We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful with beautiful scenery”
other traveler has booked this property
Main view of the villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main view of the villa
Outdoor Patio Bedroom overlooking the mountain range
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Main view of the villa
Outdoor Patio
Bedroom overlooking the mountain range
View of Mt.Kinabalu from the room
Bedroom overlooking the mountain range
Close up of Mt.Kinabalu
Another view of the villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District, West Coast Division, Sabah

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nik E
1 review
“Peaceful with beautiful scenery”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

It feels like home even you are on holiday.A million thanks to aunty Fatima who prepared the breakfast and thanks to the housekeeper,Sis Ina and her daughter Rishka that made our stay more meaningful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne A
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent home away from home”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Recently stayed with hubby and friends. Great accommodation away from motels, not 5 star but a comfortable 3 1/2. The villa is a little old however the people that run it are excellent and very obliging. Mary stays permanently and cooks beautiful breakfasts daily and does your washing. Fatima oversees the villa, visits daily and is always trying to help, nothing is ever any issue. We thankyou you for our stay. We were lucky enough to be there when other rooms weren't occupied, so we had the run of the house. Thoughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the people
Liked least: curtaining in one room, wake up to bright sun on daily basis
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniella...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and i came to Kota Kinabalu for a nice getaway however the accommodation here too terrible for words, the only good part being the home made breakfasts. Don't even know where to start, the bathrooms had ants, terrible location, lost power twice during our stay and when that happened the maid had no credit on her phone to call for help, plus she couldn't speak english, there were bugs everywhere, the wifi didn't work it had been maxed out and the owner of the property couldn't even be bothered to renew it. Overall was not a pleasant stay. Do yourself a favour and book somewhere in town and pay the little extra, its so much more worth it.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: breakfast
Liked least: evertyhing else but the breakfast
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitchells...
Liverpool, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I booked my Borneo tour through Brahminy Kite but opted to stay in town in a hotel as I was a solo traveler. I had the opportunity to visit the holiday home for my culinary lesson and very quickly realized that I had made a mistake. This home is so serene, welcoming and inviting and the views are gorgeous. Fatima and Mary are very friendly. don't go past this if your booking accommodation.
Debby Sydney Australia.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen L
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here with my husband for one of the best weeks' holidays we've ever had! Bedrooms are basic & simple, but clean & tidy, which is all we needed as you only sleep/change in your room. The rest of the house was lovely and it was just like staying in a friends home rather than being cooped up in an impersonal hotel. You had access to books, a computer & wi-fi, a piano if you played, TV, and tea, coffee or toast whenever you wanted. It was about 5 mins from Kota which was fine for us as we didn't want to stay in the city centre, which was only a short taxi ride away anyway.

Favourite room was downstairs in the breakfast room which is open to the garden. Loved bringing our books down there after a busy day of sightseeing; breeze from the ceiling fan, sipping coffee, listening to the birds in the garden and keeping an eye out for the squirrels in the trees! So peaceful.

But the best part were the people. Mary our housekeeper, spoke virtually no English, but was always smiling and looked after us wonderfully. Fatimah, who was just the loveliest lady, always there to greet you with a smile every morning and answer whatever questions we bombarded her with! Nothing was too much trouble for her; from what you might like to try for breakfast, shopping or sightseeing advice, to organising a taxi for us into Kota. All the local guides we had for our booked tours and dinner outings were wonderful, so helpful and knowledgeable, with Damian being absolutely exceptional! Think he knows everyone in Sabah and no matter what questions we asked him, he had the answer! We found them all to be so kind & courteous, they looked after everything for us and made the trip so much more relaxing & enjoyable.

Staying in a guest house, we also got to meet and chat with fellow tourists, a Russian couple and an Aussie mum & daughter, who were also very lovely people. So breakfast was always fun with conversation and laughter. You only had to ask and they would make whatever you'd like. Banana pancakes were amazing, great omelettes, our special Malaysian breakfasts & fruits, everyday there was something different to try.

If you like holidays staying in 5 star hotels in the centre of town, with in-room TV, internet, mini-bar & room service; then DON'T stay here. It won't be for you! But if you like to meet & interact with people, try and learn something about the country you're visiting, and stay in a casual and homey environment; then this was the place to be! We were both sad to leave at the end of our stay and say goodbye to Fatimah & Mary. Would love to come back there with our adult children one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The breakfast room and the people
Liked least: Pillows were a little bit firm
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillandNo...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a gem”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Stayed for 6 nights.
This converted family home ts just that. Not your "sterile", take a number hotel; room. More like a visit to a favourite Aunty's place.
Nico, Fatima and the ever smiling Mary made us feel totally welcome and relaxed from the moment we took off our shoes on arrival until the last second before we (sadly) departed. Nothing was ever too much trouble to them.
Special thanks to Fatima for introducing us to Nasi Lemak for breakfast - Delicious!
Package tour was the perfect blend of activity and relaxation.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The indoor/outdoor dining and sitting area overlooking the tropical garden
Liked least: Departing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineLau...
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“A perfert & plesant place to rest and relax!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Its only take 5min drive to get to the city,10min to jetty and 20min to kk airport.
The house surrounding by great environment,
tress and sounds of chirping bird,u can feel the fresh air throughout the window
its a great place for those who love to get close to nature....
Of ligeous partition door,bookself,floor clean and tonal,
enter with the layer of the pure and fresh and clean,
space of the bedroom,tonal advance gradually,make particular rational vacum.
Here have a large parking lot,friendly hospitality and they also provide travel information so you dont have to worry about" whats gonna do and how to get there?"
I will come back again next time when i get to kk. Absolutely !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: environment
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing