues opened at the hotel’s surrounding areas :)

See you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Ming Garden is the newest hotel in KK and for NYE my hubby and I stayed in a Deluxe room. I love the modern look of the room, which was spacious with a nice comfortable king size bed and strong hot shower (Take note there are 2 shower heads. I enjoyed the ceiling rain shower panel which I did not notice till I was halfway through my shower). The bathroom is semi see through so be sure you know who you are bunking in with.

The staff were extra friendly and accommodating. Found it a little weird for housekeeping to come round to my room around 8pm to see if I needed anything. Not sure if this is a regular thing.

There was a good selection for breakfast in a nice cozy setting. There is a gym, pool and spa which we did not get to try but our room on the 5th level overlook the pool and you can also see the nice looking gym too. However, rooms are not sound proof so we could hear the clubbing music from Sparks bar till the wee hours.

Another thing to note, being a modern hotel I was rather surprised that though there is free wifi in the lobby, the room has free internet but you need to access it via a cable. I for one no longer bring a laptop around so found this cable requirement outdated. Plus be warned that if you do request a cable from the hotel it cost RM50, so even though the Internet is free, the cable isn't. Hopefully we get room wifi at Ming Garden in future.

But overall we would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and need your beauty sleep, request for a room facing the sea or a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gyyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Thank you for your feedback gyyr,

We're happy you enjoyed your stay and are also glad that you were very well taken care of by our staffs so accommodatingly. We will inform this to the relevant departments on their job well done.

Should you like to request to be placed on other rooms or on other floors next time - feel free to let us know and we will accommodate your requests accordingly. We are also pleased to inform you that internet cables are available (non-chargable) upon request. If you're here the next time and you'd like to use the internet - feel free to let us know :)

We hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu with more shoplots and other shopping avenues opened at the hotel’s surrounding areas :)

See you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed a night in Ming Hotel last night. Love the swimming pool, located on the 4th floor together with the Gym, Children Room & an absolutely great spa!
I got to say, Ming Hotel has one of the most spacious room in town, i stayed in the Premier Room, it is big enough to even fit in another 3 more extra beds. Highly recommend it for family. And, you are entitled for Club Facilities which provides complimentary evening cocktails, express checks in & out.
The hotel has not been fully completed, as they are now still doing some touch ups for its residence. It expected to be done in January next year. Be expected to see some contractors outside the hotel property doing their work.
This will be a great hotel to stay starting February 2012! As all is completed by then!

Room Tip: For family, go for Premier Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabah_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Thank you for your feedback Sabah Girl,

We're happy you enjoyed your stay and glad that it could fit all your family members together with all the facilities that were utilized by you and your family. We are pleased to inform you that rest assured the hotel is now fully completed.

We hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu with more shoplots and other shopping avenues opened at the hotel’s surrounding areas :)

See you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,503 reviews
1.0 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Address: Lorong Mangga | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $63 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing