We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Hong Kong Recipe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hong Kong Recipe
Ranked #354 of 569 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a good place to go and have a reasonabley priced lunch. It is very quick, very clean and very yummy. It was also airconditioned which is great in the heat of the middle of the day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    8
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pagadian City, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Place is poorly maintained”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Food was okay. The menu have a lot to offer. I just think that the place need some renovation work. They have other branches around KK I think. I only went back because of the varieties.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Che_Che1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandakan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Food is not as nice as the restaurant name.....”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had our lunch here. They have various choices of promotional lunch sets (11am - 2pm) which are quite a good deal if compare to ordering the ala-carte menu. The set lunch comes with a drinks, main dish and a dessert - 'gui ling gao' (herbal jelly).
We ordered a set of their cheese-bake rice with 'yin-yang' and a set of 'kon lau' duck noodle with 'special soya milk'. The cheese-bake rice is so dry, not chessy and taste totally far different that those that we tried at Hong Kong or even other local restaurants (eg. Kim Gary Restaurant). The 'yin-yang' tastes too much of coffee which also not up to the standard of basic HK style 'yin-yang'. Besides that, the glass looks so not-appertising as it's full of stains and drops of the yin-yang by the side!!!!! I personally feel that the "special soya milk" tasted awful.
The only thing that we are satisfied with is the duck noodle and the dessert.
The interior of this restaurant looks a wear-out... especially their ceiling....
Personally, sorry to say that I won't recommend this restaurant to my friends and relatives.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BelleWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Try the Wan Ton”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The wan ton and noodle with soya sauce is good. The wan ton made with fresh prawns. The duck and barbecue pork is average. The shop is clean and i cant see any problem with the hygiene.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owleyes2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“VERY POPULAR RESTAURANT FOR PORK N" DUCK”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Went into this restuarant after viewing the menu outside wanted to try the duck, bbq pork and roast pork.When it came time to order no pork, no duck but it was after 8.00 pm , so we decided to come back the next night ,guess what no pork, no duck it was after 8.00 pm again. So this time we asked them to reserve 3 serves of pork and duck for the follow night.It was well worth the wait and the side dishes of stir fried vegetables and rice filled us up.The food was excellent, service OK and reasonabled priced meals & drinks.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grumpee-58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong Recipe also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Hong Kong Recipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing