We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good hotel in a good location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Good hotel in a good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Were here two weeks back. Excellent location. In hotel front, walk left for a couple of streets and you have a wide range of restaurants to choose from (Italian, Chinese, SE Asian, etc.). Around the Italia, "Sing Ji" Bak Ku Teh is famous. Around OCBC building, a corner "Fa Ji" Coffee Shop is well known for its pig trotters and local dishes. Behind the hotel, is a long overhead bridge, you can walk right to the seaside. The Filipino night market has a number of hawker selling wok-cooked food. The seafront freshed grilled seafood should be avoided as they are definitely not value for money. The jettison jetty is about 5 - 10 minutes walk. Clean and safe. We booked our 2-islands hopping snorkelling trip here, bargaining with a friendly Mr Rin, almost half price of what you can get from the hotel bookings, anyway the day tour agencies at hotel and airport also advised us to book directly at the jetty. The hotel has free WiFi almost everywhere we go, in the room, at the lobby, at the swimming pool. The swimming pool is clean and well maintained, has good view of the sea. The hotel breakfast is marvellous, collection of Asian, and Continental breakfast, fruits are a bit lacking though. Though the hotel has problem with the dripping aircon, at the hotel reception counter and in the Cafe. Why put the food below the aircon? The bathroom is neat and tidy, though water pressure is slightly weak (evident of water conservation). Non smoking room is really odourless, king-sized bed with very comfortable pillows, no creepy crawlies. No durian and no mangosteens allowed. You can only access to your room level via the room access card. Only one room access card is provided, rather inconvenient, if you and your wife both has to go restroom after breakfast, you can only go to the restroom in the lobby level and your wife settle her business in the dark ;-). You can book the KK Park day tour at the hotel, same price as outside, the lady EJay is very friendly and helpful. The view during the minibus trip is breathtaking. The canopy walk is definitely worth the try. TV selection in the room is limited, though Fox Premium Movie is available, lack of News channels like Bloomberg/BBC/CNBC/ChannelNewsAsia. Aircon in the room is rather cold, no clear instructions to how to change the settings. Definitely a good, safe, secure, and value-for-money choice for family and for business.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the sea facing side. If facing the sea, those rooms on the left have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesTan_470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    377
    107
    25
    7
See reviews for
133
288
44
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Loss 1 hour from actual check in time due to deluxe sea view king/qn bed size is not available.
They advc me on single twin bed.
Why I should take single twin?
I come wth my husband & has requested earlier in my booking
I have to wait at the lobby for 1hour..
Even though the rooms is upon availability but how come at 2oclock also the room is still not ready for customer? ?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flizas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear MWIlliams_13,

Thank you very much for posting your review on your recent stay with us.

Thank you for bringing to my attention on the Housekeeping staff that unintentionally removed your apples from your room. I do apologies and agree the Duty Manager could have handled it in a better manner and offered you a fruit basket as goodwill gesture.

On the request for a late checkout, we were unable to accommodate due to the peak season and the high turnover of rooms on that day. On any other normal day we would be happy to accommodate your request at no additional charge.

With the high occupancy, breakfast period is the busiest meal period of the day. All Chinaware, glassware and cutleries are checked prior to set up on tables for guests dining. With the high turnover of guests in and out of the breakfast room, the odd hair would have found its way accidently into your tea cup.

I apologise on the room with carpet stain as it maybe a recent one. We certainly will work on this matter. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Once again I offer my apology and we take all comments seriously and you can rest assure we will improve on our service and we hope to welcome you back again to Horizon Hotel.

Kind regards,

Mr. Philip D. Theseira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I went to use the spa for a few times but certain facilities are malfunction such as the Jacuzzi, the toilet in the ladies changing room & the steam bath. Went again yesterday but it's not fixed yet. It's kinda inconvenient.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wy3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Was here last Dec 2012 after more than 10 yrs. The hotel is strategically located in the heart of KK. The waterfront and Kota Kinabalu Filipina market is walking distance. Shops, banks and eatery joints around a plenty. And the room deco is excellent...!!! Althought I only spend 1 night here, I will definately stay here again on m next visit ;-)

Room Tip: Get a room facing the sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malinja7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

On check in we were told that we had a smoking room....which i didnt book. They appoligised and saud the only non smoking was a twin not a double but they did offerus a free upgrade to a delux room but was on the smoking floor....we took it. There is a faint smoke smell in the hall way but not in the room so was not an issue.

Room was excellent with a tube and greaf decor. Breakfast was great as was the pool. Friendly staff. Definatly stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fjp1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear fjp1981,

Thank you for choosing Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to the excellent service from our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah and I would be delighted to facilitate any future reservations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards.

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel at beginning of May. The hotel lobby is acceptable but don't expect anything luxurious. It is a small business hotel. The rooms are comfortable but some amenities (like bathrobes) were missing when we checked in and we had to call housekeeping. The lobby restaurant (Deco Cafe and Bar) had flies and the food for breakfast was not very fresh. The hotel had no water for several days and we could not understand how a so-called four stars hotel could not rectify the piping problem. None of the other hotels on the same row of road or location had water problems. We could not flush the toilets, bathe, etc. They kept moving us from higher to lower floors but still the water was trickling for rooms from the 4th floor downwards. From 6th floor upwards, the taps were all dry. The hotel manager was apologetic but it spoiled our holiday. The bell boys and housekeeping staff were cheerful and helpful. The spa was not good value for money. The location of this hotel is good. But for the cost we paid, this hotel was not worth it! I paid more than RM 650 for three days and two nights stay.

Room Tip: Lower room has better water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Ms Mary M,

Thank you very much for posting your review on your stay with us.
Your feedback is always welcomed and greatly appreciated.

It is with much regret to know of the unpleasant experience you had during your stay.

I would like extend my apology for the disruption of the water supply.
We were doing our level best to rectify the problem and it took longer than expected.
Water supply was made available to all floors at intervals.

We regret that the odd fly does find it’s way into the restaurant by way of the terrace door being opened with guests going in and out. We are very particular with every safety and health aspect and we maintain the high standards of cleanliness and hygiene in the restaurants and hotel premises.

We take all comments seriously and you can rest assure we will improve on our service and we hope to welcome you back to Horizon Hotel again.

Kind regards,

Philip D.Theseira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in this set up for a night on 25 May 2013 after returning from our Mount Kinabalu Expedition. We were given an upgrade to the Executive room. Anything is a luxury after the harsh dormitory type accommodation up in the mountain, had a really good night rest. The location is most strategic with Sunday morning market a stone throw away near to local eateries.

The room is most spacious with modern designs and elegant furnishings, well-equipped kitchen, a bath tub tucked inside the room, though the of the bath tub size is not so functional.

Wide selection at the buffet breakfast and room is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifesacupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#1 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#2 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#9 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing