We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and fun”
Review of El Centro

El Centro
Ranked #2 of 587 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: El Centro is located in the middle of Kota Kinabalu's central business district near hotels and shopping centers.El Centro serves a variety of healthy and delicious food options from tacos to wraps, salads, burgers and local Malaysian favourites.The open concept restaurant has a friendly, laid-back atmosphere that hosts a number of specialty nights like--pub quiz, jazz night, salsa lessons, them parties and art openings/exhibits. Open form 5pm - 12am for food and drinks. From the bar you can order beer or one of Katie's Killer Cocktails.
South Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Fresh and fun”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

While we will agree the servings were on the small side - especially compared to other eateries in the area- what it lacked in servings it made up for in atmosphere. We dined at el centro on trivial night , which was great fun. Great cocktails which were very reasonably priced and although the tacos were on the small side they were delicious- and to finish I would highly recommend the brownie - amazing !!!!! Food was fresh, people were fun definitely worth a visit !

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clauderto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
healey32, Owner at El Centro, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review El Centro on trip advisor and thank you for your kind words. Feedback from clients is the best way for us to improve and after hearing that our portions (especially the taco--which we have heard before) are on the small side we have decided to 'beef' them up a bit more so that everyone is full and satisfied! We are so pleased that people are enjoying the Pub Quiz, we will continue to host them on Wednesday nights and we also have ongoing monthly events that are tailored to all different kinds of tastes--art openings, live music, specialty food nights--so hopefully we can have something for everyone! Again, thank you so much for supporting El Centro and please come and visit us any time you are in Kota Kinabalu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    238
    75
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Vegetarian friendly!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I know bars and cafes are reviewed on their ambience, but in this case, all I remember is the food. Not only are is quarter of the food menu marked Vegetarian, but Vegan options also seem possible.

Portion sizes are reasonable. A drink, a starter, and a main came to RM40.

Visited on a weekday evening, about half-full, mostly small groups having dinner. Was quiet and nice. Might be more active and happening later in the evenings, or on Fridays.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
healey32, Owner at El Centro, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review and for highlighting that we have a number of vegetarian (and some vegan) options. We are always trying to introduce more vegetarian food--we love it too--and hearing that it is well received gives us that much more incentive. Right now we are focusing on introducing daily vegan soups and will work to have our daily specials ALWAYS be vegetarian. We hope that you come and visit us again the next time that you are in Kota Kinablau!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Our evening started out with the server telling us that, no, the coupon for a free drink wasn't honored even though there was no expiry date. We asked to speak to the owner/manager and were told she'd be in later.

Turned out the owner was there all along. When we spoke to her, we were rudely told we were "over the top".

Food was okay. Service was poor.

But, then again, we started out with bad tastes in our mouths.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
healey32, Owner at El Centro, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review El Centro. We are very sorry that you had a disappointing experience at the cafe, we strive to provide excellent costumer service and are sorry to hear that you feel that we did not achieve that in this instance. We do owe you a thanks for bringing the Four Square drink voucher issue to our attention, which we have finally been able to fix, so now we can avoid confusion and/or disappointment over the free welcome drink in the future. We hope that the rest of your stay in Kota Kinabalu was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great restaurant, false advertising”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

When checking out El Centro on FourSquare, their page presented a "Newbie" offer which promised a free non-alcoholic drink. On our first visit, we shoes our food server the ad. Quite familiar with it, she simply said that it was no longer available. Asked for a manager led to a shrugged off response that she wasn't available and didn't know when she'd be available.

Food was delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amyplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
healey32, Owner at El Centro, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of El Centro on trip advisor and for letting us know that we were still falsely advertising on Four Square, both of these actions helped us to correct this problem and it wont happen again. I also want to thank you for highlighting the importance of our staff being up-to-date on what promotions we are involved with and the importance of how to deal with customer complaints. We have worked on this considerably since you came in and I hope that it has rectified the situation and improved our service. Once again we are sorry for the inconvenience that this caused you and your travelling partner and we hope that the rest of your time in Kota Kinabalu was an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“city pits stop for a quench thirst!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

nice and friendly staff !!! good food and nice drinks..
well..it was nestled in the bustling city and difficult at first to allocate.. but, did found it.
i do observed as for back packers are great crowd here.. as for people with vehicle might find a bit tough to get their cars park. But, sure will be back for a next pits stop and relax sense all here at El - Centro!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shawkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Centro also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to El Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing