We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Sunset Bar at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 569 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Peppino’s is amongst Kota Kinabalu’s treasured culinary locations for Italian fine dining. Touted as one of Malaysia’s Best Restaurants since 2002, Peppino’s promises patrons impeccable authentic Italian cuisine complemented by unforgettable Shangri-La hospitality.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very pretty”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you want to see a lovely sunset over a few drinks in a lovely tranquil spot overlooking the sea this is the place to be !! They have comfy sofas or chairs at the bar it's a real cool place just to chill and take good pictures !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank anaher5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    157
    49
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The bar with the best view there is”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent a good few hours here during our stay at STAR watching the sun go down. Get there early - about 5:30pm - to grab a good spot (sun bed on the front row). Good selection of drinks and food. And very nice banana chips!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jnoble100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Stunning views of sunset”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Visited with family. Visited the sunset bar most days during our 7 day stay. Excellent cocktails and good tapas style food. Excellent place to see the sun go down.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank perth08Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The setting was amazing looking out over the sea. The food was lovely especially the satay sticks and the staff were lovely.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JVJ666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Location location location!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Shangri-la for a few days and went to the sunset bar every evening to wind down, get some drinks and nibbles and watch the sun set. We didn't get a sunset the whole time we were there due to heavy storm-clouds that rolled in every afternoon - but hey - who cares when you're lying on a comfortable futon by the sea, having quality time with your fellow traveller (for me: my kids!) staring at islands and fishing boats and eating lovely satay sticks washed down with a glass or two? I was not complaining about the sunset! However, I am sure your experience does depend on your futon-neighbours, which have obviously spoilt the experience for other travellers according to some other reviews. If you want a "front row futon" then arrive about 5:30pm. But the deck is tiered, so everyone can watch the sunset when there is one. This is a relax and be-in-the-moment place - my personal opinion is that it is not suitable for young children.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Bar at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Sunset Bar at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing