We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Had a very pleasent stay at this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A & J Budget Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A & J Budget Hotel
Ranked #79 of 89 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
1 review
“Had a very pleasent stay at this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Staff was very friendly and helpful! Big rooms, and clean. They also have Tv And wifi in The rooms. it is a great location, close to malls, good food, markets. I can definitely recommend this place! The toilets and showers were also clean and in good condition.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irreburres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
3
8
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed in a standard double room without window for 1 night. Friendly staffs. I arrived early before the check in time but they still let me check in earlier. The room has attached bathroom with hot water supply, strong air con (the weather is hot in kk), satellite TV and WiFi. The location is good and near to most of the attrative places. The only thing I dislike was the smell from the fish market where is just opposite A&J in the morning. Even though me and my friend stayed in a room without window, we still can smell it. Overall, the price worth for everything.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xzhen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

After seeing the recommendations in the Lonely Planet,i decided to look elsewhere. Im glad i stumbled across this budget hotel. Firstly the price for getting air con, own bathroom and TV with fox movies & ESPN for 55MYR is outstanding in KK as you're usually looking at 60-70 for a shared bathroom.

Peter the owner is a fountain of knowledge and always helpful when asked a question.

Location is ideal, right in the centre, with a smashing food market across the road. In addition your halfway between the Jetty(port) and the bus station, so gives you easy access if you wish to visit the neighbouring islands (ask peter he will give you a voucher for a discount) or visit the beach for 1.5MYR on the local beach.

The only negative thing i have to say is the smell leading up the hallway (not to the room), as there is a dried fish store next door, but hey that is for you to decide.

Thanks for the stay

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tdkphysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

most happening place in kota kinabalu. the handicraft market building reminded me of old wet market, gambir street, kuching, sarawak.
I moved to the 3rd Floor after the 2nd day which gave me full view of the ocean. remarkable.
Lots of pigeons around too. easy access to the City Bus and Mini Bus Terminal. it cost RM0.50 from the Terminal to the bus stop in front of Warisan Square. Costing about RM1.00 from the city to Tuaran.
A&J Budget has the most friendly staff and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Stay at the 3rd Floor for full view of the ocean.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank vivienateng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We arrived in KK fairly late and it was raining cats and dogs. Hence, we followed the obvious step: Lonely Planet, budged accommodation, step in lodge. But they had only a room with out windows (nothing for us) or a dorm room with bunk beds exclusively for us for 90 MYR (nothing for us!) or two dorm beds with window (definitely nothing for us!!!).

But they were so nice to give us some ideas where to look.

Just down the road at the main road along the waterfront opposite of the handicraft market lies the A&J. At first we didn't want to go in, as the entrance is a stairway next to a shop, selling shark fins and other horrible and smelly things made out of once beautiful animals (but that is a completely different story and not relevant to this evaluation). But the smell is relevant.

On the first floor is the lobby where we were welcomed. They had a corner room on the 3rd floor with sea view for us. The man in charge was really sweet and apologized many times for the inconvenience of having the bath room not in the room. But that isn't much of a deal to us. Especially when there is no one else using it besides the people sleeping in 307. It is the only room with out en-suite.

The location is ideal for exploring KK bye foot.

Tea and water is accessible for free at the lobby.

The staff was nice and friendly and spoke enough english to help us in any situation.

Tour booking through them is possible.

Well, that's it for this one. Cheers

P.S.
if you don't like being woken up by the singing of a muslim muezzin at around 5 am than you might consider a room with out window or to the back side of the house.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sea2sky_org
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#33 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
0.1 mi away
D'Borneo Hotel
D'Borneo Hotel
#32 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Switz Paradise Hotel
Switz Paradise Hotel
#70 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#27 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#74 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hii-5 Hotel
Hii-5 Hotel
#65 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A & J Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A & J Budget Hotel

Property: A & J Budget Hotel
Address: No.8, Tingkat 1,2 &3, Block M | Sinsuran Complex Jalan 19,, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 89 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A & J Budget Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your A & J Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A & J Budget Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing