We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No knowledge and no experience Tour Guide!”

Exotic Borneo Travel Management
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Half-Day North Borneo Railway Train Ride
Ranked #28 of 77 Tours in Kota Kinabalu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Exotic Borneo Travel Management is based in Sabah, Malaysian Borneo and licensed by the Malaysian Tourism board. Over 40 years of service, we are fully experienced in handling more than 1000+ passengers per day. Exotic Borneo is also the only Ground Handler in Borneo with Public Liability Insurance of (RM1,000,000) for Sabah, Brunei and Sarawak. We specialize in Mount Kinabalu treks to conquer the summit, white water rafting, off the beaten trek through our forest and special interest groups such as bird watching, garden groups and corporate team building. Our Motto is "Commitment to Excellence" which is reflected by the letter of recommendations from our satisfied customers. Tour Desks at Shang-Rila Rasa Ria Resort and Shang-Rila Tanjung Aru ready to serve you or your clients. We are coordinators that enjoy creativity, improving on existing products and perfection in organizing to ensure customer satisfaction.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No knowledge and no experience Tour Guide!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Join one of their tours and was guided by a tour guide with no knowledge. Most of the time keeping quiet and one time was sleeping!

The good thing is Sabah is beautiful, it is a waste that not run by a professional company.

Visited June 2012
1 Thank RobIkawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Exotic Borneo Travel Management, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear RobIkawat

Thank you for your review however we do not seem to have a record of your booking. Is it possible for your to email to me at sales@exborneo.com to give me further details on your tour. It would be greatly appreciated as you are the second person that have written in trip advisor indicating such bad service but we have no record. I am just thinking it could be someone using our company name to sell tours or either our name is mistaken with another company. Based on the review you have written on the hotels, I am presuming that you stayed at Eden hotel and Gaya Center. Our records shows no pick up from either of these two hotels as well in the month of June.

Your kind assistance would be greatly appreciated for us to investigate further what is going on.
We treat all comments very seriously and our guides are all professionally trained with license from the Ministry of Tourism.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great tour through Sabah with Exotic Borneo !”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We went on tour through Sabah during one week in June 2012 with Exotic Borneo. We had one guide,Nick, from Kota Kinabalu to the region of Mt Kinabalu. Then another guide, Jenny, and Jeff, the driver, to visit the region of the River Kinabatangan and Sandakan. It was a wonderful experience and we thank them very much for their professional and friendly services. They were always on time and tried to satisfy our wishes. They provided us with a lot of information about the country, the animals and their environment. We don't hesitate to recommend Exotic Borneo and his team !

Visited June 2012
4 Thank Hugues883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great trip !”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We went to KK to climb Mt Kinnabalu. The trip was well organized and the guides were very helpful and knowledgeable. Didn't know we overpaid, until the agent informed us! Overall a great trip!

Visited August 2011
3 Thank Yindee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“absolutely trustworthy and stress free travel arrangements”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We go to Kota Kinabalu almost yearly as we love the laid back feel of the city and its wonderful seafood and friendly people. We have two young boys and usually planned to arrive in the day time or around sleep time. Hence early check in requests and interconnecting rooms have always been a top priority. As we travel every 3 months or so, I have been in situations where upon arrival with two tired kids (and two tired adults!) our requests were still not noted at check in, when I have double check and triple checked with the travel agent. NEVER a problem with exotic borneo! We have used them many times and each time their friendly staff would correspond by email in a clear and prompt manner. Their room rates are very competitive with the rest of the market and EVERY request would be conveyed to the hotel and noted in the emails. This in turn made check in hassle free. Highly recommended for their professionalism!

Visited October 2011
3 Thank travelqueen11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exotic Borneo Tours - Excellent service & expertise in ecol-tourism”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We took two tours with the help of Exotic Borneo (www.exborneo.com) and are most satisfied with their prompt service and expertise in ecol-tourism. They arranged a 3D-2N tour of Brunei for us, all on-line, and we were guided by a courteous, English-speaking tour guide. The trip was so well organised that we saw much more than we expected. My wife, who is a writer, is very pleased with the trip and is writing articles about the Royal family, the Water Village, the morning Market, ...

At Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, we took the Panoramic Countryside Tour, guided by a horticulturist ( graduate of Guelph University of Canada.) We were shown some of the flora that Borneo is so famous for, like the largest orchid and many exotic flowers and fruits. The view from Kokol Mountain is breathtaking. After returning home, my wife was able to get more information from the knowledgeable horticulturist by email. A most unforgettable experience - highly recommended.

Visited November 2011
5 Thank teh k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exotic Borneo Travel Management also viewed


Been to Exotic Borneo Travel Management? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing