We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$45
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/17/23
Expedia.com
$78
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/18/23
Vio.com
$41
View deal
Priceline$43
Hotels.com$78
Travelocity$78
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (958)
Filter reviews
958 results
Traveler rating
272
476
159
37
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
272
476
159
37
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews within walking distance central market comfortable room pleasant stay spa floor bathtub waterfront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 958 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2016

wonderful stay wish it had been longer will book again friendly staff great atmosphere and even better views food was excellent value for money in a beautiful city in a great country .we will be going back .

Room tip: 13th floor front of hotel views of china sea to die for
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HH_Communications, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2016

Greetings from Horizon Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback. We value your comments and suggestions, as they will assist us tremendously improving our services.

We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here! Thanks again for choosing us as your temporary home. See you soon, and wishing you a great day ahead.

Best Regards,
Horizon Hotel Sabah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016

Room was clean with trendy decor but very very small. Strangely the balcony was as big as the room. The room was not well designed with nowhere to put your things in some cases. The air cond was very noisy and the bed very firm, did not sleep very well here as seems to be the case with many hotels in Asia. The breakfast buffet was very very good with attentive staff and a delicious selection of food. We stayed here for two nights as thats all they had available then we went to the Klagan Hotel which was our 2nd choice. Much bigger rooms maybe twice the size of the Horizons.which suited us better.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank timsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HH_Communications, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2016

Greetings from Horizon Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback. We value your comments and suggestions, as they will assist us tremendously improving our services.

We are sorry to hear about the rooms - we will relay your comments to the Management to see what can be done to improve our guests' comfort and overall experience.

Thank you again for choosing Horizon Hotel as your temporary home, and we wish you a great day ahead!

Best Regards,
Horizon Hotel Sabah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

My Trip to Sabah found myself staying for a few days in Kota Kinabalu at the Horizon Hotel. I loved the place with breakfast each morning and a nice comfy bed, the hotel was always really helpful and polite.

The location is fairly good but it is the top end of town, if you are looking for the waterfront Nightlife, it is a bit of a trek (around 1km).

Note: the pool is shallow and not many sunbeds around the pool (4 in total)

I would Definitely stay again for the Price we paid.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shinigami268
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded August 23, 2016

Greetings from Horizon Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We appreciate your comments and suggestions, as they will assist us tremendously in improving our services.

We are delighted to hear that you had a good time here, and found our Hotel to your liking! Thanks again for the generous ratings, and for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you.

We hope to see you once more should you decide to visit KK again!

Best Regards,
Horizon Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2016

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded August 21, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 16, 2016

The city is not very gorgeus so, as long as you do not go too far from the center, all locations are ok.
Rooms are not bad although a bit old fashioned and need a little reform.
Pool is nice and in a high floor so with "nice" views to street market.
Breakfast is ok, very good if you like chinese food. Pastry is scarce though. The problem is that the place is a bit small and you might have to wait, not too long, for a table.
Definitely, ask for an ocean view room, although more expensive. You can see the islands and the sunset from the room.

Room tip: Ocena view
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rauldf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded August 18, 2016

Greetings from Horizon Hotel Sabah!

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Kota Kinabalu, and for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We are sorry about the table wait for breakfast. We are will pass your remarks to the Management for immediate action. We are always striving for excellence in all areas of our service, and your review will assist us greatly in this.

Thank you once more for your stay, and we hope to see you again in the future should you decide to visit KK again!

Best,
Horizon Hotel Sabah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews