We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Mari Mari Cultural Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.18*
and up
Half-Day Mari-Mari Cultural Village from Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The village is located about 25 minutes away from the city. The journey will take you to long roads surrounded by a rich spectrum of greenery and over arched by wild blue skies. In the village, the colors of cultural diversity are not an issue but rather our pride, where you can savor the soul of Sabah. Upon arrival at the entrance of the village, you will be ushered to the warmth of different homes of the ethnicity of Sabah. Each home was built by descendants of the tribes they represent and offer you a truly genuine experience seeing everything in and around the village lends to its magical prowess of taking you back in time. Not only does this village portray these tribes (5 tribes) through the architectural genius of their traditional houses, but also through a range of simulated lives of the olden epoch by the residents of the village. Acquaint yourself with each tribe as they let you come into their house and their simple yet intricate lives. As you traverse the village, you will find demonstration huts along the main houses in which daily activities of old times come into life. For example, the making of blowpipe, starting a fire (from bamboo), tattoo-making (and its symbolisms) and etc. By the end of your journey into the past, you have been given a setting for you to see, hear, taste and feel the uniqueness of what Sabah truly is. An unforgettable encounter of our Sabahan homeland... AS IT IS... AS IT WAS...
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Informative tour on the different ethnic houses.
Cultural show and dance were interesting.
Buffet dinner was good and it could arranged vegetarian food (impressive).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tpLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    391
    72
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sri Aman, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a great time visiting the different ethnic's houses here, and sampling the food and drinks as well.

The cultural performance was AWESOME! The band played some rock number using traditional instruments, which is totally world-class.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mb0urne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mari Mari morning out”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Great place for the morning out which includes a very nice buffet lunch . Managed to cook chicken in bamboo, see bark cloth made, as well as some cookies and the making of rice wine. Our guide Honey was very informative and it was well worth the effort to visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaYves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting & fun - worth a visit”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Mari Mari was recommended by the concierge at our hotel and I am really glad that we took his advice. I was with my adult daughter and we both enjoyed our morning in the village. Our guide Mate was informative and had a great sense of humour which added to the experience. The village is in a lovely rain forest location and all of the staff we encountered stayed in character to add authenticity as we 'experienced' the living arrangements and some customs of the 4 indigenous tribes of Borneo. The dancing, music and buffet lunch were also good. The food was plentiful and there was enough of a selection to satisfy even my picky, vegetarian daughter. Mari Mari Cultural Village is a great way to spend 1/2 a day and is value for money.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GMcE6018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A fun and informative family friendly half day outing.”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

At a cost of MAR 320 for two booked through Riverbug, all inclusive from pick-up at Ming Gardens, our Kota Kinabalu hotel, to guided tour of the village, lunch and return to our hotel, this was a very worthwhile experience. Our lady guide at Mari-Mari, Afon, spoke excellent English, was very attentive, informative and had a great sense of humour. The 'villagers' in traditional dress were all very welcoming and excellent in their various roles, making the tour a definite interactive hit that would hold the attention of most children and young adults. The dance and music performance, itself interactive, was a highlight; as was bouncing and chanting on the headhunter tribe's version of a trampouline, and having a go at using a blowpipe! Getting around the village is entirely wheelchair user friendly, as is access to areas such as the village kitchen, but access to many of the living quarters definitely isn't requiring climbing steps cut into logs, or rough wooden stairs to enter them. The simple yet perfectly acceptable lunch was served in a open-sided verandah type area, accessible to all. Mari-Mari has perhaps been the highlight of our stay in Sabah.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mari Mari Cultural Village also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Mari Mari Cultural Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing