We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic Location in KK town”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Was here last Dec 2012 after more than 10 yrs. The hotel is strategically located in the heart of KK. The waterfront and Kota Kinabalu Filipina market is walking distance. Shops, banks and eatery joints around a plenty. And the room deco is excellent...!!! Althought I only spend 1 night here, I will definately stay here again on m next visit ;-)

Room Tip: Get a room facing the sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malinja7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 831 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

On check in we were told that we had a smoking room....which i didnt book. They appoligised and saud the only non smoking was a twin not a double but they did offerus a free upgrade to a delux room but was on the smoking floor....we took it. There is a faint smoke smell in the hall way but not in the room so was not an issue.

Room was excellent with a tube and greaf decor. Breakfast was great as was the pool. Friendly staff. Definatly stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjp1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear fjp1981,

Thank you for choosing Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to the excellent service from our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah and I would be delighted to facilitate any future reservations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards.

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel at beginning of May. The hotel lobby is acceptable but don't expect anything luxurious. It is a small business hotel. The rooms are comfortable but some amenities (like bathrobes) were missing when we checked in and we had to call housekeeping. The lobby restaurant (Deco Cafe and Bar) had flies and the food for breakfast was not very fresh. The hotel had no water for several days and we could not understand how a so-called four stars hotel could not rectify the piping problem. None of the other hotels on the same row of road or location had water problems. We could not flush the toilets, bathe, etc. They kept moving us from higher to lower floors but still the water was trickling for rooms from the 4th floor downwards. From 6th floor upwards, the taps were all dry. The hotel manager was apologetic but it spoiled our holiday. The bell boys and housekeeping staff were cheerful and helpful. The spa was not good value for money. The location of this hotel is good. But for the cost we paid, this hotel was not worth it! I paid more than RM 650 for three days and two nights stay.

Room Tip: Lower room has better water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Ms Mary M,

Thank you very much for posting your review on your stay with us.
Your feedback is always welcomed and greatly appreciated.

It is with much regret to know of the unpleasant experience you had during your stay.

I would like extend my apology for the disruption of the water supply.
We were doing our level best to rectify the problem and it took longer than expected.
Water supply was made available to all floors at intervals.

We regret that the odd fly does find it’s way into the restaurant by way of the terrace door being opened with guests going in and out. We are very particular with every safety and health aspect and we maintain the high standards of cleanliness and hygiene in the restaurants and hotel premises.

We take all comments seriously and you can rest assure we will improve on our service and we hope to welcome you back to Horizon Hotel again.

Kind regards,

Philip D.Theseira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in this set up for a night on 25 May 2013 after returning from our Mount Kinabalu Expedition. We were given an upgrade to the Executive room. Anything is a luxury after the harsh dormitory type accommodation up in the mountain, had a really good night rest. The location is most strategic with Sunday morning market a stone throw away near to local eateries.

The room is most spacious with modern designs and elegant furnishings, well-equipped kitchen, a bath tub tucked inside the room, though the of the bath tub size is not so functional.

Wide selection at the buffet breakfast and room is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lifesacupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Walking distance to almost everywhere within the city of KK. The old food and night bazaar street is within touch outside the hotel, hooping in a cafe is so hassles-free., Delightful detail of interior for the money paid. Definitely a great value choice for a 4+ stars hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahsangje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

quite pleased with the breakfast spread and room. Generally quite clean and i like the ceiling shower. Cool! Wifi is strong and they have in spa, room, lobby, cafe, etc.. but different password for each location. Love the spa. Very reasonable rates and hotel guests get 10% discount. Did foot reflexology and traditional full body massage. Was shocked that we need to take off all our clothes including underwear for massage. Never did this before. You can request for male or female masseur. Being a shy lady, i requested a female but heard most people request male masseurs. During foot reflex, power was cut off halfway. Was watching TV and using my mobile but wifi was also cut off for about 20mins while they fix the power thing. Overall, enjoyable stay and the Sunday market is just next to the hotel. Enjoyed shopping the sunday market most among all shopping malls and markets.

Room Tip: choose higher floors for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rine76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed in Horizon Hotel for 3 nights from 6-9May, location is perfect, we were able to stroll around the famous local eateries in short walking distance.

Bed was comfy but my pillow smells awful from day 1, luckily I found a replacement in the wardrobe...wonder if the pillow case has been changed since the last guest...Saw a long blonde hair on the floor when I checked in, but I'm a Chinese...

I wish I could see the smiling face of the Front Desk staff, however, I never did...maybe I'm spoiled by the Thailand friendly, smiley hospitality...I wonder why they always like to escape from your sight, really let me down.

I only used the pool once, there are 3 sun beds only along the small pool.

Agreed with some of the reviews regarding the buffet breakfast, enough variety, but this is the first time I stayed in hotel that I gave up eating on the last moring, as I felt so bored of eating their breakfast.

Honestly, I suggest anyone who like to stay in the city of KK and is interested in local foodies, could book their room without breakfast, so you could go explore the real food in Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivianchan733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
529 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $72 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing