We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty place”
Review of Bunibon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bunibon Lodge
Linz, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dirty place”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hostel wouldn't be so bad, but they just don't clean. In the three days I have been there the bathroom has not been cleaned once. Also everything else was rather dirty. I don't recommend this place if you want cleanliness. Facilities are ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 399Tamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    28
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
2
22
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Although staff are helpful and the overall building okay, for rm150 for two nights you can find wayy better (e.g lavender lodge!)

We stayed in a double room with en suite one night before having to move to a twin. the downstairs room was noisy with staff chatting loudly at reception at 6am, the carpet looked like it hadnt been hoovered in weeks and the shower soaked the entire bathroom everytime.
The twin room was very basic too, and very dusty.large cobwebs hung from wall corners and it could do with a paint job.
Toilets were rank - frequently ran out of loo roll and people left all sorts in there, just like tge showers. didn't look like they were cleaned at all during our stay.
IIt was comfortable enough, but wouldn't stay here for more than two nights - especially after the great big; çlean rooms and showers and amazing service from Lavender lodge we experienced da ys later.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_L_R93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a private room for 5 nights in KK. For the price, I don't know if you can find better value, room was basic but comfortable. Bed was quite nice. A/C cold. WiFi free and fast. Available kitchen and laundry. Nice lounge area with tv. Breakfast is toast and hard boiled eggs with tea and coffee. Staff are young and friendly. They will help you with anything you want to know or do around Sabah from booking tours, calling taxis, and recommending places to eat.
We will come back here again when we return to KK :-)

Room Tip: Proud double room #53-3 had bed and private bathroom but not window. Located directly across from re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Great place in town traffic isn't an issue here and the lounge is a great addition. It really sets this place apart from the rest, a few days ago my girlfriend was eating breakfast there and a group of 10 monkeys were fooling around on top of the semi see through roof...nice. breakfast is sometimes butter an jam on toast which is fine since that is all written on the board that is for breakki but sometimes you get boiled eggs which is awesome. Id recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurtislorite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the triple room. Very clean and tidy, loved the air con. Enjoyed the free breakie and a really nice social area to hang out downstairs. Sweet wifi. The best thing for us about our stay here was the staff and the great service. They were super friendly and helpful and were a standout for us after being on the road backpacking for 9 months.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

staying for long term bed is clean and spacious and breakfast is very basic,

staff : very friendly & helpful but disregards response are very slow & steady , not very efficient especially girls staff - only one staff a girl make everything right named Ros (the receipt, breakfast, make the beds & cleaning

facilities :lounging area very good , spacious & clean , big fan & many seats , very close to nature down the signature hill, bonus , hanging clothes area & washing machine rental usage, can cook for free
when it raining, it is leakage everywhere !

toilet upstairs very dirty, bathroom selipars are not enough & staff does not clean it often , i have to asked them to come up and clean it ,

bed bug on my bed sheet , i have to asked them to change sheet every 2 days, every day wake up have been bitten all the time - sometimes bed sheet not enough per day

rubbish bin , always ask them to clean it , always make the bed but dont clean the rubbish often

Last but not least, it was unpleasant when they receive walk-in for private booking for a particular room , (dormitary 4 or 6 ) without asking & giving alert to you, better be ready if you are not around for the whole day they will move all your stuff to the out side area before accommodate you to the other room,

breakfast was not the best , somedays without butter only jam, somedays without eggs , the worst part is sometimes they dont have butter & eggs which is very basics enough , even though the lodge were always fully book all the time

Room Tip: before u stay more than one night you should see the room & others , 5-3-9 i bigger bed than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muldereica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Brilliant hostel. All of the staff are incredibly helpful and chatty. Had lots of fun here. Great value for money. The only problem was when I ordered a taxi to the airport it turned up more than 15 minuets late and it was the owner with a car full of his family, which I'm guessing was why he was late. Just a bit annoying when you pay for the ease of them ordering it to arrive on time and 10 others drove past in that time. But I did get there on time and the girls behind the desk dis seem quite annoyed with the owner like it happens frequently. All in all a lovely place to stay, really recommend. Good breakfast, air con in all the bedrooms, and comfy hdffgtbeds. Thank you Bunibon. Almost forgot! The beer is cheaper in the hostel than any of the supermarkets, 7/11's or bars!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joshm87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Hotel
Mandarin Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
#16 of 104 in Kota Kinabalu
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
B&B@21
B&B@21
#5 of 104 in Kota Kinabalu
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
#10 of 104 in Kota Kinabalu
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
H2 Backpacker
H2 Backpacker
#35 of 104 in Kota Kinabalu
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunibon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunibon Lodge

Property: Bunibon Lodge
Address: Lot 21 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Started by 2 pairs of couple... Victor Suan and Josephen.. and Petronella Suan and Nenad Zrnic... together this Lodge happen and the birth of this Lodge was then named .. Bunibon .. a combination of Nick Names of Vic and Jo's children.. Bubu Nia and Bonbon.. this idea was from Nenad. Bunibon Lodge is located right in the heart of Kota Kinabalu City (on the Island of Borneo, Sabah, Malaysia). It is surrounded by other backpackers lodge, automatically puts it in the backpackers lodging "HOTSPOT" A stone throw away is the famous Atkinson Clock Tower. Built in 1903, this all-wood, no-nails structure was built in memory of Francis George Atkinson, the First District Officer of Jesselton during the British North Borneo Chartered Company Administration, who had succumbed to a tropical disease at the young age of 28. While staying in Kota Kinabalu City, a short hike to Signal Hill is not to be missed. It gives you the best view of Kota Kinabalu City. Photos of sunsets and Bright lights in the night often comes out splendid. If you are somebody who is in touch with nature, Jesselton Point which is 10 minutes walk away offers you boat services to go our nearby islands, mainly Gaya, Sapi, Manukan and Mamutik. It would only take about 10 minutes to reach any of these islands.Bunibon lodge not only accommodate you with affordable price but we also provide you with transportation and guidance to assist you during your stay in Kota Kinabalu City. Feel free to liase with our receptionist for car rental or tours.All rooms are fully air-conditioned, we basically have dorm and private room. Come and stay with us!! Luxury in a small scale... :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Ctrip TA so you can book your Bunibon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunibon Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing