We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian restaurant, good ambiance”

GRAZIE Italian Restaurant Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #36 of 561 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An affordable and authentic Italian cuisine.
Groningen, Nederland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Italian restaurant, good ambiance”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This evening we liked a break from all the Asian food we've been eating last weeks. It was also a celebration after a trip to mt. Kinabalu.
When we arrived it seemed quite busy. Always a good sign. We wondered if we should have made a reservation. Directly when we arrived we were attended by one of the staff members and the owner himself. The owner even welcomed us in Italian, which for me is a big plus! Very glad to see a real Italian chef/owner in an Italian restaurant over here. We had to wait for a table a couple of minutes, but that's ok with us.

We had a Caesar salad, garlic bread, pizza hawaiana and a pizza prosciutto funghi. Quality of the food was good! The salad was nicely dressed, and very tasteful, the pizza's were real Italian; crispy thin crust, not too many ingredients on it. Well done. Only tip would be a little seasoning (herbs) in the sauce. With it we had a good glass of fresh orange juice and a couple of glasses of house wine. Halas no Chianti wine per glass, only per bottle. The pace/tempo of serving was very nice. Piano piano as they say in Italy? Not too fast, which is good for conversations and socialising with each other (and with the owner in example). As a dessert we had some panacotta at the recommendation of the owner. That was a real treat!!! Wow! We even tried the owner by asking for real Italian ice cream and Limoncello, but that was not possible sadly. :p

Ambiance in the restaurant was very good. We felt welcome and relaxed. Please go to the toilet before you have dinner over here, or afterwards. The restaurant itself relies on the toilet facilities of Suria Sabah, which has no ambiance at all in my opinion. If you need to go, you get a pass at the front bar to go to the toilet without having to pay at the toilet counter.
The restaurant has two rooms. One inside, and an outside balcony/terrace. In the evening, the fanned terrace was fine for us.

Some regular guests were welcomed by the owner with hugs and kisses. Nice to see some more extravagant and more flamboyant gesturing and body language compared to Asian standards. By the way, Italian people eat here aswell. Thumbs up for me over all!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FiliusStuurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    55
    12
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good AUthentic Italian Food”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Food was amazing, atmosphere was good. A competitor of Little Italy but located at a better location, easier to find parking.

Slightly more expensive but worth it.

Only not enough waiter at the moment, service was a bit slow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank m3lvinlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food hampered by rude & snobbish staff”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food is great, but I hope Grazie can retrain the staff. The waiter that tended to us actually WALKED AWAY and left us for several minutes without even excusing himself or at least trying to recomend us dishes, when we were unsure on what to order yet.he came back without any greeting and just stood there with a bored look on his face.when another table called him over to order another dish we actually saw him roll his eyes!

When Grazie was first located in Wawasan Plaza we had nothing but praise to speak for the staff. The waitresses would actually recomend us dishes, give us time to order,and come back to check on us to see if we were enjoying our meal.

Is there no such thing as good service in Kota Kinabalu? Are all restaurants hiring mere automatons with delusions of grandeur, that we mere mortals should be oh-so-thankful that a high and mighty waiter would grace us with their presence to take our silly little orders?

The day is yet to come for me to be truly satisfied for dining experience and food service in this city.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank daphatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sucks services ever!plz read and share”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Suria Sabah have a Italian restaurant name, Grazie restaurant.. We wait for 10minutes order one pizza,salad and pasta.. After that,wait 30minutes for the salad. After that, wait the piZza again(10minutes).. We keep asking whr our food , but they busy and just hear nothing.. When we wan cancel the order, they said cnt bcoz the order is save in computer and they said is COOKING. Wait for 20minutes again, they tell us.. Miss,u may cancel your order now..what? I wait almost half hour , and u said MAY CANCEL THE ORDER?! Really waste my time and spoil my mood!! 
Sucks service ever! Please share and the restaurant name is GRAZIE Restaurant.. 

I hate the suck service And I will never go back again..even the restaurant famous and the food is delicious.. 

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Celestabong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Italian Flair”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Ambience of the place is fine with friendly service staff tending to your needs. The owner is even more friendlier and strike up a conversation easily.

The normal Italian food offerings such as pizza and pasta are good but their steaks are not quite up to the mark. Their main competitor in the town area will be Little Italy and it will be hard pressed to select which is a better restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Billy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GRAZIE Italian Restaurant Kota Kinabalu also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to GRAZIE Italian Restaurant Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing