We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel in the heart of KK”
Review of Bunibon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bunibon Lodge
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for several nights while doing an introductory diving course in KK. The staff were accommodating and friendly, allowing us to check in early and arranging transport for us when needed. They were also able to give us advice regarding local restaurants in the area.

We booked a double room and were pleasantly surprised to see that the shower in our room was working after reading several reviews that it wouldn't be working. Our room for the most part was comfortable and quiet, although sometimes at night there would be guests outside the room talking or playing music, unfortunately when we mentioned this to the staff they didn't assist and we had to discuss this with the other guests ourselves.

The breakfast was minimal, just white bread, margarine and jam with instant coffee or tea and one of the mornings the breakfast was unavailable as the supplies had run out. This was inconvenient for us as we were on a tight schedule to make it to the pier in time for diving.

The location is nice and quiet, yet walking distance to many restaurants, bars and the waterfront.

Overall, this is a nice backpackers if you are looking for comfort and a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 98 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

We read about bed bug problems in all the hostels in KK but safely can say no problems at Bunibon! Really enjoyed our stay here, staff very helpful, priced well. Rooms comfortable with decent aircon. Good base to explore the city and surrounding areas. We actually stayed here on 3 separate occasions, showing we would definitely recommend and go back! Wi-fi pretty good. Free tea and coffee all day and decent chill out lounge out the back.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the downstairs room with shower inside (behind reception) It seems to have a damp pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilSmith24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

All around great place - we stayed on several occasions during our time in Sabah as well as their other location in sandakan which is just as great! Such nice staff and awesome value for your ringgits!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I slept here 3 night and have only god things to say about this place ! The staff is super friendly and they will do anything for you. the bed are confortable, the room is clean.there is AC in the room and hot shwer :)
The terrasse in the back is great to eat breakfast, drink a beer and watch TV if you want. Great place to meet new friends ( sometime the party is more lively on the terrasse than in a bar ) and its walking distance to everywhere in the city.
I would definetly stay there again if i come back in KK
It<s also one of the only place in KK where you can rent a scooter for 50 R and it is in excellent condition
they can arrange trip also for you

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hospitality of the staffs is very friendly to the maximum especially Mr. Fizzy Ezwan, Mr. Victor and his wife the owner, they all never stop smiling and chit chatting with ya when ever you passing by them makes you feel like home. The bunk/bed is very comfortable enough to sleep after a tiring full day tour courtesy of Mr Fizzy to drive around K.K town for us. Hot shower for private bunk or non private is not too shabby, very nice water pressure every time. Very close by to look for food or buying stuff from a convenience store. And very helpful counter staffs especially Ms Jane with her cute smile. I will always recommend this place for any tourist or backpackers if being in K.K, even for short stay.

Room Tip: Private bunk for privacy couple or single with an affordable price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayZakiWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed here twice for a couple of nights, and was in general satisfied with the guesthouse.

The rooms are clean, however, the bed in the dorm room were I stayed was a bit unstable, so when the person in the lower bed moved, the upper bed was always shacking a lot as well.

The dorm room is really tiny, and there is absoluetely no space to even leave your backpacks. Luckily it was not fully occupied with 4 people, only 3, so we could leave some stuff on the other bed, because it is even hard to walk in the room, when three backpacks are standing there.

The bathrooms are fine, but they could do with a bit more cleaning and half of the time toilet paper was missing.

WIFI was working well and there is also a nice lounge to sit and meet other people.
The staff from the guesthouse was friendly also. Once I returned late at night thoguh, and was standing outside the door for more than 30 minutes, as the reception staff fell asleep behind the counter and did not hear me knocking. That was a bit scary as I was alone and really did not know what to do.

The location was central, but KK is anyway not huge.
I would stay again if here if I come back to KK, just because it is not expensive, and OK for the price for Malaysia.

Room Tip: The dorm rooms are tiny, so if you have a person to share, take a double, its much better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MySunnyDays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jung g, General Manager at Bunibon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate you taking time to share your feedback on the hostel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. All rooms have access to free WiFi, serving complimentary breakfast and all of our rooms comes with air condition. Also,thank you for the comments about the service from my team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team members.

Again, thank you for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Bunibon Lodge Kota Kinabalu when your next return to Sabah.

Best regards,
Fizzy Ezwan Bin Jeffery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Me and my friend found this place by chance after arriving in kk at 1am and had to find a place to sleep, easily the best hostel ive ever stayed in and the friendliest. The rooms are nice and air conditioned which is a must in borneo, the staff are extremly friendly, and the tour manager prince aka diablo literally made the trip for me, he made us feel welcome and even showed us the night life which i kinda regretted in the morning lol. found out the hard way why his called diablo. i cant recommend a better place to stay if your travelling around sabah,.execellent tours as well. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rudi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jung g, General Manager at Bunibon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate you taking time to share your feedback on the hostel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. All rooms have access to free WiFi, serving complimentary breakfast and all of our rooms comes with air condition. Also,thank you for the comments about the service from my team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team members.

Again, thank you for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Bunibon Lodge Kota Kinabalu when your next return to Sabah.

Best regards,
Fizzy Ezwan Bin Jeffery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
5.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
3.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
712 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,503 reviews
9.5 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunibon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunibon Lodge

Address: Lot 21 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Started by 2 pairs of couple... Victor Suan and Josephen.. and Petronella Suan and Nenad Zrnic... together this Lodge happen and the birth of this Lodge was then named .. Bunibon .. a combination of Nick Names of Vic and Jo's children.. Bubu Nia and Bonbon.. this idea was from Nenad. Bunibon Lodge is located right in the heart of Kota Kinabalu City (on the Island of Borneo, Sabah, Malaysia). It is surrounded by other backpackers lodge, automatically puts it in the backpackers lodging "HOTSPOT" A stone throw away is the famous Atkinson Clock Tower. Built in 1903, this all-wood, no-nails structure was built in memory of Francis George Atkinson, the First District Officer of Jesselton during the British North Borneo Chartered Company Administration, who had succumbed to a tropical disease at the young age of 28. While staying in Kota Kinabalu City, a short hike to Signal Hill is not to be missed. It gives you the best view of Kota Kinabalu City. Photos of sunsets and Bright lights in the night often comes out splendid. If you are somebody who is in touch with nature, Jesselton Point which is 10 minutes walk away offers you boat services to go our nearby islands, mainly Gaya, Sapi, Manukan and Mamutik. It would only take about 10 minutes to reach any of these islands.Bunibon lodge not only accommodate you with affordable price but we also provide you with transportation and guidance to assist you during your stay in Kota Kinabalu City. Feel free to liase with our receptionist for car rental or tours.All rooms are fully air-conditioned, we basically have dorm and private room. Come and stay with us!! Luxury in a small scale... :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bunibon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunibon Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing