We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelllent food, service and decor”

Peppino at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa
Ranked #38 of 567 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Price range: $38 - $248
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Peppino’s is amongst Kota Kinabalu’s treasured culinary locations for Italian fine dining. Touted as one of Malaysia’s Best Restaurants since 2002, Peppino’s promises patrons impeccable authentic Italian cuisine complemented by unforgettable Shangri-La hospitality.
Perth
Level Contributor
113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excelllent food, service and decor”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Celebrated 2 birthdays and an wedding anniversary. the food was excellent every time. We were treated like royalty and pampered every time we dined at the restaurant. very versatile menu and any special request was carried out with smiling faces.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank perth08Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    40
    30
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“5 star everything.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

5 star service. 5 star food. 5 star wine list. Thoroughly recommend this restaurant. Comprehensive menu with beautifully cooked and presented food. We ate here on our last night, wished we had tried it earlier and could have eaten here again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“A very nice restaurant”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I had an evening meal at Peppino, while staying at Shangri-La Tanjung Aru for a few days.
The ambience in the restaurant is excellent but the continuous piped music and loud music from the adjoining Borneo Lounge, every time the entry door was opened was a nuisance.
Service, from being greeted at the entry and shown to the table, plus the wait service was excellent.
I started with an excellent crispy calamari entrée. It was crisp and the texture was brilliant. Not a sign of the rubbery texture that is so often encountered. Good breads and dipping oil was also served. For main I had a risotto which was a little moist for my taste. The tiramisu, for desert was very average, dry in texture, and gave the impression of being purchased offsite.
The two glasses of champagne were good but a later glass of wine was good but delivered from a sort of dispenser rack. Not good for a restaurant striving to position itself at the top end of the market. There was the same sort of system in the Borneo Lounge. Ok for a venue like that.
A little more attention to detail could elevate Peppino to a top class restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west australia perth
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have eaten in this restaurant about four times over the past few years and have found the portion size to be quite small but after visiting last month it all seems to have had a makeover as neither of us could complete our meals. The food was delicious and the service under the watchful eye of Charlie the manager was fantastic. We will be returning to KK again in August and this restaurant will be on the list for our first dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank staynaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hip dining room, not-so-smooth service....”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Located in the resort's main building, the dining room is a nice synthesis of local and edgy decor with plenty of dark wood. Despite the posh setting, service was generally lacking although not so much so we were more than merely amused. Upon arrival, we were greeted with some confusion, but finally were given an appropriate table for our party. Note that the restaurant has a dress policy, but it seems to be selectively and unevenly applied so dress appropriately - smart resort casual. Ordering was a bit confused, but they ultimately got everything correct. The food, while definitely on the pricy side, was quite good and well executed. Critics need to 'adjust' for the fact that there are limited fine dining options in KK. Peppino was more than adequate for resort dining. If they can smooth out the service, the overall experience will improve significantly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peppino at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Peppino at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing