We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fun”

North Borneo Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$138.75*
and up
North Borneo Steam Train with Tiffin Lunch from Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The North Borneo Railway runs two weekly return departures (Wednesday, Saturday) from Kota Kinabalu to Papar, year round. Lasting approximately 4 hours, passengers experience the lush landscape of the coastal and rural regions of Sabah. A typical 'tiffin' colonial lunch will be served on the return trip.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
305 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great fun, travelled by train to go white water rafting. Recommend giving it a go...and the rafting !!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Finlay122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    177
    59
    14
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We decided to do this train trip this year and were glad we did, everything on the train was great and you got to see some of the country side and people away from the city.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Worthwhile trip”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

As mentioned in other reviews, there is no air-con, but there are plenty of ceiling fans in the carriages which keep the temperature reasonable. Breakfast and tiffin lunch are enjoyable and they did a "no spice" option for our daughter (request when booking). Trip leaves at 10 am (Wednesday and Saturday only) and lasts just under 4 hours. Staff very helpful and friendly. Worth doing if you're looking for something around KK, we enjoyed it and would recommend.

Helpful?
3 Thank MrMrsW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Go back in time and be treated to a luxurious train ride!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

From buying the tickets and collecting your train passport you are stepping back in time. The railway staff are all dressed very smartly and the train carriages are immaculate. The breakfast was delicious ad the boys were given extra pastries that were available. The Tiffin lunch was hot and delicious. Don't buy your tickets from Tanjung Aru train station, you must go to Sutera Resort to buy your tickets and the train runs on a Wednesday & Saturday only. It's expensive but worth it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“North Borneo Railway”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The ride on the North Borneo Railway's steam train from Tanjung Aru to Papar was a wonderful experience. You are given a passport at the beginning of the journey and then as you pass each town on the way to Papar you are given a brief history of the town and the area and your passport is stamped. It is a lovely keepsake of the trip.
Once boarded you are served a continental breakfast, a yummy selection of croissants and pastries, and then on the return trip you are served a 4 course luncheon in tiffins. The lunch was menu was satay chicken, mackerel fillet with cucumber and pineapple salad, mixed vegetables and prawns, chicken biryani rice and dessert was mixed tropical fruits. And then we were offered ice cream buckets for a snack!!! It would have to be one of the best value for money sightseeing trips we have been on,only $90.00 AUD per person. You can also purchase alcoholic drinks on the train if required.
Papar has a very good market for those who want to do some shopping, a very good selection of both food and souvenirs.
Taking everything into account it is the people who are running the trip that help make this experience so memorable. My husband is a plus, plus size and Jual went out of his way to ensure my husband was comfortable sitting at our assigned table.
I would recommend a trip on the North Borneo Railway to anyone, it was 4 hours very well spent in my view.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Borneo Railway also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to North Borneo Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing